The 48 Laws of Power

The 48 Laws of Power

Paperback

$15.46 $25.00 Save 38% Current price is $15.46, Original price is $25. You Save 38%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The 48 Laws of Power 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 273 reviews.
Piano More than 1 year ago
Clearly its controversial but thats because you either get it or you don't. Extensive research and great examples from actual history plus it has Interpretation for each law, which makes it even easier to understand. This book also has fables to stimulate your mind and make you think. This author is sharp and entertaining. Each law makes sense and wether you like it or not, its the way the world works, there are crooks out there and this book is your best defense!!! I work in a place where there's clicks, its very social,...so when you work with all kinds of characters like I do, or any people business. Simply put, if you're around 50 people then thats 50 personalities and 50 different behaviors, and you need to be prepared and this book tells you how to handle any situations you could be faced with. Excellent book!!!
Ray_G_Weedy More than 1 year ago
I have not finished this book yet but so far it is very enjoyable! I love how the writer includes examples of the laws within history and by historic figues. Also the way the book is printed with little side stories and notes in the margins is awesome! I find it very fascinating and great for discussions. Some laws do not seem practical or amirable but are important to the topic none the less. I am interested in trying to apply some of these laws to my life and perhaps increase the quality of my life. I have been picked on and put down most of my life but perhaps this book will help me turn that around! It is somewhat inspirational.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very dissapointing all I had to do is read the Table of Content, which gave me a hint as to the overall substance of the book-Sure every one desires power but obtaining it through ruthless devices will squash you in the end every time-one review said it is not to be taken seriously...Are you serious? we live in a world that operates in the power of light and darkness every day- Hello, focus on the the law of sowing and reaping-and what about the law of reciprocity-power is self control- not to control others or gain the control by manipulation this is clearly deception (witchcraft) this violates one's own will- to posses influennce is to have true power ones integrity and love for one another I'd advise anyone to be up on their game for anyone they come in contact with that invests in the dark principles of these 48 laws in this book. If you must read it, eat the meat of the obvious in human nature, but make sure you spit out the bones!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This Book is a way of getting to know how some people truly are in the world. This book gives an idea of some changes that people can make in their lives. The biggest thing is to understand the book and to not take it literally.
watkd25 More than 1 year ago
Initially, I felt bad for buying this book and I felt worse when I started to read it. Whats important to understand though is that those who choose to read this book do so for 3 reasons (as is stated on the back cover of the book): People who are interested in power, those who watch power, and those who want to protect themselves from power. In my work experience, I have been characterized as someone who is "by the book." Time and again I have seen co-workers work less and get more credit for there "efforts." Or, I have been treated unfairly when I am really doing my job at times better than other co-workers. I feel that I am better off for reading this book for two reasons. First, I have difficulties reading social cues. Now that I have read this book, I feel like I will be able to decipher some, not all, of the hows and whys of human nature. Second, is that when dealing with people in the workforce I think I will be better able to catch some of the mischievous behavior faster by being one or two steps ahead and try to better protect myself. You have to realize that although people would frown upon a book written about acquiring power through: cunning, deceit, coercion, and other methods of behavior, this has happened throughout human history and presently and in the future it will continue to happen but not at the intensity that it once did as described in the book. Understand that as much as you may want to deny it, this is the way the world works and although you may not want to acquire power, like myself, you need to protect yourself from people who have no problem walking over you to acquire it. Arm yourself today by picking up a copy and reading it all the way through. This has helped reduce some of my idealism and boosted my pragmatism. I anticipated reading this book in one week but took longer because of its density. Be prepared to spend quite a bit of time getting through the book. The book was penalized one point for contradictory principles throughout. I have recorded 372 words, terms, people, books, or historical events that will require reviewing in a dictionary or by reviewing online. Keep a dictionary close by. I plan on reading Robert Greene's two of three other books: "The 33 Strategies of War" and "Mastery".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well I like the concept and ideas, the interpretation gives you the ideas and your wisdom should be used when and if envoked. We can all read a books like the bible and have good and bad reviews. This book, is not for you probably, if you are working at Mcdonalds or a non politicized environment ie teacher, student, etc. But in boardrooms and crab-barrell enviroments sometimes you got to do what you must to prosper or survive!
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is manipulation, control, and self-serving force... follow and lose your own soul... its value may be in showing some of the tactics the soulless may use to control and manipulate... so in this it gives wisdom and protection to the naive, but I would not follow it... thus becoming another dog in a dog eat dog world...
