The Malta Exchange (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Cotton Malone Series #14)

The Malta Exchange (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Cotton Malone Series #14)

by Steve Berry

Hardcover(B&N Exclusive Edition)

$24.64 $28.99 Save 15% Current price is $24.64, Original price is $28.99. You Save 15%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Malta Exchange (Signed Book) (Cotton Malone Series #14) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Fredreeca2001 8 months ago
The pope has died and a conclave in convening. But, one cardinal may change the course of history. An ancient sect, knights and secrets are all it takes to bring in Cotton Malone. Cotton is once again on the trail of a mystery. He is searching for letters written between Churchill and Mussolini during WWII. This opens a can of worms and leads to murder and mayhem. I have been a fan of Steve Berry for quite a long time. His book The Amber Room still ranks as one of my all time favorites. However, his past couple of books have been lacking for me. As a matter of fact, I could not even finish the last one. This one, however, is a little better. Notice, I said “a little”. This book’s subject matter is much better because it is a religious mystery with a little bit of WWII sprinkled in. Plus, this one takes you all over Italy and that is a great historical setting. No one does historical research like Steve Berry. He has wonderful history in with action and intrigue. However, I am ready for Cotton to retire. Cotton does not have the allure for me as he did in the past. I feel now that all the books read the same. After that being said….if you have never read Steve Berry, do not let this review stop you. He is a very good writer. I am just ready for something different. I received this novel from Minotaur Books via Netgalley for a honest review.
LibbyMcKinmer 3 months ago
When Cotton Malone and Luke Daniels both end up on the island of Malta, the race is on to discover (or protect) some major secrets in The Malta Exchange. Malone is on the track of legendary letters between Winston Churchill and Benito Mussolini. Daniels is chasing down information on a cardinal who has left Rome to find an ancient document on Malta that could affect the election of the next pope, even as the cardinals are gathering at the Vatican for a papal conclave. Both will encounter the Knights of Malta, an ancient group in existence for over nine hundred years, although the former soldier monks have now become a humanitarian association. The knights also have an internal organization known as the Secreti, who are determined to keep the 4th-century text a secret. As all the players return to Rome, the action intensifies. Cotton and Luke have become entangled in the schemes of a rogue cardinal, an historic group of knights determined to protect a secret from the past, a papal conclave, a slice of World War II history and the future of the Roman Catholic church. Steve Berry never disappoints. There is plenty of historical info, thrilling action and a just plain good read in The Malta Exchange.
Anonymous 3 months ago
+
Gavin Reese 3 months ago
This was my first introduction to Cotton Malone (main character) and to Steve Berry's writing. Berry provides plenty of well-timed backstory to ensure I didn't ever feel like I missed the first novels in this series. I really enjoyed all the authentic references throughout the novel, and its very obviously well researched. Berry's writing perfectly blurs the lines between fact and fiction, and I recommend this book at anyone who likes to wonder where reality stops and the writer's imagination begin.
Anonymous 4 months ago
%0A
tonipollock 4 months ago
Normally I love Steve Berry’s books. This one is the exception. Plot and characters were thinly written and seemed secondary to his diatribes on religion and numerous, lengthy history lessons. Honestly, the book was just plain boring. Not worth the money.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Steve Berry once again provides a great combination of actual and fictional history
Anonymous 5 months ago
Anonymous 5 months ago
Fast paced novel with lots of twists.
Anonymous 5 months ago
The result of this its got me back to reading a Concise History of the Catholic Church by Thomas Bokenkotter. Not bad for a retired engineer.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Well written. Keeps you in suspense until the very end.
Anonymous 6 months ago
I love Cotton Malone and am glad that he still takes me on an adventure even tho’ he has retired from the Magellan Billet. Just like every other Steve Berry book, this plot is complex and thought provoking. He weaves fact and fiction together seamlessly. This book won’t disappoint.
Anonymous 6 months ago
classic+Steve+Berryvand+Cotton+Malone.+what+a+great+read
Anonymous 7 months ago
Steve+seems+to+be+writing+more+to+make+a+personal+statement+than+to+entertain.++I+am+a+loyal+ready+but+have+not+enjoyed+the+last+3+books.++Hope+future+works+are+better.%0A
Anonymous 7 months ago
this was an easy book to put down, because I had trouble following the characters and the locations. I love the history, however, and will get back to it. The murder and mayhem seems a bit contrived. I read all Berry's earlier books as plots, history and characters were all very interesting. However, when Cassiopeia showed up, I lost interest. I thought it a silly name for a supposed heroine and quit reading his books as long as she was in the story. I was hoping the break up would be permanent, but apparently the mention of her in the earlier part of the book sort of spoiled it. Not a book I would recommend to my book discussion group.
Anonymous 7 months ago
As+always%2C+a+joy+to+read%2C+and+leaves+me+looking+forward+to+the+next+one
Anonymous 7 months ago
This series just keeps pulling you in and getting better if that's even possible. I always read Steve Berry because of all the intrigue. Thanks, Net-Galley for the book.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Love Steve Berry and the Cotton Malone books, except this one. It was boring. To much unnecessary filler. Couldn't read more then the first 100 pages, wouldn't hold my attention.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Excellent read
carlosmock 7 months ago
The Malta Exchange by Steve Berry (Cotton Malone #14) For those of us who love Steve Berry, you will not be disappointed. The time is the present. Pope Francis has died. A conclave to select his replacement is about to begin. Cardinals are beginning to arrive at the Vatican, but one has fled Rome for Malta in search of a document that dates back to the 4th century and Constantine the Great. Orphan twins Kastor and Pollux Gallo are conspiring to have Cardinal Kastor Gallo be elected the next Pope at the conclave. They have recruited a few mercenaries from the Knights of Malta to do the deed. The head of the Entity--The Vatican's Secret Service--Cardinal Spagna, has a flash drive with all the indiscretions that have been committed by the corrupt Cardinals. He hands the drive to Kastor so he can use it to bribe the guilty parties to vote for him at the conclave. Kastor has been in Malta since the death of the Pope, looking for Nostra Trinita - a document from Constantine that sets up the Church as a political entity with religion as a way to control the populace. Aided by Cotton Malone they look for clues and decipher its location. Luke Daniels, an agent of the Magellan Billet, and Laura Price, a Maltese secret service agent are also involved. It all deals with Mussolini's assassination--the way the book opens--and what was believed to be in his possession, a way to control the Church, which is assumed to be Constantine's gift, the last bit of the Trinita. This book has it all: a Vatican conclave, nefarious and corrupt cardinals, another cardinal vying for the top spot, rogue Maltese Knights, turncoat British agents and of course Cotton Malone, Stephanie Nelle and Luke Daniels, along with an assortment of other intriguing and colorful characters. Narrated from the third person point of view, its a fascinating and easy read. The characters are alive and very real. The detailed research and how Mr. Berry combines it all to fit perfectly keeps you interested from start to finish. I had trouble putting it down. I also loved the jab taken against the Catholic Church and how it tries to control the populace. It was Constantine goal to use the Church as a way to keep the empire under his rule (The Council of Nicaea, 325 A. D): "First, establish a consistent doctrine called the New Testament with select gospels that speak to a universal belief, which was precisely what the bishops had done at Nicaea. Then decree that all other beliefs are heretical, unworthy of consideration and all who don't believe will be excommunicated. To further enforce dogma, create the notion of sin, adding that if it's not forgiven, the soul will be sent to eternal damnation in flames. Never mind that the Old Testament mentioned any such place. Just create one in your New Testament, then use it to create loyalty and obedience. The fastest way to ensure a constant laity is to proclaim that every person is born with the sins inherited as punishment for Adam's fail from grace. To purge that 'original sin' a person must submit to baptism, performed only by a priest ordained by the church. A failure to rid that sin damns the soul to hell. To keep people dependent on the church for their entire lifetime, create more sacraments. Holy Communion for children, marriage for adults. Last rites on the dead. A womb-to-grave influence over every aspect of a person's life, each milestone dependent solely on adherence to church doctrine. Along the way, th
Normita 8 months ago
Love Steve Berry's books, love Cotton Malone but found this book boring, could not get into the story. Usually I cannot put down a book still I am finished but this one took me a week to read. Yes, it is historical.
CynB 8 months ago
The Malta Exchange by Steve Berry is the latest entry in the long-running Cotton Malone series. Berry packs this thriller/mystery with action from beginning to end as Cotton and protégé, Luke Daniels, solve a current international dilemma that has ties to Churchill and Mussolini but is centered in the early history of the Roman Catholic Church. While I prefer my thrillers to be driven more by character, Berry’s novels demonstrate his mastery of historic fact and his artistry in blending fact with fiction. You cannot help but be intrigued by the history while you are carried forward by the action. Many thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read the eARC in exchange for an honest review. PS - This is probably worth 3.5 stars!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Mixing the contemporary with the historicsl is the authors trademsrk and he suceeds beautifully in this book highly recommended
Anonymous 9 months ago
Congratulations on another superb book. A thriller with deception, twists, and turns that will leave you with a raised eyebrow intertwining the past and present together in a way very few authors can negotiate. Bring on the next book Mr. Berry!
KimHeniadis 9 months ago
I checked my website (https://www.kheniadis.com/) and it looks like I’ve never reviewed a Steve Berry book, even though I’ve read 10 in the Cotton Malone series. The only reason I can come up with is because they are such a fast read, that by the time I think of it, I’ve already read another book, and am totally lazy, and don’t want to go back and write a review. To which I say, “Shame on me!” Berry is such a wonderful writer, that I should write reviews to let others know about this great series. Whenever people at the library ask me what they should read, I ask them what they have read that they enjoyed. If they mention, Dan Brown, then I always tell them that they must read Steve Berry. And it’s totally sexist, but if it’s a guy, I will mention Berry. I told my step-dad about this series, and he’s read them all, and has really enjoyed them. What I enjoy about the Cotton Malone series is the great action scenes, the fast pacing, and how Berry incorporates historical fact with fiction. In this book almost all of the historical references are real, with only a few made up to help solidify the story. If history textbooks were written like this, kids in school would love to learn. If I was a teacher, I would have the kids read one of Berry’s books, and then the textbook on the same subject to fill in anything else. Since Berry does such in depth research into whatever topic he’s writing about, and often has visited the places, the detail he gives to the scenes are amazing. There will be some books where I skim through scenes because the scenery and architectural descriptions are either not good, or so lengthy and boring, but never Berry’s books. His depictions of the architect and surrounding scenery is amazing. The only thing that pulled me out of the story was when Luke Daniels, agent for the good guys, started thinking about another of the characters romantically. The scenes were written well, but I just wanted to get back to the action. If you couldn’t guess already, I highly recommend this book. And if you haven’t been reading the Cotton Malone series, you may want to start with the first book, The Templar Legacy.