The Mothers

The Mothers

by Brit Bennett

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.40 $16.00 Save 10% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $16. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mothers 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow! Such a great book, it's amazing that it's a debut. Beautifully told, heart wrenching at times, with passages that I literally reread, they were that good. I can't recommend it enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down! An easy lazy weekend read. Loved the characters/personalities, a true story of the complications of life, first loves, and friendship.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved reading the perspective of "the mothers", (the church ladies) at the beginning of each chapter. The writing is wonderful, the characters so real--- tough decisions, hard consequences, strong friendships. This goes on my list of most favorite books ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The words in this novel are beautfully woven. Some passages I wanted to highlite and keep to reread. This is a deep book with characters filled with angst. What a subject to have woven through time in their lives. Loved The Mothers talking their minds and perspective in just about every chapter. This book is sad, so my advice is to have a lighthearted book ready to read next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cant wait to see what this author writes next. I loved all the characters. They all had a story and even if they chose the wrong routes, you found yourself understanding why.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a very interesting story about growing up, friendship, pain and dealing with grief.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
feather_lashes More than 1 year ago
★★★½ “The book, I think, is about this central question of how girls grow into women when the female figures who are supposed to usher you into womanhood aren’t there. How girls come of age with that absence. And it’s about how communities are shaped by loss, this thing I keep writing about—how in moments of grief, community can be both a source of comfort and a source of oppression. My main character feels this responsibility to her community yet wants to escape it at the same time. And I was interested in this complexity, as well as the experience of being a young black woman in a community that expects a lot of her, in a world that expects very little.” I found the above insight in this online interview with the author and I think it summarizes The Mothers theme beautifully. Overall, I liked The Mothers and especially enjoyed reading the relationship dynamics written into this story in terms of family, friendship, church body, and a conservative small town. I appreciated Brit Bennett bringing attention to gender double standards, role expectations, and negative self-fulfilling prophecies. This was an interesting read that was both entertaining and thought provoking. If you enjoy reading a variety of themes within the literary fiction and women's fiction genres, check it out! My favorite quote: “Was that all it took, kneeling at the altar and asking for help? Or did you have to invite everyone in on your private sorrow to be saved?”
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is a bit lackluster and dwadles about.