EJayy More than 1 year ago
This book is INCREDIBLE! When you read it with an open mind, and don't automatically jump to conclusions about Robert Greene's intentions in writing it, you can learn a lot about how people have taken advantage of you in your life, how you can protect yourself, and how you can use these strategies to improve your status in the world, past, present, or future! It gets a bad rap because of the style it was written in.... This is a sad thing, because a lot of people could benefit from the stories and lessons in this book (as well as lessons in his other books). This book was 100% fascinating; every story provides a clear and unique insight into strategies of historical leaders, everyone from Galileo to Richard Nixon. It also explains how each of the laws was used in those stories, as well as examples of what happens when you break them,,, Shame on anyone judging others for educating themselves. This book is an incredibly practical guide to 'moving up' in the world. And despite all of the claims people make about how ALL 48 laws are 'evil', 'negative', etc, most of the laws are fairly neutral. What I mean by neutral is they are like any other tool; a hammer can build things or kill someone, etc. It is all up to the tool's user. I'd much rather have a world where everyone knows these laws (and therefore can protect themselves) vs a world of 99.99% percent of people don't even know this kind of thing exists (and are therefore more susceptible to it)! Great book though, I listened through the audiobook twice in the month that I've had it!
EvieCA More than 1 year ago
I love a book that can show me a VERY different way of looking at things. I enjoyed it very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read numerous reviews of this book and have been amused greatly by those who admonish us to give up these "immoral" pursuits. I have lived and been witness to the principles outlined in this, and Robert Greene's other works so many times but nowhere have I found these principles articulated so clearly or illustrated so well as in Robert Greene's fantastic works. If you have ever wonder why some people seem to get what they want all the time, or have once been convinced that there was more to this life than what you have achieved right at this moment whether material or otherwise, then this book will help you get it...if you have the strength of will and spirit to go out into the world and take it. Power is not immoral. Power is a means to an end. The end may very well be moral or immoral, but that's up to an individual to decide for themselves.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you want to know how the world really works, and how humans really behave, read THIS book. This book should be read early in life and often. An excellent reference manual for life, whether you are interested in power or not.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Truth for the person looking to take true control of someone and or something in their life. This book is not for younger readers because of the fact it's impossible not to want to practice. It will give you an independent new found confidence to crush anyone or thing that gets in your way. should be labeled as the, 'SECOND BIBLE'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stumbled across a somewhat controversial book called 48 Laws Of Power. It just struck my interest because it is oddly one of the most popular books ever among prisoners. In short 48 Laws Of Powers is a book that goes over how to gain control and power over the minds of individuals. It constantly preaches controversial themes such as keeping your enemies closer than your friends and to never fully instill faith in your friends, as they will take advantage of you even more than your enemies ever will. It also emphasizes less controversial ideas such as always approaching situations in life as you would if you were playing a game—in a calm and calculated manner. Often times people let their emotions cloud their judgement and even though someone may seem intimidating during their rage of anger, they are truly weak because they have lost their sense of control in that moment. Themes like this make the book very interesting to read and contribute to the widespread acclaim around it. The book has a table of contents section before the readings that explain to the reader each of the 48 Laws Of Power and the page number that provides further elaboration for the law. It was unique to me in that I could easily navigate to the laws that pertained to me, rather than just reading the entire book in one piece because it is a long and intense read if you read it all at once.
zen_923 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. I am looking forward to reading 33 strategies of war also by robert greene..
ieJasonW on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great book not because of any particularly valuable insight but rather because Greene does a wonderful job summarizing the insights of others. This book should be read slowly, digested over time. There is too much information in it to be read quickly, in say, a weekend. Read a chapter. Think about how it applies to your life. Try breaking the rule - or obeying it until you get to absurdities. Try them on family members or strangers. I think, over time, you'll see that many of the laws are very useful. I should say, too, that the book is very dry. It reads almost like a textbook. For those that are looking to learn - this is a plus. For others, you might struggle finding the motivation to finish the text.
Quintuslocutaest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If Darth Vader had written The Dark Side for Beginners, this is what it would look like. The 48 Laws of Power by Robert Greene and Joost Elffers is a carefully crafted quilt of advice, supported by classical citations, for becoming a modern day Machiavellian prince.Here is a small example:¿OPPONENTS, SUCKERS, AND VICTIMS: Preliminary TypologyIn your rise to power you will come across many breeds of opponent, sucker, and victim. The highest form of the art of power is the ability to distinguish the wolves from he lambs, the foxes from the hares, the hawks from the vultures. If you make this distinction well, you will succeed without needing to coerce anyone too much. But if you deal blindly with whomever crosses you path, you will have a life of constant sorrow, if you even live that long. Being able to recognize types of people, and to act accordingly, is critical. The following are the most dangerous and difficult types of mark in the jungle, as identified by artists¿con and otherwise¿of the past.¿The sidebar directly beside the above paragraph reads: ¿When you meet a swordsman, draw your sword: do not recite poetry to one who is not a poet.¿Mr. Robert Greene is a classicist of the highest caliber, and he left no major classical work unnoticed as he gleaned that rich field of human knowledge. Although admittedly one-sided, dark-sided, a person can gain an admirable command of a deeply interesting part of Classical Studies by perusing the 452 pages of Mr. Greene¿s The 48 Laws of Power.The only criticism I might have is the title. As one reads this profoundly fascinating book, the astute will discover in short order that the `laws¿ are not laws at all. Many of them conflict with each other, so I feel it would have been more accurate to call them The 48 GUIDELINES of Power. However, I admit, with such an unbeguiling title as I suggest, Mr. Greene's book would not have most likely become a National Bestseller, so I can forgive him that.
Jaylabelle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cunning, ruthless, timeless, instructive and an excellent history lesson. But don't take them too seriously, or you just might turn into Napoleon or Machiavelli.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have recommended this book to almost everyone I know. Im a college student that loves history and a good read. This book supplies me with both. I'm 20 years old with alot of ambition. I don't see these "48 Laws" as rules and guidlines that need to be followed but helpful advice to gain power and to guard yourself from it. Plus I love the words of wisdom found throughout the book as you read. My favorite quote from tthis book is "A person who cannot control is words, cannot control himself and is unworthy of respect". I found a lot of the advice to be true in this book. Despite the horrible reviews from some individuals about this book, take the chance and read it for yourself. Remember "Don't judge a book by its cover" or by reviews. I bought this book at 19 and I'm still reading it over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
makes you wander how many people are using the skills in this book love this book would recommend to any one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book would be more of a "How-To" in terms of getting power. Instead, what it is seems to be more of a long-winded history lesson. The research is quite in-depth, and it reads quite easily, but the teachings on how to accumulate power simply don't apply to modern-day life. Whether or not a general in some army burned the horns of cattle at night to give the appearance of more men to scare his enemy does not help me figure out how to gain power. Yes, it's fun to try to apply the teachings in this book to your life, but the simple fact is that it just doesn't work. It's a great read, and it's entertaining, but it's not going to help Joe Everyday get a leg up on the competition at his 9-5 cubicle job.
rchj98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting, but a little unorganized and the flow is very choppy
squarespiral on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Two points only for the content - though the stories are quite entertaining - one additional star for the editor and the beautiful typesetting. Look at it and enjoy the historical stories but don't expect much enlightenment about the 'laws of power'.
jpsnow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Powerful, to the extent it's almost evil. But it's practical and also interesting history filled with worthy anecdotes. The cigar-smoking escapee from Mcarthyism was shared three times and a few of the examples seemed a bit contrived, but all in all, this Elffers production is a great piece of work. It makes top shelf.
ablueidol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting idea with lots of illustrative stories and example of the principles. It does make the reader reflect on why did x fail and y succeed. But not sure if it wanted to be an academic review of power or a series of popular histories of power. Useful to name types of power plays for the ones we see in the office. It does tend to see power as being in the person rather then an interaction between the leader, environment and followers. It makes the same mistake of any mono-paradigm in assuming that human interactions can only be understood from one perspective. Hence can be over cynical but if linked to strategies of influence then more useful. But repetitive and once read...so what?
ZenoIzen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My copy of this book is almost entirely worn out. I am no more powerful now than the day I bought this book, but I am a whole lot less stupider. Anyone could benefit from this book. It does not teach the principles of megalomania so much as a kind of common sense that is a whole lot less common than it ought to be.In addition to that, the wide range of historical anecdotes used to illustrate the "laws" make the book worth reading over and over again. This is an entertaining and enlightening book. Definitely a must have for anyone who does not want their life to be the kicktoy of random events.