The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

by Robert Louis Stevenson

Other Format

$1.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Iowachild More than 1 year ago
I had an invitation to see Jeckyl and Hyde the musical production that is on its way to Broadway. I wanted to review the story before I went. I was really happy that I read the book as it gave me great insight into the plot of the production. The production was quite different that the synopsis of the book. The Nook book was easy to navigate and I enjoyed reading the Old English literary style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the story, but for some reason a lot of the words are gibberish. Like the word "protege" is spelled "prot^g^." D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The original is good. This isjt. Its abridged
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This story of a doctor who splits off his dark side with a potion might have been much more impressive in its psychology of duality when published in 1886. The novella kept me reading from start to finish, without really moving me--the story is kept at one remove until it's last few chapters by being seen through the perspective of Utterson, Dr Jekyll's friend and lawyer, a rather bland figure. The last two chapters are letters from a friend and colleague of Jekyll, then finally Jekyll himself, but it feels like an abrupt end because we never get Utterson's reaction to the revelations in those letters. A novel that did actually impress was a modern retelling, Mary Reilly by Valerie Martin, telling the story from the perspective of Jekyll's maid, who is unnamed and only briefly mentioned in the original.
mesmericrevelation on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. I love it and I can't believe it took me this long to read it. I will definitely be re-reading this one next month and every October from now on.It is such an incredible story. Like me, you may know it from movies but, as always, the book is so much better. I cannot say enough good stuff about this it.Since it is so good and such a fast read, I will be making everyone I know read this. If you haven't read it yet, go read it right now. You wont regret it. Seriously, go! Right now!
Voise15 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Victorian novel, both of its time and ground breaking - a gothic tale set in a London contemporary to the author.It touches on a range of taboo issues, from sexuality, to the link between class and morals and by extension eugenics.The introduction and background essay by Mighall are insightful and give the modern reader a sense of the impact this book had at the time of writing.I did find it slightly distasteful that the updstanding Dr Jekyll is perceived as the moral opposite of the base Hyde character - described as "pure evil".
GrazianoRonca on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde: And Other Tales of Terror by Robert Louis StevensonPenguin Classics (2003), Paperback, 224 pages`I can¿t describe him. And it¿s not want of memory; for I declare I can see him this moment.¿ (p.10)Robert Mighall, editor of this edition of The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, writes that the statement of Dr Jekyll (last chapter of the book) is the best known part of the story written by Robert Louis Stevenson. Mighall advises to read the book completely: ¿They would find there something different from what they imagined: a more complex, rewarding and disturbing story than the version that has been handed down in popular culture form.¿ (p.ix)As Mighall writes in the introduction, following the path of Gothic novelist Stevenson changes the set of his stories: abandoned ruined castles and woods, Stevenson set the horror in the mind of individuals. The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe is the past, the good and the evil are inside the mind.`I saw that, of the two natures that contended in the field of my consciousness, even if I could rightly be said to be either, it was only because I was radically both; ¿ I had learned to dwell with pleasure, ¿ on the thought of the separation of these elements. If each ¿ could but be housed in separate identities, life would be relieved of all that was unbearable; the injust might go his way ¿ and the just could walk steadfastly and securely on his upward path.¿ (p.56)This edition contains a brief dissertation of Robert Mighall: Diagnosing Jekyll: the Scientific Context to Dr Jekyll¿s Experiment and Mr Hyde¿s Embodiment; although very useful, I prefer a different point of view `diagnosing¿ Stevenson and his book. Cesare Lombroso¿ s idea about the connection between head¿s shape and criminality (drawn from physiognomy): ugly means crime, handsome means honest person; is only an easy and popular connection. In my opinion, on the other hand, Stevenson writes about the dichotomy between good and evil. Good or just has always tried to keep a distance from evil or unjust, but Stevenson wants to find another solution: both just and unjust living in the same person. But morality liked, from biblical times, dichotomy; so Stevenson doesn¿t solve the problem with Dr Jekyll: his friend `can¿t describe him¿ (p.10) The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde was first published in 1885; the next year, 1886, Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche wrote Beyond Good and Evil (Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future). Nietzsche `screaming¿ his `Affirmative Philosophy¿ or `Philosophy of Yes¿ preludes how to build a bridge towards / beyond just and unjust.Stevenson and Nietzsche: same times, same ideas, different solutions.
Hamburgerclan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The introduction to this book has a great quote: "...Stevenson's story is more known about than actually known..." This was certainly true for me, and ever since enjoying The League of Extra-ordinary Gentlemen*, I had a desire to change that. I finally managed to snag a copy of the tale and read it. As you probably know, it's the tale of a Doctor Henry Jekyll, who concocts a potion that transforms him into Mr. Edward Hyde, an amoral man without restraint. Or perhaps you can say that the potion releases Hyde from the restraint that is Henry Jekyll. At this point I'm supposed to say that it's a classic tale of suppressed desire and social façades--a masterpiece for all times. Or something like that. The truth is, while I enjoyed reading the story, I wasn't overly impressed. Like most people, I imagine, I share Dr. Jekyll's struggle with the darker part of my soul. But it seems that the better solution is just to fess up and ask the good Lord for forgiveness rather than try to cover it up or seek ways to secretly indulge it. Of course, if Dr. Jekyll had done that, it would have made for an even shorter tale. Ah, well....--J.______*A work that takes great liberties with the character, I discovered.
whirled on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like most people, I've been aware of Jekyll and Hyde most of my life, chiefly as a common descriptor for the contradictions and duality of human nature. I mean, even Eddie Murphy took up the theme in The Nutty Professor. Reading the classic short story filled in a lot of intriguing details left out of later reinterpretations. Stevenson evokes the fog-shrouded streets of London so convincingly I could almost hear the clip-clopping of horse's hooves on damp cobble-stoned streets. Not as frightening as it must have been to uninitiated 19th century readers, but still a deserving classic of the horror genre.
marek2009 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another book I started for the Edinburgh trip, having never read it before. It's a wonderful tale & a great edition, with 'The Bodysnatcher', a retelling of Burke & Hare, & Olalla, a story about a Spanish vampire, & extract from 'Chapter on Dreaming'. The notes & accompanying essays are also very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The real story isn't the same as what is proliferated by popular culture. There is no big, green ugly monster. While it's fun to watch Bugs Bunny turn into a green monster after drinking a potion, or a small man turn into a giant monster in the movies, the real story is more subdued but also more personal, tragic, and interesting. I recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This ebook was clearly not created by a human. The text is garbled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book about the good and evil sides in a man. It was wonderfully creepy and made me think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago