Stay Out of the Basement (Classic Goosebumps Series #22)

Stay Out of the Basement (Classic Goosebumps Series #22)

by R. L. Stine

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Stay Out of the Basement 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will keep you reading untl the end. Enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the book was quite interesting to read, but it had nothing frighting that would scare a reader like the author intended to do. The story itself was quite good and the plot made you wanting to find out more on whats going on with the father and why he won't stay out of the basement. I would recommend this book only if your a huge fan of the goosebumps series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He's like a genius his books are thrilling and chilling down the spine scare,interesting, or deciding a door or way to pick its full of scare magic i read his books all the time i even watch the movies its amazing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I have read it as my AR book in my class and I loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so good knowing that i didn't read it yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book one of my absolute favorite goosebumps, it was the first book I ever got and read on my nook, I read it one day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really exiting!Can't wait to finish it.
Alexis.Goodro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is about two kids, Margaret and Casey. There father had been fired from his job and now it trying to fix it in the basement. He soon started to acked wierd. After The kids mom left to see her sister, things realy started to get wierd. There father was caught eating plant food, and his hair had turned to leaves. He said it was temperary, or was it. Then he was caught bleeding green blood. Margraet and Casey were now very interestied in there fathers work, but when they check it out, they were full of surprize. They found a man that looked like there father, and si he clamed to be. They let him out but as the did the other man came down the stairs in horror, the kids did not now which one was which. So they cut both and the one that was found had red blood. They distord the plants and all was normal, or was it. Margaret was playing out side when she heard something call her named. She looked down to she a plant hitting her shoe saying, "I am your father, your real father". I love goosebumped because to twist at the end of each story. The exitment was over powering so I could not stop reading. I think book was alittle wierd, but that is what goosebumps are.
mesmericrevelation on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one wasn't as good as the first one, Welcome to Dead House, but it was still a good read. If I remember correctly, this wasn't one of my favorites when I was a kid either.It wasn't scary, but it is well written and has a great plot. You just keep reading because you need to know what is going to happen next.I will be reading the next book soon. I can't wait!
t1bclasslibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Margaret and Casey's dad has been conducting his botony experiments in the basement ever since being fired from his job, but the plants just keep getting weirder and weirder. The weirdest thing of all is their father, who has gotten weird beyond just growing leaves on his head. The kids finally do go to the basement- and find their real father in a closet. Suddenly there are two guys claiming to be their father, but Margaret figures out who the real dad is.
the_hag on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stay Out of the Basement is the second in the Goosebumps Series and we are becoming quite familiar with R.L. Stein's writing at this point, and without hesitation, I think he's about the equivalent to Stephen King and/or Twilight Zone/or The Outer Limits for kids...his stories are always slightly creepy, seem to have slightly campy leanings, almost too outlandish to be believable and always with a twist at the end that leaves you wondering. Stay Out of the Basement is no exception...in this volume we meet Margaret and Casey Brewer (and their parents, naturally), as we join them we discover that Dr. Brewer has lost his job at the University and is continuing his work in the basement. At this point the mother conveniently has to go out of town to care for a sick relative, leaving the two kids alone with the good Dr. and his strange behavior as he becomes increasingly distant and obsessed with his work. It's only after Casey and Margaret and their neighbor disobey Dr. Brewer's strict orders not to go in the basement that they discover just how strange his work is and just how obsessed with it he is. For me, Stay Out of the Basement isn't as creepy as the first book in the series, or even as creepy as some of his other work that I have read, but as part of a series designed to give the reader goosebumps, I think it's a fine addition. The ending as always takes a slight twist from what you think it should, and I rather like this about Stein's writing style. I give it a B-, it's entertaining, but fairly predictable. We're looking forward to reading more in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its one of my favorite books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
19
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ahhhhh i need ca nook friend!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whazzuppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppppp
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS IS A GOOD BOOK! Realy people no bad words this is just for revews please
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't read it on a nook but I read it at school two times it was really good scrach that it was great its not to scary for other kids to have nightmears, I'm a kid 12 years,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Add me I have many goosebumps books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The reason i liked this book is because i love goosebump books and i won 1 place three times in a row for reading the fastest and scoring the most points. I like when the one girl cuts her dad in half too see if its really him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like sports am 11 and i will NOT date jackass who doesnt play sports ok i am sexy i got that from my past boyfriends
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gg
Anonymous More than 1 year ago