Such a Long Journey

Such a Long Journey

by Rohinton Mistry

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.36 $15.95 Save 10% Current price is $14.36, Original price is $15.95. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Such a Long Journey 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Usually I'm not a fan of novels like this. For every SUCH A LONG JOURNEY (not to mention MY FATHER'S EYES, of course) there are a dozen pretentious psychobabble productions. This is worth the time and effort. Maybe because it's set in a differnt time and less navel-gazing society than ours.
Guest More than 1 year ago
good book
fiverivers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rohinton Mistry¿s Such a Long Journey is one of those remarkable confluences of astonishingly beautiful writing, tightly crafted plot, and fully-developed characterization. The work is neither pretentious nor formulaic. And although there is no major crisis that takes place, no earth-shattering destruction of place or person, there is a sustained tension throughout the novel that keeps you reading, that draws you into the life of the main protagonist, Gustad Noble.The novel is set during the rule of Indira Gandhi, and is a damning indictment of both her government and American foreign policy of the time. The journey is both a physical and metaphorical one, of Gustad¿s bedside visitation of a friend he thought had betrayed him, and of Gustad¿s eventual realization that there are few absolutes in life beyond that of death, that for every face there are a myriad of facets. There are several subtle but poignant metaphors woven throughout this narrative, the most memorable being the character of Tehmul, who is a physically and mentally disabled man with the character of a boy, and it is this pull of the innocent versus the carnal that mirrors much of the political and social turmoil of the novel.Although short-listed for the 1991 Booker Prize, Such a Long Journey was pulled from the University of Mumbai¿s English curriculum because of protests from the family of Hindu nationalist, Bal Thackeray ¿ yet one more example in the world of unenlightened people nurturing fear-mongering.I¿d urge you to read Such a Long Journey. It is a story that will nestle in your psyche and remain.
wbwilburn5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great reread. I live my Indian life through these books.
siafl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
With nice narratives and superb touches, and very often humourous anecdotes, the book has a lot of merits. However, something happened - I don't quite know what - towards the end that caused the book to lose its grip on my attention. I merely skimmed through to the end the final chapters, and when done, thought that it had left me wishing for, perhaps, a little more depth. Maybe it was because of the filthy images it created in my mind that I wished to be done with this book sooner, which I suppose would be the very thing driving me out of India if I do have the misfortune to end up stuck in that place one day. Shudder.
michiy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A lovely book. A lovely story. It has the makings of a classic. Simply told, fragrant without being frilly.
oddvark59 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very well written. Very interesting story by one of the greatest living writers of fiction.
RobinDawson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rohinton is an outstanding storyteller and writer. His characters are so vivid and human. He cherishes each one and their story stays with me for such a long time.
Clara53 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is human drama of the most poignant variety. It starts as a family drama but then gradually encompasses the neighborhood and, you can say, the whole country. As a family drama, it is sure to resonate with any family in any country, one could relate to it on a very personal level. As a sociopolitical drama, it brings to harsh light the inadequacies and faults of Indian politics and society. When I was in India in 1970s (the time described in the book) I saw things from a very different perspective - politically and socially, plus I was too young to understand anything in a proper way. So this novel opened my eyes on a lot of things. The story begins with the protagonist Gustad Noble, a Parsi (a minority in India), finding himself in such emotional turmoil that the saying "When it rains in pours" would be perfect to describe the situation. The turmoil escalates with every page and reaches a powerful denouement at the end of the book - a climax that is not just a family drama any more but something much, much larger. Rohinton Mistry is a very talented writer whose other novel, "A Fine Balance" made an great impression on me. "Such a Long Journey" may not be of the same caliber, but it's still a very worthy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader and found this book hard to put down...from beginning to end this book ensnares you and keep you wanting to read more.....Rohinto Mistry gives the reader humor, sadness, variety and a look at middle class India....totally enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this book is Rohington Mistry's best book to date.It tells us the story of a simple Indian family which for all practical purposes could be any Indian Family and it takes us along with the protoganist Gustad Noble and his family on a long journey filled with numerous ups and downs and it also tells us how the protoganist like a lot of us eventually comes to terms with the reality and learns to live with it. Really an exceptional book.