The Street Lawyer

The Street Lawyer

by John Grisham

Hardcover(Library Binding)

$17.45 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Street Lawyer (Level 4) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 381 reviews.
Johnkeegan93 More than 1 year ago
In the book, The Street Lawyer, John Grisham pulls us threw the wild adventure that was the main character Michael Brock's last year at the prestigious law-firm of Drake & Sweeny. Michael was a hot shot lawyer in a huge D.C. firm. The money was good, and getting better due to the fact of a coming partnership opportunity. But when a mysterious, and homeless, individual calling himself Mister, enters the firm and start to follow Michael up to the Drake & Sweeny floors, things start to go south for the new lawyer. After cornering many of the managing partners and Michael in a upstairs office, he pulls a gun and tells begins to grill each of them about the greed and lack of donations to the poor by them. After a SWAT team takes down Mister, Michael starts to lose it. After a large downward spiral and a lot of life changing items, Michael falls upon 14th Street Legal Clinic. The Clinic was established as a free lawyer operation serving the poor. Hard ball lawyer Mordecai Green was Michael's new mentor in the art of Street Law. The book was amazing, and one of the best Grisham books I've ever read. He expertly portrays the hard and fast life of a lawyer already stretched thin. The best part of the storyline is how he incorporates the normal aspects into the already crazy aspects of life. Already involved with the near death involving Mister, Michael loses his wife, his car, his apartment and the love of his family. Many of people ask him why did he do it? Why give up all the money and power of a big shot lawyer. Michael ends up with a new life and new love, and most importantly, happiness. The book was great and is a fabulous read. I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To think a person could walk away from the almost perfect life for the sake of humanity restores my faith in people. I greatly enjoyed this book, not as much drama as in some other Grisham books, but just enough to keep me going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books. Very interesting...did not want to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very exciting, humbling story. some times having it all can be too much. giving some is so much richer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing. I highly recomend it
Sandra Jackson More than 1 year ago
This is one of Grisham's best. Highly recommend this along with The Testament.
DDB65 More than 1 year ago
"The Street Lawyer" provides an excellent portrayal of a man who, after a shocking experience that forces him to rethink his priorities, moves from the exclusive halls of corporate law to a position as a poorly-paid advocate for the homeless. His move puts him in direct opposition to his previous firm, who threaten him unless he drops his examination of the work of one of the firm's real estate lawyers. The story is surprisingly believable, and, while it is sympathetic to the homeless, it is not saccharine. The resolution is perfect.
markharm2009 More than 1 year ago
Just as the discription says this book by John Grisham is a rollercoaster. You will want to read all night, and you will if you are not careful.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The street lawyer is not one of John's best books, but I really enjoyed it. The story makes you think about the things that are really important in life. Big bucks and big dreams are not the only things that fulfills people hearts. That is what Michael Brock found out in this book when he left what he thought was his career and took a job that was more rewarding. He also learned to assist others less fortunate than him. Pick this book up for a great story of humanity and what is like to care for others.
Anonymous 8 months ago
Good+story+with+strong+moral.%0A
Dadbrazelton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of his best works. I enjoyed it very much.
JaimiTaylor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting read, when you are a lawyer yourself.
Livana on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good John Grisham book. I liked it more then "The King of Torts".The main character is very likable as an ex big-shot, big lawyer firm who quits his job after being held hostage by a homeless man. He sudenly "sees the light". He decides to become a "street lawyer" and helps the least fortunate.Enjoyable.
Djupstrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yet again the same plot by Grisham. Ho-hum.
Talbin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Meh. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Mediocre writing, mediocre plot.
ague on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
10/10. I could not put it down. I lost sleep over this book. Grisham has perfected his writing style in this one. I'd like to discuss of the politics more.
peeweeke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Michael Brock is billing the hours, making the money, rushing relentlessly to the top of Drake & Sweeney, a giant D.C. law firm. One step away from partnership, Michael has it all. Then, in an instant, it all comes undone.A homeless man takes nine lawyers hostage in the firm's plush offices. When it is all over, the man's blood is splattered on Michael's face--and suddenly Michael is willing to do the unthinkable. Rediscovering a conscience he lost long ago, Michael is leaving the big time for the streets where his attacker once lived--and where society's powerless need an advocate for justice.But there's one break Michael can't make: from a secret that has floated up from the depths of Drake & Sweeney, from a confidential file that is now in Michael's hands, and from a conspiracy that has already taken lives. Now Michael's former partners are about to become his bitter enemies. Because to them, Michael Brock is the most dangerous man on the streets....
gilroy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Even lawyers can develop consciences. This novel is written from the point of view of a lawyer who is confronted with the evils of the world and decides to do something to change it. While it didn't fit all of the wonderful writings that Grisham has put out in the past, it does follow a good pattern, an enjoyable story. While certain plot points are predictable (a divorce, which seems to always show up somehow in a Grisham novel) it remained the journey that Grisham placed before the reader that I enjoyed.
csayban on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Have you ever had déjà vu? Well I did as I read John Grisham's novel The Street Lawyer. The book was among the shelves of books that I have not yet read so I pulled it down and started reading it. The story seemed vaguely familiar, but I didn't remember any details or the ending so I figured I must have read a similar book at some point. Similar, as in exactly the same. It wasn't until I was about twenty pages from the end that I realized that I had, indeed, read the book before and now remember it all clearly. I guess the one consolation is that it is a very good book and I did enjoy reading it the second time. It is a great book - an engrossing story of a big-time lawyer who's near-death experience forces him to come to grips with his sudden choice to pursue helping people rather than the pursuit of money. This choice puts him in direct confrontation with his old firm, but even as his marriage and career crumble, his spirits are lifted. A great read that is light on legalese and heavy on the pursuit of right-and-wrong over money. Check it out if you get the chance. It's not preachy - it's just good. (
wixwife on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book, couldn't put it down. Read it in August 2008.
mcollier on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't find this book at all thrilling. It was more like a Law and Order episode. *SPOILER*I did NOT like Megan or Michael. (Or them together, for that matter!) I think both are a little shallow. Michael has this big and bad attitude that is slightly annoying. Megan was just too goody goody for me. However, I did like Ruby, Mordecai, and Mister (DeVon Hardy). Ruby "cracked" me up. (Ruby is a crack addict.)
Anagarika-Sean on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another good one by Grisham. I've enjoyed all of his books so far.
nEtVolution on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Very predictable and not very exciting. Grisham books generally keep you interested with pent up excitement, but in this case it just seemed to passivle progress from one state to another with the odd spark in an attempt to liven things up
Othniel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My Favorite Grisham.John Grisham takes the lawyer who is hungry to remember his conscience on a ride worth experiencing in Street Lawyer. Although the author consistently denies writing his legal thrillers with a social motive in mind, me thinks he doth protest a bit too much. You cannot read this book and remain comfortably barricaded on the upper floors of some skyscraper, awaiting the next billable hour report. Grisham's characters clearly show that The Law Hurts, and does so deliberately blind to the consequences of actions taken by those who are "just doing their jobs." As the novel unfolds, the reader cannot help but question whether professionals set apart for special recognition and privilege in our society ought ever be able to say, "I was just doing my job." The people for whom the law exists are out there on the street, waiting for you to remember why you went to law school in the first place. The pace and action are more plausible than most outside the bar will think - and hopefully Grisham's treatment of homelessness and social justice will impel more than a few within the bar to do more than think. The book is a must read for the lawyer who still can recall his or her calling, and an excellent adventure for everyone else.
MsBeautiful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Legal mystery/novel, interesting premise of a lawyer growing a conscious