The Ship of Brides

The Ship of Brides

by Jojo Moyes

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Ship of Brides 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adored this book...fell in love with the characters. As always, Jojo's writing does not disappoint...very eloquent. At finishing the book i felt sad that my time had ended with these characters, i grew so fond of the ladies...especially Frances. Please keep the hits coming Jojo, adore your work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although a Jojo Moyes fan i found this book difficult to get in to and even considered abandoning it. I was glad i did not. It was long and i found myself "quick reading" some of the very detailed descriptions of th workings of the ship. The characters were well developed. This was my sixth Jojo Moyes book. I keep looking for one to capture my attention as did "Me Before You". Though others have been pretty good reads, none measures up to that one,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book.           Highly recommended.  It is humorous at times, sad at times, and has lots of twists, turns, and action. Wonderful character development!  This was the first book be this author that I have read.  I will definitely read her other books!!!  A++++++++++
MEGolden19 More than 1 year ago
The Ship of Brides is a complicated and delicate interweaving of the lives of those aboard a ship carrying Australian war brides to their British husbands. There are many individual story lines, including that of the ship's captain, but Moyes handles them all well. All of the characters presented are exquisitely presented. Even if we don't get the point of view of all of them, they are wonderfully drawn, realistic enough to stay with you long after the book has been finished, and each one shows unique development. Although it does take a bit to get fully into the story, the writing is excellent. There are no unanswered questions, but every character has a definitive, if not necessarily happy, ending. The settings are richly described, and the character interactions all work together to form this incredibly detailed book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story, liked the history behind it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this historical wwll romance. There were a few facts I know were inaccurate, however it provided the correct atmostphere for the time. Sweet read, true human relations and unpredictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting characters. Hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holds your interest all the way through Wonderful story-highly recommend. Would nake a good chick flick.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a very interesting story that kept my interest throughout the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the third book by this author that I have read. Each book has been very different. I enjoy her writing style and look forward to reading more. This story was interesting and easy to follow. The characters were engaging. As a child, I knew of several "war brides" but never gave much thought to what they went through. It was eye opening to read a story of how some of their new lives began.
emES More than 1 year ago
enjoyed book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. Have read three books by this author and have enjoyed all of them. Great read. Am recommending it to all my friends who enjoy reading.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A boat full of navy men headed home after a long and dramatic war combined with 650 women who are war brides promised to men who will be at the end of this long journey.  The test will be trying to keep these men and women separate and safe during this six week journey.   I loved that this story followed a few women and one of the men closely and it started before they got on the boat, so the reader knew what circumstances brought these characters onto the boat to England.  I had never heard of brides crossing the ocean to meet the men that they had only known for weeks or so, so I absolutely loved learning a bit of history wrapped into fiction.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Walks in"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Looks at Jason and walks to the room, her face with a sad and worried look.