Tempt Me at Twilight (Hathaways Series #3)

Tempt Me at Twilight (Hathaways Series #3)

by Lisa Kleypas

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - First Edition)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tempt Me at Twilight (Hathaway Series #3) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 283 reviews.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Jay Harry Rutledge has spent his life pursing his own singular achievements both monetarily and positional in life. He has through his own perseverance become a successful hotel owner and earned the respect of proper London society as well as his employees. What he had no time for love or affection as none had even been given to him from either his parents or partners. Everything in life was as it should be until the day he set his eyes on one Poppy Hathaway and nothing would ever be the same. In the chaotic Hathaway family Poppy was the calm and quiet one that always managed to keep a level head and her feet on the ground. She wanted to find love and thought she had but the man of her dreams turned into a nightmare when he decided his title and inheritance were more important than love. But when Poppy decided she would never marry Harry decides she is the one he wants to marry and moves everyone and everything aside to achieve this goal and secure her as his wife. Poppy feels he is not the man for her and reminds Harry of this often enough even after she agrees to marry him. He promises her diamonds, carriages and everything her heart desires but makes it perfectly clear he will never love her - desire her yes but love is not on the table. After they are married when too many cold nights and lonely days prove more than she can handle alone Poppy takes refuge with her family. But there is much conspiring amongst Harry's employees who help to up the ante and make sure that Harry not only explores his feelings for Poppy but make they are known to everyone. Poppy runs and Harry pursues and when he finally catches her it is his heart that is bursting with emotion that even Harry can't completely comprehend but willingly accepts. The Hathaway's are an amazing, emotional and wild bunch that are so entertaining and fill the books with such excitement. But it is the calm that Poppy brings to her story that really delights the reader because she is so dear and has an open heart for everyone that you want true love for her. You almost feel she may have missed her chance but with Harry's true character comes out it is pure magic. This book has such a high wow factor that you truly slow down your reading pace to make sure you can extend this as long as possible.
OpheliaTX More than 1 year ago
Lisa Kleypas once again brings to life the Hathaway family. And what a delightful group they are! This time we get Poppy's story. Poppy is in love with her longtime beau and is in hopes of an engagement. Enter Harry Rutledge, ruthless hotelier, who takes one look at Poppy and decides to make her his, at any cost. Harry would appear to be the villain but as the story unfolds and he and Poppy get closer you realize that he is a wounded soul and of course Poppy can't help but fall in love with him. This is the perfect love story with the bonus of catching up with the rest of the Hathaway family. Be sure not to miss the first two installments, Mine Till Midnight and Seduce Me At Sunrise. Lisa Kleypas is a master romance writer you can count on to entertain with every page.
readtolive_livetoread More than 1 year ago
Some books just feel comfortable all over. One of my favorite things about Lisa Kleypas is that her novels all make me feel that way. This novel was a resounding success...appealing characters, laugh out loud moments and tangible affection. Kleypas does her homework. The clothing, the homes, the food, the dances...everything is thoroughly researched and integrated in such a way as to not appear as random factoids of information. Very lush and rich settings, that put the reader right smack dab in the middle of the story. Poppy was precious, and I loved her, but when I read a romance novel, I want to love and remember the hero above all else. The book is a winner on my shelf.
TrinaS More than 1 year ago
Overall this book was a good read. It was a bit of a slow begining, but once you get to the halfway point it picks up. I'm a Kleypas fan and while this wasn't on my top 10 of her books it was worth the read.
naomiloves More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book in the Hathaway series so far. Harry Rutledge is a bit closer to my favorite Kleypas Heroes then Cam and Merripen from the first two books are. He's more devious, cunning and mysterious. You never truly know what you are going to get from him or who he is. The story is told well, has quirky moments and is really romantic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the first romance novels I ever read, very unforgetable series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in one night. I could not stop to put it down. Poppy was a likable herione from the beginning. The storyline of Harry being the vliian who eventually falls in love with was fun. Of course the rest of the Hathaways are always fun to read about. I highly recommend this book.
Midlothianreader More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was sad when it wa over. I read it in one night (well, into the next morning). I can't wait until the next book in this series
onyx95 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
London, 1852 Three seasons and still the only prospect of marriage for Poppy Hathaway was a man (Mr. Michael Bayning)who had still not told his father that he wanted to court her. The love letters between the two of them promised marriage, but shortly after being kissed by Mr. Harry Rutledge, the elusive owner of the Rutledge hotel, she was informed that there was no way Michael¿s father would ever consent to their being wed. Knowing what he wanted and then getting it was a regular task for Harry and this would be no different. There was something about Poppy, who had stumbled upon one of his secret passageways and then had shown interest in his private collection. He had to have her as his wife, no matter how he had to get her.Book 3 ¿ Lisa Kleypas has a grasp on historicals that leaves even the most mundane of characters one that you want to watch for again and again. I really enjoyed the inclusion of all the other Hathaways (and husbands). I was not sure about how much I would like Poppy¿s story but Harry was a fabulous character and made it easy to like it. While definitely not my favorite Hathaway, Harry is the best villain I have seen in a long time. I also really enjoyed the Catherine Marks parts of the story and am eager to hear more of her story and to see how Lisa Kleypas can give young Beatrix something more than just her critters.
Jenson_AKA_DL on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Of all the Hathaway sisters Poppy had always been considered the most ladylike. Unfortunately after three seasons out with no husband to show for it, Poppy had started to think that being the most normal of the Hathaways really wasn't acceptably normal at all. Even her secret love, Michael, was embarrassed to tell his father about his intentions to someone so far below his class. When Dodger the Ferret gets hold of one of Michael's love letters to Poppy she is determined to find the animal before he wrecks everything. Instead, she is led into a secret passage which hides the secret rooms of reclusive hotel owner, Harry Rutledge. Harry has only ever known hard work and ambition, neither of which ever touches his heart. When faced with the captivating Poppy Hathaway he is determined to win her over, even if it means ruining her secret love affair and marrying her to do it.I almost always adore Ms. Kleypas' historical romances and this one continues that tradition. The characters of both Poppy and Harry were very engaging and I even enjoyed the glimpses we get of past and future couples (I'm very much looking forward to Leo and Catherine's story!) This was a very hard book to put down and moved swiftly. I do find myself kind of skimming the love scenes because although she writes steamy interludes, they all seem pretty similar book to book. Frankly what I like best about her books are the characters and the story, everything else is just a bonus anyway.Another very lovely entry into the Hathaway series and this author continues her reign as my most favorite historical romance author.
reesa00 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Parts of this book were incredible but it felt very disjointed at times. I loved Poppy and Harry and wish they had more time together outside of "the big conflict". I think this book can grow on me in time... A lot of setup in this book for the next book which always annoys me. I'm really looking forward to Beatrix's book though, her character development in this series has been very strong.
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was alright, once it got going. The Hathaways are an eccentric family, raised to the ton through a fluke death of a distant relative, and Poppy is the heroine of this one. She's quirky - smart, well-read and too talkative for an unmarried woman to be accepted by the ton.Harry, an American inventor and owner of the hotel where Poppy and her family are staying in London, meets Poppy by chance, and is quickly enchanted by her intelligence, humor and frankness. Through some sneakiness on Harry's part, Poppy's secret intended, a minor member of the nobility, is forced to stop seeing her (and scrap their plans of marriage), and Harry steps in to offer for her.While I practically swooned over Harry's desire for Poppy (and williness to speak of it), I found myself infinitely more interested in the tension and chemistry between Poppy's older brother and Poppy's companion, a mysterious young woman with a secret tie to Harry.Light and romantic, but I'm more interested in the next in the series...
bhryk0 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book very much it was very easy to read.Poppy Hathaway met Harry Rutledge while staying at his hotel and when he met her he was smitten and had to have her. At the time she was hoping to become betrothed to another man but Harry saw to that and asked Poppy to marry him and she did against her families wishes. The Hathaway family is fun to read about and it was good to meet the other members again.
mschweer432 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! So far, I'm three for three with the Hathaway series!! I've heard others say this was their least favorite. That they didn't like Harry and felt sorry for Poppy. I was sort of opposite. I felt so sorry for Harry. It was clear to me that he was a great match for Poppy even from the beginning of the book. I was a little irritated with Poppy. But not so much so that I didn't really enjoy the book. I loved the tension that is building with Leo and Miss Marks. I love how I still get to see the characters who were in books one and two. I also loved how there is some suspense to the book that doesn't only have to do with Harry and Poppy. It keeps the book interesting! I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to get started on the next in the series!
avernon1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
We all know and are attracted (even if we don't admit it) to that villain of a man, the seemingly cold-hearted, manipulative hunk who, underneath the layers of bravado, just wants and needs to be held, to be wanted, to be loved. Harry Rutledge is such a man in the third installment of the Hathaways series, TEMPT ME AT TWILIGHT.Harry is the reclusive, handsome, American born owner of the prestigious London hotel, The Rutledge. He is a self-made man and one of the richest in London as well as one of the most mysterious, hence his instantanious attractiveness to all women. He is notorious for his shrewd business sense, his manipulative nature and ruthless determination to get whatever he wants. And what he wants...... is Poppy Hathaway. Poppy is beautiful, intelligent, with a love for life that is engrossing. She wants a normal, predictable, peaceful life, which, of coarse, does not happen when your last name is Hathaway. Staying at the Rutledge Hotel during the season, Poppy believes she has found her true love in Michael Bayning, a young man secretly courting her, witholding a proposal due to his fears that his father will not approve of the match. But if a man truly loves a woman, nothing would stop him from having her. As Harry tells Poppy,"You were courted by a boy, who had to do as he was told." His hot breath feathered against her lips as he whispered, "You should try it with a man, who needs no one's permission."Nothing will stop Harry from getting what he wants, especially not a young buck like Michael Bayning. A little bit of manipulation and maneuvering, and Harry has Poppy where he wants her....in a very uncompromising position that could ruin her reputation forever. But what will happen when Poppy discovers that she is married to the villain, a man who manipulates people with his power and money.....a man who doesn't tell her the whole truth.As the story progresses, Poppy comes to accept Harry for who he is, and in doing so, offers him the love he so desperately wanted and needed his whole life. Harry finally comes to realize and accept that he is deserving of love and that he is capable of loving. Little did he know that Poppy was the woman he was waiting for his whole life, the one who would make him laugh, intrigue him, beguile him, adore him....the one who would unleash in him a profound love that he could no longer contain.¿I have so much love for you, I could fill rooms with it. Buildings. You¿re surrounded by it wherever you go, you walk through it, breathe it...it¿s in your lungs, and under your tongue, and between your fingers and toes...¿ His mouth moved passionately over hers, urging her lips apart. It was a kiss to level mountains and shake stars from the sky. It was a kiss to make angels faint and demons weep...a passionate, demanding, soul-searing kiss that nearly knocked the earth off its axis. Or at least that was how Poppy felt about it. "This is another great Lisa Kleypas story. It has it all.... villainous hero, lovable heroine, hot and heavy love scenes, humourous dialogue, and charming secondary characters. I have loved this quirky Hathaway family from the beginning in MINE TILL MIDNIGHT. The author keeps us laughing with the return of the familiar, unconventional family members whom I have come to know and love so well. The author's revelations about Catherine and the obvious growing attraction between her and Leo is enough to make me run to the nearest book store. Thank god for the internet and ebooks.....with the push of a button, I am already engrossed in the next Hathaway love affair.
musicmymuse on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the Hathaway Series, I have read the previous two books, and so far this is my favorite book. I look forward to reading the next two books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. It was funny and enchanting. Loved the characters immensely
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love the Hathaway’s. I’ve read each more than once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and just what I needed to escape reality.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The emotions and far reaching consequences of an abused child are heartbreaking and were well dealt with in this novel. I agree with all of the other positive reviews written here. LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago