Taken

Taken

by Rebecca Zanetti

Paperback

$12.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Taken 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Ms. Zanetti sells readers on characters that you can't help buy into. I'm now invested in these people and can't wait for the next payout in story lines. Love love love her writting and the world she creates for me to escape to. THANK YOU REBECCA ZANETTI!
Anonymous 6 months ago
It was little raw for me but it's a good story.
Anonymous 3 months ago
writing is adequate and characters are somewhat developed but a bit rushed. put a lot of interest and development into a side character who then was out for the resolution part of the story.... feels mire like it was rushed tp be finised so some of the more interesting parts got sidelined abruptly andthen we were thrown into te chase and resolution.
Anonymous 4 months ago
People who constantly use filthy language have a low IQ and poor vocabulary. Loved the characters in this book
Anonymous 4 months ago
LynnB888 10 months ago
An action packed adventure! Next up in Rebecca Zenetti's newest Deep Ops series is a fast paced novella. Two former loves are drawn together to help an old friend. She turned her back on the relationship years ago, but neither of them could forget the other ... their first love ... their only love ... the one they still can't get out of their hearts. Hunter Holt would do anything to help Miss Angelina ... even if it means pairing up with the woman who tore his heart out when she left. Faye Smith sets out to look for a missing foster teen that Miss A took in, but in doing so reconnects with Hunter and Raider from her youth. Uncovered secrets make for an interesting story!
Karenag 11 months ago
Let me just say that I am a fan of Rebecca Zanetti and her Dark Protectors and Sin Brothers series. This one not so much. I don’tknow if it’s because it’s a novella so the characters are not as developed as in her other books or what. I just didn’t feel a connection. That being said, the writing is very good and the story line is there, but I just didn’t feel like it was as developed as her other stories are. I will continue reading this series to see if I like it better and I would recommend this author. Thanks to netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity of giving a honest review.
RobinLovesReading More than 1 year ago
Hunter Holt and Faye Smith both have reason to run. However, for now, they both must work together to help locate a missing foster child. Working together certainly is not easy, as they once had a chance to be together. Now, several years have fast and the two must work together, along with Hunter's Deep Ops team to find the child, as well as the brother that he never knew. This second chance story was an excellent read. Although it was only a novella, it was a singular story that was very well done. The Deep Ops team is terrific, and if you like animals you might just enjoy the dog and cat in this story as well. I enjoyed the previous title, and look forward to continuing. In this story readers get to briefly visit with some of the members of the team, such as Malcolm and Wolfe. The first book in this series, Hidden, was released last year, and the next book in the series, Fallen, will be released in September. Many thanks to Zebra and to NetGalley for this ARC to review in exchange for my honest opinion.
belllla More than 1 year ago
Another great story from the series. The story is packed with such strong emotions combined with great humor and action. This is a second chance for Faye and Hunter who are after Hunters halfbrother. Trough the story we see why did they split in the first place and that the emotions are still going strong. Faye stronger and sober is ready to fight this time for her man. The characters are well developed and likable. This novel is a page-turner and before you know it the pages are gone and I soo want mooooree. Can't wait for the next book. I volunteered to review an ARC of this book for Netgelly
MalkaShayna More than 1 year ago
This second chance romance/suspense novella has guest appearances and comic relief by some of the Deep Ops crew introduced in the first book, but is really about 4 kids, Faye, Hunter Holt, Raider Tanaka and Mark, who were fostered together by Ms. Angelina and consider themselves siblings. However, since they aren't blood related, Faye and Hunter Holt became lovers. Hunter went into the Marines and Mark followed him there. Faye became a psychologist. Raider is now working for Deep Ops. Mark was killed in action. The emotional trauma from Mark's death at the same time that Faye lost a patient to suicide, left them both emotional wreaks, unable to open up or help each other, so Faye left. Five years later they are reunited, when Hunter's half brother, Jackson, whom he never even knew existed, ends up at Ms A's for one night and then disappears with his mentally disturbed Math teacher, Louise. Jackson thinks he is in love with this older woman, not realizing how disturbed she really is, as she goes on a killing spree, while telling him that she is robbing convenience stores for food. Working together with Raider, their mission is to find Jackson, before he is implicated in the killings or killed along side Louise. Will Jackson allow Hunter to rescue him? Will Faye and Hunter fight for the one person that means the most? Will Faye finally decide to a new career path and a last name? Wonderful characters and an action packed story make this a terrific, "don't want to put it down" read. I received a free, advanced copy of this book from NetGalley.com. This is my unbiased and voluntary review.
