The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

by David McCullough

Hardcover(Library Binding - Large Print)

$34.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
honestly+felt+like+there+was+not+a+lot+to+this.++I%27ve+read+others+of+his+that+I+liked+much+more.++a+little+peeved+that+only+220+or+so+of+the+330+pages+was+the+actual+book.++the+balance+were+pictures+credits+and+references
Anonymous 5 months ago
The book was well written, compelling. The only problem is that it was basically a book about a couple of families that settled Ohio, part of the original Northwest Territory. Nothing wrong with that, but it certainly was a very small slice of the Pioneer experience. I like the author and have a number of his books, but whoever came up with the title, and the cover must not have read the book. Count me guilty of judging a book by its cover. May I have a refund. Thanks
Anonymous 21 days ago
Was expecting more than the settlement of the Ohio river valley. The title is miss leading.
Anonymous 10 days ago
I+thought+I+was+getting++a+look+at+the+entire+of+the+Midwest++This+is+so+specific+to+a+little+town+I%27ve++never++even++of.+Written+in+a+style+of+prosaic+English+that%27s++tough++to++read+and+follow++++And+I++like+to+read.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Nice story about Ohio. What about Indiana Michigan and Wisconsin.
Anonymous 3 days ago
Definitely+not+as+good+as+his+other+books.+++Fair+at+best.+++
Anonymous 3 days ago
Looking forward to reading this book! My family helped settle Ohio. Many thanks to all of you who complained about the subject material. Now I can't wait!!
jimbo7296 7 days ago
Waited over a month to get early edition. What a disappointment -- the author who usually provides extensive and detailed background and NEVER lets a reader down, fumbled the ball in this instance. He must have been in a hurry for a publishing deadline and ran out of time in the Ohio territories when he all of a sudden had established a government and educational system in the territory without telling the reader how they got there! Save your money and time on this one.
Creature 10 days ago
I am very disappointed with book. I bought the audio version and found out that it is only 10 chapters. The book is all about the Ohio River Title. Frankly, I really don't care about that. I thought the title would cover all of the states that's why I bought it after all it is supposed to be about The Pioneer's but its not. I am going to return this book for a refund
Anonymous 11 days ago
First book of his that has disappointed. Entirely about the Ohio Valley. Should have been a section in a much bigger book. Nothing memorable here.
Anonymous 19 days ago
It seems like other readers here were expecting a more broad-based overview of the pioneer story of the U.S. Having read a bit about the book, I knew to expect that it was the story of a few families who settled in, and influenced the settling of, the areas near the Ohio River on the heels of the Northwest Ordinance. I found the individual stories compelling, and had to force myself to put the book down each night. McCullough is a first class researcher, but he also knows how to weave the countless letters, diaries, news articles and speeches into a well-paced story that makes you care about the people involved. (Come on - if you're not feeling for the guy who writes a letter proposing marriage to a woman he's never met, on the advice from his wife on her deathbed, who also had never met her, well, you may be lacking empathy!) For me, some of the most compelling writing comes from letters and journals of Manasseh Cutler, a pastor/scientist who was instrumental in getting the Northwest Ordinance passed, and who, along with his son Ephraim, worked tirelessly to ensure that slavery would never scar the territory. The accounts from Manassah Cutler's diary of dealing with elected officials of the day reads like a who's who, and gives insight into the thinking and character of the politicians of the day. Everyone experiences this sort of story differently, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. P.S. The BN-exclusive version has a short essay at the end from one of his speeches on the importance of studying history. You have to get past the index and endnotes, but it's worth it.
FlyerFan 3 months ago
Starts out REALLY slow and I was in a panic that it would stay that way, but it doesn't. Not my favorite book of his but it's definitely a good read!
Anonymous 3 months ago
Anonymous 3 months ago
I found myself not wanting to read too much of it at one sitting because then it would have been over. Highly recommended.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous 29 days ago
Wonderfl+insight+to+a+much+overlooked+segment+of++our+American+history.++++++++++++++Many+thanks.+++++C.E.Clayton++++++++++The+Villages+Florida+++++
mfhs8502 6 months ago
I was extremely disappointed. Nothing like the advertisement. More like a social itinerary, no dialogue or the accomplishments at the meeting points . Other than reading famous historial people's names, I learned more from completelely fictitious novels written during this period. I didn't get past book/chapter 1