The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings Series #2)

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (Montague Siblings Series #2)

by Mackenzi Lee

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$26.72 $39.99 Save 33% Current price is $26.72, Original price is $39.99. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, November 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mackenzi lee does a wonderful job at showing how what we think is modern: interracial, same gendered relationships, strong women with feminist beliefs, and complex sexualities have always existed in history. She shows how women were no less complex in the 1700s than they are today. This story is both incredibly heartbreaking (due to the effects of the patriarchy) and lovely (because of the women) to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book. And the audiobook narrator was amazing-- there is a pivotal point where a character returns and because of the voicing, you know who it is and it's amazing. While I was listening, I kept thinking about how that particular scene is WAY better in the audiobook than it would have been in the print book. Absolutely fabulous. I don't even know what to say about this book. I love the characters. I have to say that Henry Montague has been added to my list of favorite fictional characters of all time
PerfectlyTolerable More than 1 year ago
I loved The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy ❤ I loved the chemistry between Felicity, Sim, and Johanna. They are all so completely different from each other and that makes them perfect for each other. Felicity is outspoken and strong, Sim is quiet and fierce, Johanna is girly and smart. None of them are perfect, and there are a lot of misunderstandings, but they make it work and figure it out as they go! As much as I love Monty and Percy, I am glad they were minor characters in this story. I thought they got the perfect amount of screentime. They weren’t just teasing cameos, they actually had parts to play, but they didn’t overshadow Felicity’s story either. It was perfectly done. Completely coincidentally, this is the absolutely perfect book to read during Woman’s History Month, and its fitting that I am writing my review on International Woman’s Day. This book is all about girl power! Felicity, Sim, and Johanna are fighting against the social restraints placed on woman in the 1700s. Felicity especially has been struggling against these bonds her whole life and she is eager to make a name for herself in a man’s world. I do want to clarify that, while this book is all about girl power, it isn’t shove-it-down-your-face political feminism. Its simply an inspirational story about a group of girls fighting for what they want. While we are on the topic of girl power, I love how this book breaks the normal “strong girl” tropes. Johanna is frilly and likes fancy dresses, but she is also not afraid to get her hands dirty and is super smart. I think its important to show girls that they can be both girly and smart. So often in books girls have to be one or the other. Of, if they are both, it is said they are strong, despite their love of girly things. There is nothing wrong with being girly! I love that Johanna embraces and loves girly things and that she is a super strong character. Throughout the book, Felicity is biased against “normal girls” and Sim and Johanna call her out on it. Her bias is not only incorrect but it is unfair, and Felicity eventually learns this. And of course pirates! I love books with pirates! The action and adventure in this book was perfect ❤ And the cover is absolutely gorgeous! Just look at it ❤ Its waaaaay better than the cover of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue! Long story short, I loved this book and you should read it!
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
The number one thing I remembered about The Gentleman's Guide is how absolutely hilarious Monty was. And I remembered Felicity being sassy and hoped we'd get a peek into her head at some point. Imagine my surprise when Lee announced that we were going to get an entire book about Felicity! I knew it would be something I enjoyed. For the most part, I did like this one, but there were some things I didn't care for. And the number one thing was the plot. I didn't feel like there ever really was one. The entire book was about finding one man and then something wild and crazy tacked on at the end. If it wasn't as funny as it was, I probably would have DNF'ed it. I almost did anyways, hence the reason I waited until I could listen to the audio version. As for the characters, I STILL loved them! From Monty, to Percy, to Joanna, to even Max! They each brought something different to the story and I really enjoyed reading about them. My favorite character was still Monty even if it wasn't his book lol I think he will be one of my favorite characters of all times. I also really liked Felicity and the way Lee portrayed her asexuality, even though during this time period there was no term for it.It was a great part of Felicity that I think readers need to see. The other thing I didn't care for was the ending. For this to be Felicity's book, I didn't feel like it should have been on "this person" to save them. Felicity should have been able to be the person of saving herself and her team. Add on to the fact that it felt tacked on and outta place. It just didn't work for me. This book was not what I was expecting, but I still liked it anyways. No matter what, Lee's humor will ALWAYS gets me to pick up her books. And even though this one had a few faults, this one is just as entertaining as the first! I hope you all pick this up and meet Felicity!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first saw this book, I thought it looked kind of dumb, but then a friend told me how great it was. When I finally read it, I LOVED it. I loved it so much I told basically everyone I knew about it. This book is honestly one of the best things I've bought for myself in a while
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed THE LADY'S GUIDE, and not just for the occasional cameos of Monty and Percy being adorable and flirty and happy. Felicity is a hell of a heroine in her own right--smart and capable, sure of what she wants and so socially awkward all at once. I loved her and her girl gang of ambitious, intelligent traveling companions, and I'm 100% here for the adventures they're sure to have beyond the end of this book. Bonus points for some necessary unpacking of how hard it is to be a woman in a man's world--in the 1700s or the present--and how much harder you have to work and better you have to be at that work to even attempt to compete. Double bonus points for the many important discussions about how there's no right way to be a woman or to be powerful, and triple bonus points for the established asexuality representation that is clear as day on the page. These are such awesome examples of historical YA--with a dash of magic thrown in!--and if you haven't read them yet, you really, really should.
Arys More than 1 year ago
The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee is book two in her Montague Siblings series. Continuing a year after the events from book one, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue, Ms. Lee brings us a new adventure featuring Felicity Montague, the sister of Monty Montague. When Felcity's desire to enroll into medical school is stopped by the administrators because she is a woman, Felicity hatches a plan to try to land a position under a doctor she idolizes, Doctor Alexander Platt. However, he's currently in Germany to be married to her estranged childhood friend, Johanna Hoffman. So, in order to fulfill her dreams of becoming a doctor, Felicity sets off on a grand adventure where she meets a mysterious young woman, Simmaa Aldajah from Algiers, who is willing to pay Felicity's way to Germany in exchange for information from the Hoffman's. However, once Sim's real intentions are revealed, Felicity finds herself on another path than she originally intended. Mackenzi Lee's novel is fun, fast-paced, and stars a strong group of women. Felicity, Sim, and Johanna really drive the novel. Each character individually is a star in their own right but combined they do not outshine each other, and instead burn brighter and stronger. I particularly enjoyed their scenes together and how they join synergistically, support each other, and overcome their obstacles to get to the end. The ending of the novel is perfect. It was satisfying, though I personally want more of their adventures. Overall I very much liked The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee and wholeheartedly recommend it for more reasons than I can count. (I voluntarily reviewed an advance review copy of this book I received for free from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for my open and honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.)
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I have an insane love for Gentlemen’s Guide, so when I learned Felicity was getting her own story, I was so excited. We even made it a priority for the arc drop at SDCC. Sadly, I’m a little disappointed. I liked Felicity well enough. What I loved the most about her in GG was her sass and wit and while she still has those, the majority of the book we’re in her head. The pages and pages of inner monologue got a little old. Of course the scenes with Monty and Percy were hilarious. And I enjoyed the tenacity of Johanna and Sim. Plot wise, it dragged for me. It didn’t feel like an adventure, more like Felicity tagging along on someone else’s journey. I was never captivated by the story and seriously irritated by the same few words used over and over and over again. Overall, it had characters I enjoyed, but I didn’t see the spark I was hoping for. **Huge thanks to Katherine Tegen Books for providing the arc free of charge**