The Summons

The Summons

by John Grisham

Paperback(Large Print)

$20.73 $22.00 Save 6% Current price is $20.73, Original price is $22. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Summons 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 269 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing much happened. Too much talking.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
John Grisham once again goes to Mississippi to weave a tale of family, greed, and paranoia that is solid from beginning to end. The main character is likeable although a little bland at times. The story had me guessing as to who was behind what. Although there were legal elements in the book it isn't a legal thriller but it was a thriller. One complaint was I wanted more of Clanton, MS. Many times Grisham has transported me to the South and here it was just a locale. Overall, a solid read but not Grisham's best.
JustMyTwoCents More than 1 year ago
I rarely rate a book with less than 3 stars, but this one deserved it-- Not much to say about this book, particularly the main character, Ray. Lots of action, I suppose, with him driving back and forth from  Virginia to Mississippi with some unknown scary individual following his every move. However, I couldn't find a  reason to like Ray or any of the other characters for that matter. All I knew was that he was obsessed with greed, and later, fear, despite making a huge salary as an underworked college professor. Very minimal character development in this book. It reminded me of The Firm. If you want to read a better Grisham book, pick up "A Painted House."
Chas96 More than 1 year ago
This book is an apple waiting to be plucked by anybody who is interested in law work or just interested in mysteries. The storyline revolves around lawyers and courthouse work. I learned some about the difficulties and controversies that take place in the courtroom. This is the first book that I have read by John Grisham and because I enjoyed it I will look forward to reading more of his novels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've read by John Grisham, and I was very disappointed given his stellar and famous reputation as a best-selling author. NOT recommended for those who find the area of the law boring nor for those who enjoy multi-faceted, changing characters. After a while the people in the southern town become very predictable (there's Ray's friend who sleeps with a woman in his law office, there's the broad whom the judge slept with for decades who wants money after his death, there's the brother who has a drug problem, etc.) There really isn't much character development beyond stereotypes (for instance the male stereotype is when Ray says that he must call one of his former students for a date because her body is just too hot to resist). Overall could be interesting at times (like when he finds the money), but besides that you read on for at least a hundred pages waiting for something worthwhile to happen. Meanwhile all Ray does is jog, drive, and gamble. Just not what I'd have expected from someone of Grisham's acclaim. Be careful of this one. Only buy it if you find it for $3 at a local bookstore like I did.
chamada More than 1 year ago
If you like Grisham you'll enjoy this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Summons was almost a different type of write for Grisham. The gist of the story is a man's father dies, leaving him with a bank account. A bank account with three million dollars in it. The start of the book was slow. But after a few chapters it slowly picked up. However there seemed to be no climax, it just fell right into the end. The reason I had to keep reading was, I was tring to but myself into the main charactors shoes. What would you do with 3 million dollars? You could buy just about any thing you wanted! All in all this book was alright. If you like John Grisham, I would give this book a try.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Summons, written by John Grisham, is a mystery that will have the reader on the edge of their seat the whole way through. The main character, Ray Atlee, has just found a little over $3,000,000 in cash in his dead father¿s estate. Ray had always known his father, a prestigious judge from Clanton, Mississippi, to be conservative and never would have kept so much money to himself. The fight for the money begins the night of his father¿s death when someone attempts to break into the house, presumably for the money. From that point forward, Ray scours the tiny town of Clanton looking for some answers while someone is hot on his trail dying to get their hands on the money. I found this book to be quite the page turner. There were many elements to the book¿s characters and plot that caused it to steer away from your average mystery. The first thing I liked was that it was written in present day. Some books leave the reader confused because they were not written in this day and age, but The Summons is very descriptive in the time setting the author chose, which made it easier to follow. The plot also made the book very exciting to read because it had two mysteries rolled into one novel. The first mystery was a ¿whodunit¿ type. The reader is left with tiny hints on each page leading to a possible suspect in the crimes Ray Atlee faces. There are times in the book where the reader may say they know who is causing Ray so much turmoil, but then something Ray finds crosses that person off the suspect list. The second mystery asks ¿where¿. The reader is in constant suspense as Ray Atlee tries to find out where the money initially came from. Once again the reader is left constantly guessing. The characters also made the novel a fun read. Ray Atlee is the average middle-aged man whose wife just left him. At the beginning he is a depressed college professor but as the mysteries unfold his character evolves into an interesting detective one can¿t help but enjoy. Ray¿s brother, Forrest, is an alcoholic and a drug addict. He doesn¿t become a main character until the end of the novel, but whenever he is mentioned in short you can be sure there will be excitement to follow. There are some other very interesting characters which comprise the plot of the novel such as suspects in crime and some of Ray¿s alliances. The one feature of the book that makes it a great read from beginning to end is the cultural significance and the theme of the book. The novel shows what great power money can have over mankind. Throughout the book we follow Ray as he tries everything in his power to keep his newly found money safe from anyone who wants to take it away. There are criminals with heavy weapons not only trying to get the money, but to also get Ray. One may wonder why Ray doesn¿t leave the money to get back to a safe and normal life free of guilt and fear. The answer lies in a trait everyone possesses - greed. Ray¿s greed and yearn for wealth was enough for him to risk his life for. The theme expresses that American¿s today do not live for life itself but they live for money and power. When one stops living for something that may be completely out of reach, life can be a lot less hectic. The one aspect of the novel that may confuse the reader is the language used. Ray Atlee¿s father was a judge and Ray is a professor of law. The novel consistently uses legal terminology which can be confusing to anyone who is not familiar with the language. At times the novel can drift into what may be seen as lengthy and boring but the author makes every paragraph like a piece of a puzzle, towards the end the reader begins seeing the whole picture and the useless facts come together. The Summons is a well written piece of literature. Not only does the reader get a suspense story but they also get a moral to apply to everyday life. Though the language may be difficult to understand at times and could be better understood by someone in a law profession, anyone ca
