The A List (Ali Reynolds Series #14)

The A List (Ali Reynolds Series #14)

by J. A. Jance

Hardcover

$23.79 $27.99 Save 15% Current price is $23.79, Original price is $27.99. You Save 15%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 1

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The A List 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I always enjoy the Ali Reynolds books for their familiar locations and for Jance’s continued interest in current issues. A page turner. I read A List straight through
Anonymous 3 months ago
J.A. Jance is still a top notch mystery writer. This is the 14th book in the Ali Reynolds series, but it could stand on its own too. This book is so well written. It does a fantastic job of chronicling Ali’s life along with trying to stop a maniacal killer. I enjoyed seeing Frigg again. If you’ve never read any of the series, start here, and then go back and read the rest. They won’t disappoint. Keep up the great work. Always looking forward to the next in the series.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Excellent read
Anonymous 24 days ago
Wow!! What a disappointment. Save you’re money on this one. I’ve read all of the Ali Reynolds series and this one was a short story told in over 300 pages. Most of the book was repetitious, with about a third of the book devoted to repeating Ali’s history and the lives of past characters. Truly boring.
Anonymous 4 months ago
great+read
Anonymous 5 months ago
I have read many of her books but my favorite always are Allie and Sedona . I will be wait for another .
Anonymous 5 months ago
I+thought+this+series+had+already+topped+out.++I+was+wrong.++It+just+keeps+getting+better.++Stephanie+Clanahan+
Anonymous 6 months ago
As+always+an+enjoyable+read++Jance+just+gets+better+and+better++I+have+read+all+her+series+and+look+forward+to+the+next+one
Anonymous 6 months ago
Excellent as always!
KelsieAL 7 months ago
The A List by J. A Jance is book fourteen in her Ali Reynolds series, featuring a former newscaster turned cybersecurity specialist. I haven’t read any of the previous books in this series but had no problem following the story. The story is told from a present-day perspective with past references to round out the details. Dr. Edward Gilchrist is serving a life without parole prison sentence for murder. He has decided to take revenge on the individuals he feels had a hand in landing him in prison. He creates his A (Annihilation) list. High profile newscaster, Ali Reynolds is on that list. Ali has a target on her back because she reported the story that led to the doctor’s eventual downfall. The A List is a fast-paced dramatic ride. The plot is exciting and full of twists. The characters are dynamic. This is a smart addition to a successful series. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and rate it 5 out of 5 stars. My thanks to Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. However the opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine and mine alone.
CharlotteLynnsReviews 7 months ago
I’ve been in a funk. My reading has slowed down, I’ve struggled to find a book that I just raved about and couldn’t put down. J.A. Jance has broken my funk. I picked up The A List and hated to put it down. My neighbor likes to read also and I was raving about this book before I even finished it. Then when I finished it I told her she had to read it, she’s already pre-ordered it! So many women struggle with fertility issues and see doctors like Dr. Gilchrist. It made my heart hurt that a doctor would cut corners just to save money while playing with the lives of his patients. I admire Ali for taking on a story that could potentially end up affecting the lives of so many people. Yes, I realize this is fiction but it is okay to look up to characters for using the platforms they have to help others. I was horrified at Dr. Gilchrist’s nurses and receptionist but most especially his mother. There are ways to support and help your son, even when he is in prison, but oh my gosh, she takes it to a whole other level. I am hooked. J.A. Jance is a must-read author. The Ali Reynolds Series is a must have more of series. I loved that this book can be read as part of the series but it was also a standalone book.
3no7 7 months ago
“The A List” by J A. Jance is book fourteen in the series featuring Ali Reynolds. Regular readers will appreciate the reconnection with Reynolds’ past, and new readers will easily follow along because all the needed information is included in the context of the narrative. The book opens with a chilling prologue; prisoner 74506, sentenced to life without parole, seeks payback. He has a prison tattoo of his “A list,” those he will kill, and Ali Reynolds’ name is the last on the list. The narrative jumps back and forth in time as complications from Reynolds’ past come screaming to the present. The account fills in the backgrounds of both Reynolds and the key participants in one of the stories from her time as an investigative reporter in Los Angeles, the heart-wrenching tale of young man in need of a kidney transplant. Readers get an inside look as that story evolves into a complicated tale of DNA scandals, cover-ups, nightmare situations for multiple people, and a murder. “The A List” is not just a book with another case in the long career of an interesting continuing character. Jance created a new experience for readers by building on Reynolds’ past, one that pulls readers into the action. A compelling chronology of events develops the story piece by piece, and yet the umbrella of impending doom that Jance set up in the prolog hangs over every page. “The A List” is a riveting mixture of dark truths, current events, and collective fears; it is outstanding on every level. Jance is a superb storyteller and expertly weaves people, places, and time throughout the plot to produce a gripping story. I received a review copy of “The A List” from J. A. Jance and Simon & Schuster. Readers will not put it down until the last page is turned.
Anonymous 7 months ago
This work was written in an interesting manner. While not truly a mystery, it keeps the reader hooked because you want to know what happens next. You know who are the villains from the very beginning...the book details what they did and how they accomplished MOST of their evil plots. I enjoyed most of it, but didn't like a couple of the twists. It kept my imagination jumping which is great but somehow I felt like the person at the horror movie peeking through fingers because I really didn't want to see the negative parts. Overall, the book is well edited and the writer is excellent in making you see what she has pictured in her mind as the scene. Good job.
lee2staes 7 months ago
The A List by J.A. Jance is a suspenseful and highly intriguing mystery. It is an intricate drama with multiple scary characters and an extremely clever and thoroughly entertaining plot. I found this a really gripping book, particularly towards the end where the story unfurls from different angles and different time lines. It is well written and is a fascinating read that absolutely loved and highly recommend. I would like to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a review copy in exchange for my honest and unbiased opinion of it.
paytonpuppy 7 months ago
A wonderful addition to the Ali Reynolds series. I love the way Ms. Jance wrote this book as after a brief glance in to Ali’s current life, the story “goes back in time” and gives a back history of Ali from the time she was an on-air investigative reporter. One of the last stories she reported involved Ali helping a mother find a kidney donor for her son. As the story unfolds, it is believed that the doctor who did the insemination used his own sperm. Although the parents involved try to find evidence of wrong doing, this would not happen until years later. Danger will confront those who targeted the guilty doctor, for his illegal actions, as even from prison he has plans to make them pay with their lives. He has the initials of an “Annihilation” list tattooed on his arm and has help, from an unexpected source, on the outside to take care of these unsuspecting people. I have read every book in every series that Ms. Jance has written and she is one of my favorite authors. I can count on her “easy to read” writing style, an involved story that captures and holds my interest and characters that become like family to me. I can’t wait to see how she wraps up the case, while regretting that the book has to end. I received an advance review copy at no cost and without obligation for an honest review. (by paytonpuppy)
Anonymous 6 months ago
Just started and part of the story is weird, it says Ali is married to paul grayson?. And before that she is married to B simpson. What is up?