The Iliad (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

The Iliad (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Paperback

$8.76 $10.95 Save 20% Current price is $8.76, Original price is $10.95. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Iliad (Illustrated by John Flaxman + link to download FREE audiobook + Active TOC) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 313 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm only a few chapters into the book, but by far, this is the greatest poem I've ever read. Homer combines drama, action, and mythology into one. This is definately reccomended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Iliad, as with other Greek poetry, was poetry intended to be recited orally as opposed to being read. Fitzgerald's backgroung in poetry brings out the lyrical passion of the Iliad so prized by the Greeks as no other translation has done. Other translations are also hampered by archaic English language and idioms that make little sense today. I strongly recommend this translation more than any other.
AnonymousZS More than 1 year ago
The Illiad, by Homer, is definitely one of the best books I have ever read. It actually is not necessarily a book; more like a poem. This poem-book tells of the legendary Trojan War between the Greeks and the Trojans. The whole thing kicked off when Hector ran away with the Greek king's daughter, Helen. They then fled to Troy with it's near impassable structured walls. Zeus brought back the news to Mount Olympus, place of the gods, and every god took up arguments for both sides. Half sided with Troy while the other half sided with the Greeks. As the Greeks battled with the Trojans, it became clear that they were losing. So they decided on a trick. A selected few men would hidee inside a great wooden horse, dubbed, the Trojan Horse. The Trojans would wheel the horse in think it was a great prize. When nightfall came, the men jumped out and !opened the gate for the whole Greek army to come in. Troy was defeated soundly and the book ends with the funeral of Hector. A ten out of ten!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I bought this with the Sparknotes on The Illiad, which summarizes each 'book' (chapter) in the story. Once you have an idea of what's happening chapter by chapter, the book expands on the summary, and is really becomes an awesome read. Homer can describe in vivid detail the combat sequences. Once you get past the fact that this version is written in it's poetic form, and you read it just like a regular prose version, you will enjoy it. It is very affordable at under 8 bucks, so making notes, underlining parts that really strike you etc... won't make you feel like you are defacing anything. It's a must for any library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Iliad is the story of the battle of Troy for a women named Helen who was taken captaive from here husband. All of the Greek city states were involved in this war and many famous heroes. The war lasted for 20 years and each side had many deaths. Two of the most famous men who fought at Troy were Achilles and Odyseus these two men made sure that they won the battle and got Helen back. They did not realise what a daunting task they would have infront of them until they arrived at Troy. The walls were said to be 100 feet tall and 50 feet thick at most parts. The battle of Troy is one of the most famous wars in all of history because of two things, it was the first to be over a women and have the gods help them in their victory. Also that it had lasted so long and how strategic each side had fought in the war.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well, it's funny when you refer to this as a book. It actually is an epic. If lacking the knowledge of poetry, an epic is in fact a branch of poetry. Overall, amazing, far better then the odyssey.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Iliad is definitely a must-read for anyone. As a student, I was required to read this for my World Literature class. As far as the mythology is concerned, it is absolutely fascinating, but even the historical perspective is amazing. This epic poem is probably still THE standard for Greek mythology.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was confussing at first but after I look up some of the plots in the story I remembered seeing a movie about the Iliad. It was an incredible Book
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked up this book because I figured it would help to better understand the allusions and references in future novels. Not only did The Iliad help with this but it also was a great read. The introduction by King was informative and emphasized the transformation of war into art.
LastCall on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the corner stones of all of Western Literature
neurodrew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The IliadHomer(Translation Robert FItzgerald)Apr 18, 2010 6:20 PMI have had this book on my shelves, and in my conscience, for years. I am not sure why I was motivated to read it now. I recall my humanities teacher in high school, Brother Joseph Zutelis, and his insistence on making his students cultured, starting with the Greek classics. I read large parts of the Iliad in his classes, have heard it praised and cited in many books, finally decided to experience it for myself, at least in translation. It is graphic, and bloody. If released in this day, perhaps as a graphic novel, it would be condemned for its violence, and misogyny. Its story moves briskly, and its details evoke the lives and experiences of agrarian Greeks, in the earthy descriptions of forest fires and wolves, farming and fishing. The hero, Akhilleus as spelled in this translation, is too stubborn and egotistical to feel much sympathy for. Odysseus is a much more attractive. The Gods take part in the battle, and the men accept the interference of the gods in their combat as fate. In the end, there is death, and lamenting. The general theme is mortality and its cruel and iron hand. The beginning¿Anger be now your song, immortal oneAkhilleus¿ anger, doomed and ruinous,that caused the Akhaians loss on bitter loss¿Hektor rallying Trojans: Book 15¿...Fight for the shipsAs one man, all of you! And if one findshis death, his end, in some spear-thrust or castthen that is that, and no ignoble deathfor a man defending his own land¿Athena emboldening Menelaos:¿Power in his shouldersshe instilled, and gristle in his knees, and in his heart the boldness of a shad flyfiercely brushed away, but mad to bite,as human blood is ambrosial drink to him.¿Aeneas boasting, book 20¿Men have twisty tongues, and on them speechof all kinds. Wide is the grazing land of words,both east and west¿Apollo on Akhilleus¿ rage, book 24¿The man has lost all mercy;he has no shame - that gift that hinders mortals, but helps them, too.¿
israfel13 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It is completely beyond my ability to either add or detract from this masterpiece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Manirul More than 1 year ago
Lovely...! beautiful.....!.... Just enjoy it.....!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book, but we had to read it for school and the ebook does not include number lines so it made it hard to follow in class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this for a project I have to do for my end of the year grade...it is awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago