Tears of the Giraffe (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #2)

Tears of the Giraffe (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #2)

Audiobook(CD)

$77.75 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tears of the Giraffe (The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #2) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 154 reviews.
willownme More than 1 year ago
I am more than ever excited about this series. It really brings me into Botswana Africa. The characters are wonderful and fun to follow through all thier adventures.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a superb story McCall Smith tells in Tears of the Giraffe, and how beautifully he tells it. His No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series is fast becoming one of my favorites. Simply told, gently written, and charming in its descriptions of the people and places in the Botswana of Precious Ramotswe, makes McCall Smith's approach to storytelling unique and refreshing. Mma Precious Ramotswe, Botswana's only woman detective, and owner of the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, has agreed to marry Mr J.L.B. Matekoni, proprietor of Tlokweng Road Speedy Motors. However, Mr J.L.B. Matekoni's maid, Florence Peko, is not at all happy with the news and conjures up some plans of her own for Mma Ramotswe. The main plot surrounds Mma Ramotswe's search for the son of an American woman who had been missing for ten years. The woman, Andrea Curtin, does not expect her son to be alive, but she does want to know what happened to him. Mrs (no period) Curtin's husband is now dead, and all previous efforts to find her son have failed, so she pays a visit to the agency. Add to that the troubles of Mr Letsenyane Badule who wants to know if his wife is having an affair, and we have the thrust of the book. Then there are the orphans, two of whom become very important in the lives of Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Its simple, straight-forward language, and its portrayal of the qualities of the Batswana (refers to the people), kept me enthralled. I was particularly struck by the fact that Mma Ramotswe and Mr J.L.B. Matekoni were always referred to by this formal reference. More familiar forenames were never used. My only concern in reading this book was whether or not I was pronouncing names and places correctly-places like the Makadikadi Salt Pans, the town of Molepolole, and the names Tlokweng, Letsenyane and Sonqkwena, to name a few. If you read it, you will love it. Carolyn Rowe Hill
Guest More than 1 year ago
A fast flowing story set in Africa, Tears of the Giraffe is one of the best books I have read. With good values expressed through characters that are lively, this book showed a beautiful side of Africa, where commitment is held sacred, where love is deep and hospitality is the norm. Fast paced and hilarious, this book hooked me all the more to the No.1 Ladies' Detective Agency.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Apprentices den
bealsinsd More than 1 year ago
Every bit as good as the first of the series. Simple, funny, memorable characters and prose. I recommend this series to all the readers I know. I tell them it is the African equivalent of 'Murder, She Wrote', one of my favorite TV series of all time. Smith's straight-forward style is endearing, and lets the characters do the heavy lifting.
Sarah Swanson More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed book one, but Tears if the Giraffe had more emotion, plot twists and cultural insights. A touching book.
berit More than 1 year ago
Open the book and step away from who you are and where you are. This book is the second in the series and in the first book you are introduced to the characters with a few simple plots to be solved. In this, the second book, you are finding the characters to be a little more complex and the detective work even more challenging. You can almost feel the sun on your skin and the warmth of the breezes as you step away from home and into Africa. The characters are lovable and interesting, without a dull day amongst them. The book is both a study of compassion and of the land in which the story takes place. Reading this book has brought laughter and tears and a strong desire to step away and into Africa. Beautifully written and I am definately compelled to finish the series. I am reading the third in the series now. I think I shall miss them when I have read them all. Thanks goodness I bought the books, as I think that I will start over from the beginning one day. For, one day, I may need a journey into Africa again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You still have the read the first one to get all the background on her family and Daddy, but the second one really kicks this series into high gear!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another sweet story. I love the change of pace and look forward to becoming better acquainted with the characters in the next books.
Heduanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm gaining more respect for McCall Smith's approach. It's light, undemanding, but absolutely not a waste of any time at all: he's working little bits of African history, African culture, philosophy, etc. through the whole thing, and he does it masturfully. I think this might be my go-to ¿I need a break, but don't want to feel guilty afterwards¿ series.
xicanti on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the second volume of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series, Mma. Ramotswe deals with her upcoming marriage as she tackles some more cases.This was a very pleasant, enjoyable book. The author's love of Botswana and its people shines through on every page. The book is as much a celebration of Africa as it is a detective story, and it makes for some heartwarming reading.McCall Smith has approached his plot a little differently with this second installment of the series. The first book read like a set of interconnected short stories; this one has a much more definite flow to it. The story centres around Mma. Ramotswe's upcoming marriage as she deals with housing, husbandly concerns and the issue of children.It's these personal concerns that form the backbone of the book, not the detective agency's cases. These fade into the background,to a certain extent; there are only two of them this time around, with one carrying through the entire book and the other inserted as a subplot. There is slightly more emphasis on detection than there was in the first book, but the cases still rely mostly on intuition and Mma. Ramotswe's knowledge of human nature. There are very few clues, so the reader isn't really able to unravel the mysteries alongside the heroine. The book is far from a traditional mystery; I'd recommend it more to fans of stories that deal with human concerns than to readers of traditional detective fiction.All in all, this was a good read. If you liked the first book, I'm sure you'll enjoy this one.
pbirch01 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After enjoying the first book in the series, I was excited to read Tears of the Giraffe. The second book is very similar to the first book in terms of its pacing and narrative. Both plots seem to pass slowly under the Botswana sun while the actual physical book goes by very quickly. Smith takes a slightly different tack in this book by using it as a quasi-soapbox. Smith, through his characters, rants a lot about youth of today and their lack of morals. It is never clear who he is directing this to as most of the comments are from the characters inner thoughts. Smith also adds many superfluous details and it almost seems that he is showing off his knowledge of Africa. In a light read such as this, the preachy tone quickly becomes tiring and makes me think twice if I want to read the third book in the series.
Djupstrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun series. It makes me want to up and go to Botswana!
bibliophile26 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the No. 1 Ladies Detective series. Mma Ramotswe and her mechanic fiancé make arrangements concerning their engagement and marriage, including where they are going to live and Mma¿s engagement ring. This book reads more like a novel rather than a collection of cases, but it was still enjoyable.
ruthich on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The 2nd in the series and just, if not more, enjoyable. Rather a poignant story this one, about a white woman trying to solve the mystery of her son's death (or is it disappearance, it's been a while!) many years ago. This is one of my favourites in the whole series. I really felt more part of the Botswana countryside and felt the people came out more.
Ice9Dragon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've been listening to this tale as I drive and fly and sometimes as I go to sleep at night. I'm not sure what is more entrancing, the lyrical voice of the narrator or the sweet prose of the author. The music and the dust, the heat and the pulse, the pace and poetry of the life in Botswana,I'm in love with all of it. I can taste the dust in my mouth and feel the heat blister my skin. No author has painted the people and a place with more enticing artifice.The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency has me enthralled with the simple stories that ring so true. Pain talk and simple themes, but so much love, and life...in Africa.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Things are changing for Mma Ramotswe, but she takes them all in her stride. It is a pleasure to read about her unflappable wisdom, her caring heart and those around her who love her so.
readingrat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is more of a character driven story than you usually find in a traditional cozy mystery story, which is probably why I like this series better than I like most cozy mystery series.
seoulful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another heartwarming addition to Alexander McCall Smith's series on the dramas and mysteries surrounding the No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency of Gaborone, Botswana. We are pulled into the conflict between the languid, mannered rituals of old Botswana and the new materialistic values of the rising generation as we watch Mr J.L.B. Matekoni's inability to understand his lazy assistants at the mechanic shop and our heroine Mma Ramotswe's sadness in dealing with rampant infidelity in marriages and other assorted problems of morality as she goes about her work. Written with gentle humor and insightful character development.
hpalmete on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After reading the first book in this series I couldn't wait to read this second installment. Invariably in this situation I end up disappointed but I am happy to report that this was not the case here!. The descriptions of Botswana (which I would have skimmed over mercilessly in any other book) were as remarkable as ever and Mma Ramotswe was an even more engaging character than in the first novel.The storytelling style differs slightly in this book but I found myself pleased with the results. The stories of the cases in the first book were no more than vignettes really. In this second novel the cases have more depth and even take more than one afternoon for Mma Ramotswe to solve. I enjoyed this tweaked style a great deal.
Yukikon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I could not stop reading this book because I really wanted to know where the story would go and know the truth of the mystery. It is a detective story but there is much more to this story. I am so busy and have got lots of things to do that I can forget considerration for others. I think I should keep in mind that I cannot live without others.
Neale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Slightly better than the first in the series. Starting to offer more possibilities. An enjoyable read.
ini_ya on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very good read. Like the nice gentle pace of all his books read so far. Good descriptions of Africa.
jayne_charles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is my favourite of the series. Written in the same direct, readable style as the others, with a series of simple mysteries, some of which you will guess and some of which you will not. The ending of chapter 16, where Precious says grace, had me in tears. This, and the reaction of the ever-initialled Mr JLB, were written with incredible simplicity, and I think this is what makes them so powerful.
elsyd on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first book by this author, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like a book that, while entertaining you, offers a real look into something new or into a new place. Very informative.