yzermandy More than 1 year ago
Another successful book written by Rebecca Zanetti! I loved reading the first book, Hidden, in her new Deep Ops series, and was excited to see this novella. When I first started reading the novella I wasn't sure how the story fit into the Deep Ops series because the main characters hadn't been introduced in the first book. That being said, if you haven't read the first book you can easily read this novella as a stand alone book. The story is about Hunter and Faye. Hunter and Faye were in the same foster home and ended up romantically involved. Unfortunately, they broke up 5 years ago and now are working together again to find a boy that went missing from the same foster home,. The boy turns out to be Hunter's brother that he didn't know about. The chemistry between Faye & Hunter is electric and as a reader you just want them to lay their hearts open to each other and be together ASAP. The tie to the Deep Ops series is with Raider, whom is introduced in the first book. Raider is family to Faye & Hunter and was in the same foster home with them. I really enjoyed the dynamics between the 3 characters and the addition of Wolfe from HDD to the 'family'. I loved getting to know more about Raider's back story and can't wait to read about him in the next book!! You'll love the surprise appearance by 2 truly loved characters from the Dark Protectors series too. Bringing Roscoe, Kat, and Force to the story also added more depth and connection to the Deep Ops series. Once again, Zanetti wrote a phenomenal and compelling story. I found myself crying, laughing, and rooting for ALL of the characters to either find their HEA OR, in the case of Louise, the justice that is deserved. I can't wait for the next book in this series, Fallen, and the sneak peek in the back of this novella makes it even more difficult to wait patiently. Excellent, excellent book... enjoy!!
JujubeeD More than 1 year ago
I am a sucker for a second chance romance with a side of kick-ass road trip! Still, I was thinking that a novella might not be the best format to fully develop a solid back story that not only makes me feel their former love, longing about being apart (thank you, dear author, for not making the separation period the magical "10 year," LOL), along with a fresh reason why our former lovers even see each other again, and still find a believably way back to each other in and around 100 pages. I was so intrigued by book one, Hidden, that I really wanted to read more about those bad boys and girls in "Requisitions." While Hunter, Faye, and Jackson are all new-to-me characters, their journey was well worth my read. Not only is there an angel in a Volkswagen like Miss Angelina, but Raider, Wolfe, and Roscoe bring Deep Ops to the deep South ;) Oh, and there is that wee stop in Realm country! Woo-hoo!! A satisfying addition to the Deep Ops series, indeed. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. Looking forward to Raider and Brigid in Vegas, baby.
Boohimdanno More than 1 year ago
Not gonna lie I am starting to become a fan of Rebecca Zanetti and her new series Deep Ops. This is a side story between the first and second story. As a readers of the series I will admit I was a little lost at first trying to figure out how it connected to the Deep Ops series. Once it became clear the humor from the first book arrives almost with the goofy characters from the first book. I think it will impossible for readers of Rebecca Zanetti to miss this story as well as the series. Faye is a lost soul who knows her soul mate but can't seem to keep her temper in check long enough before she hits Hunter. Hunter is you Rebecca Zanetti Alpha Male with a heart that have readers wanting more of the two lead characters. The story has heat and soul that new readers will be able to fall in love with Rebecca Zanetti characters and books Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher Zebra for the advance copy of Rebecca Zanetti Taken. This is a can't miss read.
Kielieghkreations More than 1 year ago
Taken is technically the second book in Rebecca Zanetti’s Deep Ops Series. This is a second chance, romantic suspense novella. Hunter and Faye have loved each other since they were kids, but trauma and loss tore them apart. Five years have passed since they were together when Faye comes to Hunter with knowledge of a half brother he never knew he had. Together, the couple must work to overcome their issues and bring him home safely before tragedy strikes again. I love Hunter and Faye, both individually and together. They have great chemistry and a deep understanding of one another that adds to the depth of the storyline. All the books in this series contain a happily ever after and can be read as a standalone, however, reading it in order will give you a better appreciation for the characters and the series itself. Zanetti does a fantastic job creating this world of suspense and intrigue, and each of her stories provides readers with glimpses of the characters introduced in the previous stories within the series. I can’t wait to read her next story!!! I’m looking forward to reading more about the others (Raider, Angus, Wolfe and Brigid) of the Deeps Ops World. I especially love Wolfe’s pet kitten and Roscoe the drunken team mascot who add an interesting quirk to this intense world. This is a voluntary review of an advanced readers copy. ❤️the easter eggs in this novella. Great for fans of Zanetti’s other series.
tsinclr More than 1 year ago
Hunter and Faye had gone through some tough times and had not seen each other for five years but now they were being asked to work together again to find a runaway from a foster home. The same foster home that Hunter had once runaway from. To add to the the stress of being close to each other again, the runaway is a brother that Hunter knew nothing about. Will they be able to find Hunter's brother in time and will they be able to forgive each other and move forward? Also, loved the surprise appearance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a voluntary review of an advanced copy. After reading a couple chapters, it finally hit me that this was part of the deep ops series and that is why some of the names were so familiar.While this book had several of the Deep ops characters, this was more about Raider's childhood friends, Hunter and Faye. Throughout the book, we learn that they have been apart for five years, and the reason for their separation. They are brought together by Miss Angelina who informs Hunter that his half-brother, Jackson, has been taken from her care and ran off with his teacher. Hunter was not aware that he even had a brother and he and his team go search for Jackson and try to stop the crazy teacher who is on a killing spree. Lots of action as they chase the two across the country and try to stop more murders, and get Jackson away from the crazy teacher. The romance takes a backseat to the hunt but Faye and Hunter both realize that they made a mistake not to fight for their relationship and they should not have walked away. Really can't wait for Raider's story and get to see Wolfe and his cat, again!
ehaney578 More than 1 year ago
A quick and exciting addition to the series! I really enjoyed Hunter and Faye's story. They were raised in the same foster home together with two others and are a tight-knit family. Hunter and Faye were once together but experienced personal traumas that ultimately separated them. Their chemistry was electric and quite exhausting but it was plain to see how much they loved each other. They were fiercely trying hard to battle back their own demons-and each other. The suspense was adequate and the story was fast-paced, if not a little emotionally heavy. We had a brief comic relief when Angus Force and his dog Roscoe showed up. Man, that dog is freakin' hilarious! And we are treated to a little crossover action from another Zanetti series!
Lillian Maddocks-Cummings More than 1 year ago
Can this be your chance to fix the past? Faye knows that coming to Hunter will bring up a lot unresolved feelings but she needs his help. His half brother has been taken by an older woman and she is breaking the law along the way. Hunter never knew about Jackson and he knows that she has to do whatever he can to get him back home safe. They will need Raider and his contacts as they can't do this alone. They are a family again if only everything had turned out differently. Jackson knows that this is love and that he can be enough for Louise but he worries about her going out every day to rob the small stores along the way. But he has no way to turn to so he will need to stick to the plan. He knows that what Louise has done is wrong but he hopes that she will be able to stop so that they can start their lives together. Will they be able to find Jackson before he lands up in even bigger trouble with the law? Can Hunter give Jackson everything that he never had as a kid? Can Hunter & Faye get through this together or is it time to wlak away for good? A good exciting read. I was lucky enough to receive a copy via Netgalley & the publishing house in exchange for my honest review.
Evampire9 More than 1 year ago
When Hunter Holt is called on to help find a lost foster kid, he jumps into action even though it means working with Faye Smith, the woman who broke his heart. She’s been trying to get her life back on track, but Faye knows that she should’ve turned toward Hunter not away. Since they have to work together, maybe they’ll get another chance, but first they have to actually stop arguing long enough to trust the Deeps Ops team and find the kid. This Deep Ops novella is an emotionally gripping and moving story that holds readers hostage with lots of suspense and wonderfully, strong characters that have some scorching chemistry going on. Their chemistry is quite volatile however, so there are lots of sparks flying as they clash together which just punches the passion up hotter than ever. This second chance relationship is chock full of emotions that flows from the pages and ensures that the readers understand exactly where Hunter and Faye stand. The plot is fast paced and while on the short side packs quite a thrilling punch as Hunter and Faye try not only track but save this young man from a bad person, the law and himself. The story has all the elements of a great romantic suspense so while it is a novella, it keeps readers turning the pages until they have read every last word. And the story also holds a few surprises throughout and a delightful one that tickles readers if they have read other books by this author.
