The Loch Ness Papers

The Loch Ness Papers

by Paige Shelton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Loch Ness Papers 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
JamminJenny 6 months ago
I received this book via Netgalley in return for an honest review. I really liked this cozy mystery set in Scotland, near the famous Loch Ness where Nessie is reported to live. Nessie is central to the story, and I liked the way the author includes her in the finale. I loved the bookshop and all the people that worked there, and the romance between the lady from Kansas and the man from Scotland was great. A really fun read.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Is a wonderful writer , i read all of her books i enjoyed every one of them so very much!!!
AWilcox777 12 months ago
Amazing! Incredible! Phenomenal addition to a strong, amazing series! Delaney is such a strong, smart protagonist; I can never get enough of her or her handsome bar owner. I loved the stories of Nessie and the divide between the characters believing and not believing. Paige does such a wonderful job growing characters to make you love them and want them to turn out alright in the end. I'm not going to lie...I was a little too excited at the mention of Oregon in the book. Her way of tying characters back to the states are just enough to make it feel like the world isn't really THAT big afterall. We've all had those instances in life so it doesn't seem far-fetched at all. My murder is unfortunate and the mystery surrounding the possibilities feel endless until the end when Paige neatly wraps everything up with a big, beautiful bow. It was all done so perfectly! I can't wait for the next stage in everyone's lives.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
I have loved this series from the first book. And this newest story in the series was great. I loved meeting Delaney's parents and brother when they come from Kansas - for The Wedding. I just wish we got a little bit more at the end - of the actual wedding. But I love the entire cast of characters and the love and affection they have for one another. I look forward to many more books in this series!
-Sar_Ah More than 1 year ago
I always look forward to the beginning of the year because it almost always means a new Scottish Bookshop Mystery is about to come out! This is by far one of my favorite cozy mystery series because it has all the brilliant aspects you need to enjoy a mystery. Books, bookish voices, delightful characters, Scotland, and Hector :) The Loch Ness Papers has become my new favorite book in the Scottish Bookshop Series. This is book four in the series, which originally started with The Cracked Spine. The Loch Ness Papers has the perfect mix of folk lore, murder, and family/friends. I truly enjoyed the journey that intertwined Scottish History and the crime at hand. Scotland has so many great stories, but the Loch Ness Monster might be one of the most magical. It’s a joy to be able to read a book and be transported to a place you’ve never been. I’ve always wanted to see Scotland and the area surrounding Loch Ness, and now I’ve at the very least, experienced it! I loved meeting the new characters and learning their stories. Delaney was completely relatable as she worked through the details of her big day on top of her already curious mind to help solve a murder. I love her determination to help those in need and help bring closure to every case. The relationship between her and Detective Winters is fun to read because now he knows now that she has a knack for solving crime. I loved getting to know Delaney’s family this time too. It’s amazing to see how much her character has grown even though we didn’t read about her growing up, I can see it through her family that she’s become the person she’s always meant to be. Which I think is everyone’s dream. To be where you’re meant to be and doing what you love to do. Is Scotland calling you yet? I’m already looking forward to (hopefully) next years release and my next Scottish Adventure! Thank you, Paige Shelton for this incredible read.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts Delaney and Tom’s wedding is just a couple of weeks away and they are in need of a new pastor to perform the ceremony after their original one passes away. On her way into the church to meet a potential replacement, she meets Norval Fraser, a man who has researched the Loch Ness Monster his entire life. Delaney finds herself drawn into the man’s obsession and they become fast friends. He is very protective of all of his papers and wants to be sure someone will continue his work after he is gone. He had hoped his nephew would take the mantle but when the nephew is killed and police believe he is responsible he reaches out to Delaney for help to find the murderer and to protect his papers. Delaney already has her hands full with her upcoming wedding and her family arriving from Kansas but she can’t say no to this man. Believing the truth will set Nordal free she jumps in with both feet to find it. But she may be up against the beast itself before she can get there. I loved absolutely everything about this story! A wedding, a priceless book, Americans visiting Scotland for the first time, and Nessie featured throughout it all. Who has not heard the tale of the Loch Ness Monster? It was about time Delaney paid the creature a visit to see for herself if their really something residing in the Loch. Nordal’s vast amount of papers and his stories really pushed her desire to see if the monster really exists. The man is clearly haunted by his memories and Delaney realizes he needs someone to pay attention. It was heartwarming the way she took this man under her wing, especially because she herself is so new to Scotland. Her need to prove his innocence overtakes almost everything else, including her wedding but her hunky pub owner fiance completely understands. That leads me to the romantic side of this story. Delaney has found the perfect mate in Tom and we see it abundantly in this story. He takes care of her but trusts her and gives her the freedom to pursue her endeavors. He is ready to step in when she needs him but knows when to back off. She supports him thoroughly too. I am excited about their future. This installment brings her adopted Scotland family, the staff at the bookstore, her landlords, Tom and his father together with her biological Kansas family to celebrate their upcoming nuptials. Delaney gets sidetracked with the murder and her new friend, so I was so pleased the way the two families got along. Meeting her folks and her brother gave us a clearer picture of the protagonist I have grown to love over the course of this series. Again, Paige Shelton’s words deliver her readers to Scotland. The town, the countryside, the rain, and the infamous loch. We follow Delaney each and every step of the way. Ms. Shelton paints such vivid imagery. You will find myth, a rich history, mystery and love within these pages. The ending left me breathless. Such fantastic storytelling took me away. The reality around me seemed to disappear as I became immersed in a tale I couldn’t put down. In fact, I sad when the story ended. My virtual escape ended much too soon. I just was not ready to leave Scotland behind. This book will be on my list of best reads of 2019 for so many reasons. It can be enjoyed on its own but to experience the character development and the passage of time I strongly encourage reading the series from the start. This story receives my Paradise Rating! 10 stars!
iiiireader More than 1 year ago
I’ve read this series since the beginning and have to say that I recommend reading the books in order. In order to understand how the characters have gotten to this place in their journey, you need to have the background stories. The sleuth in this series is Delaney. She has moved from Kansas to Scotland for a job at The Cracked Spine, a bookstore of some repute. Delaney has found her new home in Edinburgh and is engaged to the love of her life. Her family has arrived for Delaney’s marriage just as murder has occurred. At the same time, a mystery regarding the Loch Ness Monster is provided to Delaney to solve. She takes it on it hopes that it will prove a man innocent of the charge of murder. The story twists and turns and, as these cozy mysteries do, comes out right at the end. I’ll be interested to see where the series heads from this point on. I was provided a digital advance reader copy of this book by the publisher via Netgalley.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Delaney Nichols is heading to the alter with her Scottish fiancé and a week before the nuptials she needs to find a new minister to perform the ceremony. As she is visiting the prospective pastor she literally runs into an older gentleman that brings intrigue, and murder, into the week leading up to her wedding. Intrigue in that he believes in Nessie, the Loch Ness Monster, and murder when his nephew is found murdered and he is the main suspect. Even with less than a week to go before her wedding, and the wedding shop with her dress suddenly closes and disappears along with her dress, Delaney is certain about two things: Tom IS the man for her and the elderly Norval Fraser did NOT murder his nephew. She’s still on the fence about Nessie though. This delightful story brings an American midwestern farm girl to Edinburgh and it’s quite an enjoyable read. I particularly enjoyed the spin on Nessie and even the nod to my neck of the woods here in the US, Oklahoma City. I seem to be drawn to books based in Scotland and this one found it’s way to my notice and I am glad it did. While the first book I have read in this series, it was just fine as a standalone, though I want to read the prior entries. Looking forward to seeing what the future holds for Delaney, Tom and the gang at The Cracked Spine.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
Delaney is excited for her upcoming wedding not only are her parents coming to town but she gets to spend the rest of her life with the man she loves. Learning that she needed a new officiant for her wedding she heads out to the church to ask a reverend that was recommended if they would be available for her wedding. While heading to the church she runs into an elderly gentleman named Norval that she has an immediate connection with. She finds a pack of cards and realizes that Norval must have dropped them. She finds out where he lives to return the cards and learns that he is a Loch Ness monster enthusiast. Delaney befriends Norval and he asks her to continue on in his search for the illusive creature. Delaney agrees to think it over and continues on with her everyday life. When Norval shows up at the shop worried about his nephew Delaney goes with him and finds the young man murdered. Who could have killed him and why? Did it have something to do with Norval's research or could it have been one of his many investors? The police are looking at Norval and although she hasn't known him long Delaney doesn't believe he could have done it. Follow along as she tries to clear his name but with all the she has going on will she be able to? With her family in town, a lost dress, and an American with a book and story to tell will she be able to find the time to be of some help to Norval? This was a great read that truly transports you to Scotland. I've never been there but when I read a book from this series I feel as if I'm there. I look forward to being transported again with the next book in the series!!!