Anonymous 5 months ago
Not the best John Grisham book I've ever read. Slow and hated the ending
indygo88 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I agree with some other reviewers who say this isn't as suspenseful or gripping as some of Grisham's other novels. However, it's been quite a few years since I've read a Grisham, and I found this one oddly refreshing, just because I haven't read a book in this genre for a while. Not a bad book, but not his best either.
les121 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not as good as The Pelican Brief. Some parts are pretty boring.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ray Atlee is the elder son of Judge Atlee of Clanton, Mississippi, who,along with his younger brother, Forrest, has been summoned home by a terseletter from the old man. He arrives just in time to find his father's bodyon the couch in his study, still warm but very dead. It's no surprise toanyone. The judge has had cancer for a long time and was given about a yearto live, well, about a year ago. The judge was revered by everybody in thecounty and had hoped that both his sons would grow up and practice law rightthere by his side. But Ray escaped to academia where he teaches law at anivy league school and Forrest escaped into a haze of drugs and booze. Boththe boys were a disappointment to the old man.In the process of getting ready to settle the old man's estate, Raydiscovers 27 stationery boxes in a storage cabinet, each one filled to thebrim with $100 bills. He has no idea where the money came from or how hisfather came to own it. All he knows is that there is no way that money cameto the old man in an honest fashion. If he'd saved every penny he made as acircuit judge all those years, he wouldn't have amassed a fortume like this.But someone else knows about this money. And they are willing to kill toget it.This is a typical Grisham thriller, with a few twists and turns to keep yourinterest until the secrets are unfolded at the end. I enjoyed it the firsttime I read it and I enjoyed it this time around, too. It gets a 4.
MsGemini on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another great legal story by Grisham. Great twist at the end.
tsisler on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was not the in-depth page turner that I had hoped for. However, it was still an enjoyable, although predictable, light read.
koalamom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fast paced and easy to read. I didn't get the ending until I got there - good plot twist.
melorem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Judge Atlee is dying and has summoned both of his sons to his side. When Ray Atlee gets to the house his father is already dead. He had been dying of cancer and was in a great deal of pain. He wouldn't have lasted much longer and Ray seemed grateful that his father was no longer in pain. He becomes the executor of the estate and needs to deal with his brother who is constantly in and out of rehabs. In preparing the estate he finds three million in cash in the house and isn't sure where it came from. His father was a stickler for the law and didn't earn much money. Was it a bribe? In his search to find out where the money came from he realizes that someone is following him and knows about the money. He becomes increasingly more and more worried about the money and he knows it is ruining him. He finally gives into the threats... In the end Ray does find out who was chasing him for the money and no one is more surprised then him.This book was a pretty typical John Grisham novel that involves the law. The author doesn't go into too much legal jargon which allows the readers who are not lawyers enough information to follow the story line without it becoming overburdened with technical information. A good summer read but not as gripping as some of Grisham's previous novels.
lrobe190 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Ray Atlee receives a summons from his dying father, Judge Reuben Atlee, he immediately flies back home to Mississippi. When rhe arrives, he finds his father dead in his chair in his home office. Judge Atlee had been in the final stages of cancer and in severe pain, so Ray felt a mixture of grief and relief. His brother, Forrest, has been summoned also, so Ray decides to wait until he calls the coroner and the authorities, so Forrest can say goodbye in private. While Ray waits for his brother to arrive, he looks in a cabinet behind the sofa for some paper to write on and discovers a number of identical boxes. He opens one of the boxes and discovers it's full of money. After going through the rest of the boxes, he finds a total of $3 million. Ray is stunned. Where did this money come from? Why was it hidden? Who else knows it's there? Ray decides he can't just leave it there, so he moves all of the boxes to another location and decides not to tell anyone about the money until he knows more about it, not even his brother. Thus starts a journey of discovery for Ray. Along the way, he will learn more about his father and brother, will be followed and have his life threatened numerous times. Parts of this book are very suspenseful and it is very fast-paced. There is a suspenseful build-up to the end, but nothing really happens. I felt let-down when I finished it.
florencecraye on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not the usual Grisham courtroom drama. A law professor discovers $3 million in cash in his father's study after the old judge's death and has to decide what to do with it. A good read for a long plane ride, but other than that nothing amazing. The plot could have been a little tighter. In the middle I couldn't tell if it was the character deciding what to do with the money or Grisham deciding what to do with the story.
karriethelibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You find three million dollars in your dead father's house. Your brother is a drug addict who will put himself into an early grave if he the money to support his habit. What do you do?
edwardsgt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this Grisham a little heavy going, not his usual pacy plotting or page-turning suspense. The hero is a law professor in Virginia, estranged from his father, a Mississippi judge, who dies leaving a strange inheritance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago