The Fear Index

The Fear Index

by Robert Harris

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.86 $15.00 Save 1% Current price is $14.86, Original price is $15. You Save 1%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fear Index 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. We are to believe that computer have taken over after the main character begins having a very strange day and murders a man who he supposedly hired to attack him. We are never told in any credible fashion how this alternate computer universe came into being. Suggestions are made, but they do not support the conclusion. A variety of clandestine events had taken place, yet who put them into action? No credible answer is given. My vote is 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4. My computer gives it 5 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot is one we have run into before: computer technology created by man becomes uncontrollable and runs amok - remember Hal? This book though adds a new twist by bringing in wall street trading. Decent enough book but the characters do things that are hard to fathom, like the main character's wife turning on him immediately when the computer acting as him does some bizarre things. In any event, I am a Robert Harris fan and didn't have any trouble finishing the book even though this one wasn't up to his other efforts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intoxicating mixture of science, technology, greed, and the psychology of fear. I couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really a sifi "story" because the author was "carried away" with the idea and gave the computer a "vendetta" persona .... Helpful insight to what goes on in the real world of high stakes finance.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down. It would make a great movie.
LDC62 More than 1 year ago
The book started well and a good pace. It had some points where one questions "whodunit", but for me, it had a disappointing ending.
Becket More than 1 year ago
Harris did a great job of keeping the suspense going, and the development of the main character was fascinating. I figured out how he might end the novel and was disappointed when I was right. The writing style is very compelling, and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I would be intersted to read his other works based on the pace and suspense of this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was good overall. I love the stock market and the story had alot of stock market and securities examples that were really dead on.
tboomer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A cross between 2001 A Space Odyssey and Frankenstein. Worth a read if like me, you are partial to thrillers that involve finance and computers. Put it on the summer beach read list.
Pennydart on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alexander Hoffman is a brilliant physicist who leaves CERN to develop an artificially intelligent hedge-fund trading system. Alex¿ business partner, Hugo Quarry, is the epitome of greed, while his wife Gabrielle is beautiful, artistic, and tragic in her inability to conceive a child. Someone is trying to kill Hoffman, and his AI system, VIXAL, turns out to be more powerful than he could ever have imagined, so that in the end all he can do to prevent global financial disaster is to set on fire the warehouse that houses the computers on which it runs. How many more cliché¿s could Harris have included in this unsatisfying thriller?
michaeldwebb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun book, nothing too serious, about artificial intelligence and stock market trading. Highly implausible, but still quite a page turner.
herschelian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This seemed a 'lazy' book by Harris, a fairly simple plot line, somewhat Sci Fi, could have been a short story or novella but padded out. Characters not very convincing. Reams of financial technical data which I am sure is accurate as he will have done his research, but was goobledygook to me. Finished the book but felt let down - had read it expecting a 'good meal' and felt I was served 'junk food snack'.
RobinMichel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I could not put it down. A real triller
gbsallery on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Superman III set in a hedge fund (minus the Lycra). Contains implausible plot elements which will cause anyone who knows anything about AI or algorithmic trading to cringe, but despite that is taughtly plotted and evocative enough to be entertaining. Useful fodder for a couple of hours in an airport.
Eyejaybee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An enthralling thriller set in the world of hi-tech private banking, with shades of Philip Kerr's "Gridiron" and the financial thrillers of Michael Ridpath. Hoffmann is a physicist formerly employed on the Hadron Collider at CERN, though he had been dismissed after his artificial intelligence experiments generated unforeseen consequences. He used his expertise to develop merchant banking algorithms which had led to his organization becoming a market leader.His bank's unique selling point was the deft analysis of risk and volatility in the markets, and complicated hedging mechanisms. However, odd thing start to happen ...Hoffman receives unlooked for gifts, and is then attacked in his own home. And that is just the start...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once a book has met my expectations for research and plot layers, I assess the preocupation it creates in my daily work and life. How often do I think about returning to the story; how frequently do I want to see what happens next? This one did it for me. That is, until the end. But perhaps there can be a sequel...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fascinating adventure about a brilliant intellectual, a decent man, who has found a way to determine the motivations of those who invest. Lurking though, are those who would manipulate his capabilities to suit their own purpose of limitless wealth. A stunning psychological study of the nature of duplicity. Engaging from beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DianeA More than 1 year ago
Hooked from page one, I never once lost interest in the Fear Index. The perfect algorithm of money, murder and mystery resulted in a marvelous read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago