The Great Cholesterol Myth: Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease-and the Statin-Free Plan That Will

The Great Cholesterol Myth: Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease-and the Statin-Free Plan That Will

by Jonny Bowden, Stephen Sinatra

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99 $19.99 Save 40% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 40%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Great Cholesterol Myth: Why Lowering Your Cholesterol Won't Prevent Heart Disease-and the Statin-Free Plan That Will 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is real eye opener and one of the best books that I have read this year. As a person that struggled with my weight and with a family history of heart attacks and strokes, I needed this book in my life and I am glad that I have it. I also would recommend my other favorite book this year, "The Hungry Chick Dieting Solution." I found out about it here on BN and I am so glad that I did. It made me rethink a lot of my food choices. I was skeptical at first seeing it mentioned in a review, but here I am doing it too. But, the book is good and even better than even that, I am actually losing weight.  
Loves2Readalot27 More than 1 year ago
Have read this book and it has backed up my belief that medications like Crestor and Lipitor cause more problems than solving them. I've always had an argument with my cardiologist that Crestor was causing me nothing but muscle pain but all he did was ignore me and tell me I had to take it. Sure enough it is coming out that these medications really don't do women any good and even my friends who are men tell me that even they suffer the same issues I have. I'm taking this book with me I'm off to have another "discussion" with my Dr. If I can't make any headway with him, well I guess it's time to say good-bye and find someone else who will listen to my concerns.
plappen More than 1 year ago
"High cholesterol and saturated fat are the major causes of heart disease." That statement has been a medical article of faith for many years. According to the authors of this book, it is also very wrong. There are several different types of "good" and "bad" cholesterol (some "good" cholesterol is bad for the body, and some "bad" cholesterol is good for the body), so a single number for good and bad cholesterol each is rather worthless. People with really low cholesterol numbers can easily get heart disease, and those with really high cholesterol numbers can live their entire lives without one bit of heart disease. Why do some native cultures, who practically live on saturated fat, have little or no heart disease? The real cause of heart disease is chronic inflammation, which comes from damage caused by free radicals (the book explains everything). Sugar is much more harmful to your heart than fat. It contributes to inflammation in the walls of your arteries. It increases the amount of insulin in your blood, which increases cholesterol and raises your blood pressure. It also raises your level of triglycerides, which is a much better indicator of heart disease than cholesterol. What is the problem with statin drugs, the usual treatment for heart disease? Their benefits have been extremely exaggerated. The brain depends on cholesterol to function normally. A common (but under-reported) side effect of statin drugs is sexual dysfunction. Most doctors dismiss complaints of side effects from statin drugs, and don't report them to the FDA. The only people who should take statin drugs are middle-age men with documented coronary artery disease. The book mentions tests that are much better indicators than cholesterol of heart problems. Ask your doctor to order them. Get rid of sugar, soda, processed carbohydrates and trans fats from your diet. Eat more vegetables, berries, nuts, beans and dark chocolate. If you can add only one supplement to your diet, make it Coenzyme Q10. This book easily reaches the level of Must read, especially for anyone on a statin drug. It is an eye-opener that will give the reader plenty to discuss with their doctor at their next appointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book debunks all the crazy myths about cholesterol and its relationship to heart disease. It's a must read for all those who are being prescribed statins. Glad I read the book first.
momgoose More than 1 year ago
Huge amount of exceedingly useful information in this book. Very well worth having.
kneadahand More than 1 year ago
This isn't just a book for people taking care of their heart. But if you main goal is to do that, you need this book to put you in the HONEST DIRECTION of helping yourself. I spent 5 years doing what the doctors say and thank goodness I didn't totally listen to them. Cholesterol is NOT the variable you should be looking at.And "Danger Will Robinson" on statins. It's amazing, you can apply this information in so many ways. It s a must read for everyone.
Icanread24 More than 1 year ago
The author coveres what I always suspected that drug companies manipulate the government and the doctors. This book goes through almost every medical study and analyzes the stats on what is really happening in your body and what it means. It easy to understand and scary that so many people are taking these pills with some serious side effects. You need to read this and learn the real truth about cholesterol. It is actually good for you as long as you are healthy. Buy a copy for your doctor too.
ShawnM More than 1 year ago
Read this book now, even if you are a skeptic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the book and immediately had a heart attack the next day... Not very helpful in my opinion.