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
Reading this story makes me want to explore every nook and cranny of The Cracked Spine Bookshop, and follow Delaney’s footsteps as she sleuths the streets of Scotland. Danger, love, mystery, history, and myth all unite to create a story so memorable and mesmerizing I didn’t want it to end! I’d rate it 10 stars, if I could. The plot grips you from the beginning and doesn’t let go until the last word. I’ll think about this story for a long time to come. I was emotionally moved by elderly Norval Fraser’s endless quest to prove the Loch Ness monster exists. I never doubted the protagonist, Delaney Nichols would step right into the fray surrounding Norval and the past that haunts him while all the while planning her wedding to Tom. The ending is fantastic in more ways than one! I highly recommend this exciting cozy mystery to readers. I reviewed a digital arc provided by NetGalley and Minotaur/St. Martin’s Press. Thank you.
Tangen More than 1 year ago
myths-legends, Scotland, Loch Ness, law-enforcement, books, wedding, family, friendship, murder, cosy-mystery What do the beautiful Nessie, a father's disappearance from Scotland during WW2, an old man's obsession with Nessie, and an extremely valuable copy of Malory's Le Morte d'Artur have in common? Enter Delaney Nichols who investigates the personal history of the old man with the Nessie obsession and the murder of his less than honest nephew. Her friends at the bookstore, her soon to be groom, her family from America, and the overworked police inspector work together to make sense of why the life's work of the elderly man might have real bearing on the murder of the nephew. This entertaining tale is filled with interesting characters, plot twists, red herrings, and Nessie history. Well worth the read! This is the first book I've read in the series, but that didn't detract at all. I requested and received a free ebook copy from St Martin's Press via NetGalley. Thank you!
Pompie1999 More than 1 year ago
Delaney Nichols is one very, very busy young lady. A bit over a year ago, she was laid off from her job at the museum and had decided that what she really needed was an adventure. When she saw the advertisement from Edinburgh, Scotland – someone wanted to hire someone with just her skills – she was ready to pack up and leave Kansas. She’s now been in Edinburgh for a year, she’s acquired a wonderful set of friends she calls her ‘Scottish family’ and she will be getting married in a few days. Her family, mother, father, and brother will even be in Edinburgh in just a few days. On top of all that, the officiant that was to perform the wedding ceremony has died and she has to find another one – with only a week left until the wedding. It is raining cats and dogs and Delaney is heading into the church to speak to an officiant recommend by her future father-in-law. As she dashes in toward the red door, she smacks into an old man, Norval Fraser. For some reason, she feels drawn to Norval as she helps him right himself. Then, after he departs, she notices something lying on the ground – obviously, it belongs to the old man. He certainly seemed an odd, blatherskite sort of fellow. He’s obsessed with the Loch Ness Monster (Nessie) and wants Delaney to take over his research and prove that Nessie really exists. A couple of days later Delaney encounters Norval awaiting her outside the bookstore where she works. It is barely 5:30 AM and Norval says he’s been waiting for some time. He’s worried about his nephew who doesn’t answer his phone. Delaney doesn’t understand the fierce worry but agrees to accompany Norval to his nephew’s home – where they find him deceased -stabbed in the back. The police believe Norval is the murderer because of the knife and fingerprints – but – those can be misleading. Delaney doesn’t believe that Norval is capable of that kind of violence, but then she doesn’t know him that well. At any rate, she’ll do what she can to help find the killer and prove Norval innocent. Now, in addition to all of the other things she has to do, Delaney has to find a killer. Enter a long, tall Texan dressed in black and you just add another layer to the mystery. Who is he really and why is he trying to return a book that the bookstore never owned? The book is a very, very valuable one about King Arthur and the round table, but there is just something fishy about both the man and his story. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I hope you will as well. The characters are wonderful as you’ll know if you have read the series from the beginning. If you haven’t, I’d suggest you read the previous book because you’ll love them. The book is well-written and tightly plotted with multiple mysteries, new characters added to the series and a really lovely romance. What more could you ask for? I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
saberle More than 1 year ago
THE LOCH NESS PAPERS is a delightful, charming novel that exemplifies escapism at its best. I was instantly transported to The Cracked Spine Bookshop and the streets of Scotland. The book possesses characters that are hard to forget, and the plot is intricate enough to make you want to finish the book in one day. THE LOCH NESS PAPERS features charming characters, a monster of renown, wit and allure, and an altogether wonderful cast of characters. Reading it is the next best thing to hopping a plane to Scotland.
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
The Loch Ness Papers by Paige Shelton is the fourth book in the Scottish Bookshop series and a delightful addition to this series. Delaney and Tom are getting married and Delaney's family is coming to visit from Kansas. While trying to find a new minister to officiate the wedding, Delaney meets Norval Fraser. He's a Loch Ness monster enthusiast who has been researching the monster for years. Ms. Shelton's descriptive writing draws the reader into Edinburgh and the characters. Having read the previous books in the series, I've come to feel like Edwin, Rosie, Hamlet, Tom and Delaney have all become friends. I love spending time with them and enjoying the sights, history and stories of Scotland and Edinburgh. I also liked that Ms. Shelton included Nessie's history and the possibilities of her existence into the story. The plot moved swiftly with very few suspects and enough twists to keep me guessing. However, this time I did feel somewhat of a disconnect with Delaney. She got so involved with the murder, Norval and the mystery American that I felt like she neglected her family and her wedding. All in all it was a good read and I'll definitely be looking for more in this series. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Minotaur Books/St. Martin's Press via NetGalley. All of the above opinions are my own.
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
When the story started I thought it might focus around King Arthur and then maybe the Loch Ness Monster. But of course then there was a murder and let's not forget the wedding. I do not want to give any spoilers so let's just say it all comes together nicely in the end. I really enjoyed the history/mythology aspect of this story and it has unique twists that will make you think twice. There are characters you'll want to root for and others you'll want to get to know better. This is the fourth book in A Scottish Bookshop Mystery series but could easily be read as a stand alone. Thanks to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for an ARC of this book. The opinions expressed are my own.
chefdt More than 1 year ago
The Loch Ness Papers is the fourth book in the Scottish Bookshop Mystery series. Delaney Nichols is scurrying to meet with Rev. Bellows to see if she will be able to marry her and Tom Shannon when she bumps into Norval Fraser coming out of the church. As Delaney is about to enter the church she notices a deck of cards on the ground with a picture of the Loch Ness Monster on the cards. After meeting with Rev. Bellows Delaney goes across the street to where Norval lives and returns the cards. When she enters Norval flat, she notices papers and books piled all over. Norval explains that he has been researching Nessie since he was young, believing that Nessie does exist and taken his father when he was a young boy. Norval tells Delaney that he would like to give the papers to someone who will continue his work and not sell the papers. One morning when as Delaney arrives at The Cracked Spine she finds Norval waiting for her. He wants her to go with him to his great-nephew Gavin’s home. Norval says he has been trying to call him but he doesn’t answer. When they arrive they find the dead body of Gavin, having been stabbed. Evidence found at the scene leads the police to consider Norval as a person of interest. Delaney with the help of the staff at The Cracked Spine set out to clear Norval’s name. Another mystery that comes to Delaney’s attention happens when a good looking man from the states come to the bookstore with what appears to be a very valuable book that he claims to have found in his grandfather’s house. He says that his grandfather left a note in the book where he claims to have stolen the book from The Cracked Spine and would like for his grandson to return it one day. Edwin MacAllister, owner of the bookstore has no recollection of ever having the book. Something doesn’t ring true about his story and Delaney wants to know if the story is true. And as if Delaney didn’t have enough on her plate, her parents and brother have arrived for their daughter’s marriage. Fortunately, Elias and Aggie McKenna, Delaney’s landlords are more willing to show the family around Edinburgh. Another well-written and plotted story and most all the previous cast of enjoyable character are back to help tell the store. Ms. Shelton almost had me convinced that there is really a “Nessie”. I will be watching for the next book in this wonderful series.