The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible...on Schindler's List

The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible...on Schindler's List

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Boy on the Wooden Box: How the Impossible Became Possible . . . on Schindler's List 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 142 reviews.
EFHarris More than 1 year ago
Having endured the Nazi crucible of horror and deprivation, Leon Leyson emerged a man of extraordinary grace and tenderness. This slim memoir captures his unique voice and enormous spirit. It was my great privilege to meet the Leyson family when our children were quite young. A lasting friendship was forged. He is greatly missed. While he might have preferred to remain silent, Leon enriched many lives as he shared his story with quiet dignity. His book is a treasure for the ages. Kudos to everyone who made this publication possible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I would suggest this book to anyone. It is a very humbling read. It is amazing what this man and his family went through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although Leon describes the unthinkable horrors of the Holocaust, he also describes resiliency and bravery in both himself and his hero, Schindler. A must read to not only hear a survivor's story, but to honor all of the victims of the Holocaust and heroes like Schindler.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A reminder of both the horror and the beauty we as human beings can cause. Leon was a beautiful soul who shared his amazing story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To read this book is to glimpse both the unimaginable worst and humbling best of humanity. Leon's story does not detract with accusations or anger. Instead, in his beautifully straitforward prose, he describes the feeling of true hunger, the sensation, even years later, of remembering the moments he lost loved ones, and the day to day terrors of unchecked nazi brutality. But he also remembers his mother's gift to him of her last crust of bread, their unfailing tenacity to survive in deplorable mental and physical conditions, and the quiet comfort in stolen moments of kindess. Reading Leon's story will make you experience gratefulness, belief in the human will, and the hope that you can possess even a fraction of his decency.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The will to survive never ceases to amaze me. It is the strongest instinct we have. The courage and strength it must have taken to survive when it would have been so much easier to give up humbles and shames me. I stand in awe of this child and his fellow survivors and kneel in grief for those who were not as fortunate. This book has graphic violence and is roughly 110 pages long.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down.  It is a very honest and straightforward account of a young teen's experiences during the holocaust.  It really helped me understand what life was like before, during and after the war.  I cannot imagine having to live through the horrors that Leon experienced.  The story of his family's suffering and survival is inspiring.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A moving story that is almost as amazing for what happened to Leon AFTER the war as during it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The memoir The Boy on The Wooden Box by Leon Leyson is a great book. The book is informative and  is about the Holocaust in Poland. It is well worded and neither too fast or too slowly paced . It tells about the war from a different perspective as Leon was very young when it started. One thing I liked about the book was that it told about what happened before and after the war as well as during. In the book he talks about little things that happened or that people did that made a big impact on his life. I give this book 5 stars and would recommend.
gassiotgal More than 1 year ago
Wish everyone was required to read this story. It's amazing to see a child have this sort of strength and it was written so beautifully that you feel you are right next to him as he's reliving his experiences for us all to learn from.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story that is uplifting, sad, encouraging, harrowing, heart-warming, and true--what more could you ask. I found this book to be concise and well-written, and difficult to put down. I thought about this book and the people portrayed in it for days afterward. The book is for the "young adult" audience, which I had not realized when I bought it, but I am glad I didn't know that or I might not have bought it. Adults will also enjoy this book because of the story and the way it is presented as well as the life lessons between the lines. By the end of the book, I felt I knew this remarkable man and would have liked to know even more. I heartedly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was educational as well as well written. This book keeps your interest until the end. Anyone that thinks there was not a holocost should read this book by someone that lived it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr. Leyson's story is fascinating. It is simply written, with no unnecessary flourishes. I would recommend it for teens as well as adults
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is gripping. The imagery created by the author paints a very vivid account of this terrible part of history. This is a fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is a terrific retelling I the tragedies that took place in the holocaust. Leon Leyson suffers through many challenges in the years of this story. There are many exciting, yet cruel events in this memoir. From hiding in a shed for days to nearly being worked to death, Mr.Leyson is lucky to be alive and to tell us his magnificent story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. I couldn’t stop reading it. I never really thought of the Jews in the concentration camps at a personal level. They aren’t just a statistic. The Boy on the Wooden Box really hit hard. It showed the struggles of a young Jewish boy trying to survive the terror of the Nazi party. It wasn’t too slow, but it wasn’t too fast. It got me sweating at some points because it was so intense. Overall, I thought this was a great book, and I highly recommend it to people looking for a book.
Lillyana Torres More than 1 year ago
This book starts off so amazing and it always seems to keep you thinking. Each chapter makes you wonder about Leon's experiences and what he had to face and overcome. It is crazy to think about how such a thing has ever happened, but this book gives you an amazing inside of the story. Not only that but it is of a young child that guides you through his life as a Jewish boy during the war. He speaks so genuine and you can just picture every moment of the story. He describes in such detail how he had nothing and was saved by his hero Oskar Schindler and his list. How Schindler tricked and bribed his way through most situations and managed to say over a thousand Jews. He was a true hero and risked his life to do it for families like the Leyson's. I was supposed to read this book for a bookclub at school over a four week period but I simply couldn't put it down and finished in less than a week. It was a fabulous book and I'd read it a hundred times over. It is by far one of my favorite books and has unbeleivable storyline. I would recommend this book to all. It is a must read!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book very much. It kept mt interest from the first paragraph to the last picture. Gripping, honest and riveting. The unbelievable horror of how the Germans treated the Jews is depicted throughout. Beautiful story of Oscar Schindler and his heroism. Loved this book!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best memoirs I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good that i felt i was there with him
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a clear cut recitation of an ordinary person living through the worst of times. His pain, agony and losses I do not think I could have born. I was moved by his experiences and uplifted by his response. Everyone should read this.
Love-to-Read-in-CA More than 1 year ago
Though a short read, a very thorough understanding of what he, his family and others went through. I really enjoyed the account of his life during the Holocaust and what became of his life afterwards. I recommend this story if you are wanting a quick read and some background on what happened during the Holocaust. I would go so far as to say this would be a good book for middle school kids to read as it gives justenough info without being too graphic.