The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie-the-Pooh

The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie-the-Pooh

Hardcover(75TH ANNIVERSARY)

$40.50 $45.00 Save 10% Current price is $40.5, Original price is $45. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie-the-Pooh 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I may seem too old to read Winnie the Pooh, but I think no one's to old to join in to the bear that loves honey. Escape from the Disney version for a while (even though the '77 version is good) and take in Winnie the Pooh in literature. There's more to Pooh than meeets the eye. There is a deep phllisocphical significance behind it: finding happiness in the simplest things and finding ways to solve your problems and just be happy. A.A. Milne was a genius when it came to that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is beautifully bound and presented, the printing is large and clear, great for young readers and middle aged readers with bad eyes alike! The illustrations are delightful, and my 7 year old daughter and I love to sit together and read the book before bedtime. It came as a shock to her to learn that Walt Disney didn't invent Winnie The Pooh, and there is no skateboard riding girl called Darby, and definitely no baseball caps in the REAL Winnie The Pooh! My Mum and Dad read this to me as a child 50 years ago, and I am getting as much pleasure as my daughter is out of rediscovering the delightful stories and wonderfully crafted English of AA Milne!
quaintlittlehead on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Winnie-the-Pooh books were written more to please adults than children, but they succeed time after time on both counts. Part of their appeal is that they cast the child, Christopher Robin, in the role of a grown-up; in the Hundred Acre Wood, he is the knowledgeable expert on all things. At the same time, they allow adults to capture their childhood in the other characters, providing a filter through which we can look on with melancholy at the prospect of Christopher Robin growing up and leaving this part of his life behind. The stories provide not only escapism for the adult looking to return to the simpler thoughts and values of his youth, but comfort for the parent watching wistfully as their child grows from three to six and beyond, knowing that it won't last forever but that somehow, a part of it will always be there in memory. The stories themselves are also so extraordinary in their observational window on the childhood mind; the things that happen to Pooh and his friends are the kind of adventures one sees when young logic goes awry, rather than being explicitly didactic and moralising. Each character has his own faults, which are never criticised, but simply dealt with in a quiet, tolerant, and characteristically English way. Pooh is never chastised for his tubbiness, or Piglet for his cowardice, or Rabbit and Owl for their snootiness, or Eeyore for his pessimism, or Tigger for his careless exuberance; somehow, all of these things are just part of who these individuals are, and in no way hinder them from accomplishing Very Grand Things.
kaelin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a funny book. I've read it lots of times.
kcollett on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You're never too young to have Milne read aloud to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Complete Tales and Poems of Winnie-the-Pooh, by A.A. Miline is a fantastic book for all readers, I give it five stars. There are also wonderful drawings by Ernest H. Shepard. He really knows how to make the characters of the Hundred Acre Wood come alive. Winnie-the -Pooh and all of his friends, Piglet, Eeyore, Owl, Rabbit, Tigger, Kanga, Roo, and the most important Christopher Robin, live in the Hundred Acre Woods together. Piglet is a Very Small Animal, and is scared of most things. Eeyore is a very gloomy donkey. Owl flies all over, and thinks he is smart. Rabbit is smart and he has lots of friends-and-relations. Tigger is a very bouncy animal. He likes to eat medicine. The medicine that he eats is really for Roo, (Roo is a baby kangaroo and lives with his mom, Kanga). Kanga is a kangaroo, she lives with two other people including Tigger and her son, Roo. Christopher Robin is a human boy and he takes care of all his friends, especially Pooh. One of my favorite chapters is the very first one in the book. It is called 'We are introduced to Winnie-the-Pooh and some bees, and the story begins.' It starts out with Christopher Robin dragging Pooh down the steps of his home. Then the narrator goes on and tells a story about all the characters in the Hundred Acre Woods. In the beginning, Pooh is trying to climb a tree so he can get some honey. He is having trouble getting up that high. Pooh then goes to Christopher Robin and asked him if he can borrow a balloon. Christopher Robin goes with Pooh to the tree with the beehive. Pooh attempts looking like a cloud. When this isn't working, Pooh asked Christopher robin to go home and get his umbrella, come back, and then say 'Tut,tut, it looks like rain!'-That is my favorite line of the whole book! I love this chapter, I even remember wacthing the episode as a child on T.V.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a very good and funny book. My favorite chapter is Pooh invents a new game and Eeyore joins in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember being read to from this book at an early age & enjoying it tremendously! I bought this to read to my grandson & hope he enjoys it as well!