Kindle_Loving_Mom More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this novella, which focused on main characters outside the team, but gave us some big insight into Raider Tanaka, leading into his book up next! Hunter Holt is an ex-marine, and now leads fishing expeditions on the Cumberland River, in addition to living in a cabin out in the wilderness. He likes his space, and hasn't wanted anyone else in it in a long time. Not in 5 years, when he and his first love broke up. They both ended up in the same foster home with the only woman who ever really cared about them, Miss Angelina, and their two other "brothers", Raider Tanaka (of the Deep Ops team), and the youngest, Mark. Both Hunter and Faye were too broken to fight for what was between them in the end. He was struggling with PTSD after leaving the military, and the death of Mark, in combat, was the final straw between them. They should've dealt with it together, but instead they walked away. When she shows up on his land with some startling information, saying Miss Angelina sent her, he knows he can't walk away again. Faye Smith grew up in Miss Angelina's home after finally being taken away from her monster of a father. She became a psychologist, but mostly she was only trying to figure out her own experiences. She found the job wasn't for her, especially after one of her patients committed suicide, and she didn't deal with the fallout well, at all. After Mark died, it was all too much and she walked away from everything, including Hunter. But she's never stopped thinking about him, or loving him, and when Miss Angelina calls her for help, she's all in. She doesn't know what will happen when she sees Hunter again, but she's ready to find out. Hunter and Faye had a young, pure love that stood the test of time, even if their actual relationship didn't. They were each other's person, in a way no one else had ever been for either of them. When they come back together, you can easily read that the chemistry between them is stronger than ever. I loved their intense connection, even when one or the other of them was fighting it. That connection informed every move they made, whether they realized it or not, and I loved when they discovered that they really couldn't live without each other anymore. The suspense plot here was fascinating, and involved a lost foster kid, a runaway from Miss Angelina's home. He happened to be Hunter's younger half-brother, whom he never knew existed. The 16-year-old kid was kidnapped by his teacher, who was having a relationship with him, and now she's on a robbery/murder spree. Hunter knows they'll need help to find the kid, and he calls in their brother Raider to join the case, in his official capacity as a federal agent. Raider brings another friend from his team, Wolfe, and we get to see a glimpse of a few of the other hilarious characters from the Deep Ops team. (That dog is a menace, and I can't wait to see what he gets up to next!) Obviously this is a short novella, so we can't have all the detail we might get with a full-length book, but I wish I had known a little more about Hunter and Faye in the past. Even a flashback or two could've been great. I wanted to understand more about why they walked away from each other, and what they've done in the interim to solve those issues so they can definitely make it work now. But their connection was palpable, and I loved watching them fall back into each other again. This was a nice detour, and I'm sure it'll be important for Raider's book next.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Taken is a great novella length addition to the Deep Ops series. Zanetti creates a fantastic and fully executed story of second chances. Faye and Hunter have chemistry, that was never the problem but 5 years ago, there was too many issues in their lives and lots of things left unsaid. They grew up together in the foster system Now, they are pushed together to find a missing boy. A boy who happens to be Hunter’s ½ brother and in the sights of a trigger-happy sheriff. Zanetti masterfully captures a heartwarming romance with a beautiful story of love, family and reuniting lost loves. I received this ARC copy of Taken from Kensington Books. This is my honest and voluntary reivew.
DebraSchwartz1971 More than 1 year ago
This book is a novella that is part of a series, but really is a stand alone. It is a quick and easy read, and I really felt the pain Hunter and Faye suffered in their relationship. But also the closeness, how thoroughly they knew each other. I would really like to know what happened five years ago, and hopefully we will learn more in other books in this series. Received an ARC courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.
Horsebranchjess More than 1 year ago
Taken is a novella set in the world of the Deep Op series. Faye Smith left Hunter Holt five years ago when she realized love was not going to be enough to make their relationship last. Both slightly broken with the weight of guilt from much different situations, they fled to work on themselves. Now years later, Faye chases Hunter down to let him know he has a little brother and that he is missing from the foster home they were raised in. Calling in the big dogs, Raider and Wolf from Deep Ops use their resources from Homeland Security to aid in the search for Hunter's little brother and the spree killing teacher he took off with. Faye and Hunter story is sweet as they manage to save the day and rediscover a sweet love. This story moves quickly but is believable because I could envision a true love broken from hard times but so easy to fall back into. Wolf and his kitten, Kat adds a fresh dose of humor to lighten up the tense situations. I love the Deep Ops characters and their wacky animals. I need Wolf's book soon since I might be in love with all the weirdness that is Wolf. A great short read that flies by way too quickly. My voluntary, unbiased review is based upon a review copy from Netgalley.
stanhope3234 More than 1 year ago
I loved this second chance romance. You can always count on Rebecca Zanetti to write a heart pounding romance mixed with a great suspense story. Hunter Holt and Faye Smith have known each other since they were young teenagers. Raised by the same foster mother they knew from the start they belonged to each other. Youthful misunderstanding and a friends death sent them their separate ways. When their foster mother needs their help with a runaway they are thrown back together. Needing each other help and trust. If they survive this threat they just might find themselves!
paytonpuppy More than 1 year ago
Faye Smith has tracked down Hunter Holt as a favor for Ms. Angelina. She didn’t want to, as it has been five years since she had last seen Hunter, but for Ms. Angelina she would do this. They need to locate sixteen-year old Jackson who has run away from Ms. Angelina’s custody with his teacher, Louise Stockley. Louise has been busy fleeing from life with her abusive husband and robbing gas stations along the way. So far Jackson has not been fully involved in the robberies…it is essential they find him before law enforcement does. When Hunter learns that Jackson is his half-brother, a brother he knew nothing about, they join up with Hunter’s Deep Op friends to locate the teen. Faye has never forgotten Hunter and he still loves her. Can they admit their feelings and reconcile while they are hunting for his brother? Will they reach Jackson in time to save him from becoming more involved in criminal activity? I received an advance review copy at no cost and without obligation for an honest review. (by paytonpuppy)