State of the Union (Scot Harvath Series #3)

State of the Union (Scot Harvath Series #3)

by Brad Thor

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

State of the Union: A Thriller 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 208 reviews.
McNutt More than 1 year ago
This is the 3rd book in a series of 10. I would suggest reading the series in order because they refer back to characters and events that happened previously. I find the Scot Harvath series to be on a par with Griffin, Ludlom, Flynn books. If you are into books on Terrorist threats and our government fighting against them, I highly recommend this series of books from Brad Thor.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Brad Thor did a great job holding my attention. After starting the book, I did not want to put it down. Reading this book has made me want to read more in his series. This book has opened my eyes on the view that not every country likes America. It seems to be posible that the book might actually take place in my life time. A few of the newer telivesion showes have picked up on Thor's ideas about the suitcase nukes and put a new spin so we can relate to it more like Fox's 24 with Jack Bauer. Once you read this book you will want to read his next work.
sbd1988 More than 1 year ago
Was the end of the Cold War just a ploy of the Russians playing possum? In State of the Union, the third book of Brad Thor's series about fictional Secret Service agent Scot Harvath, the Russians did just that! And now there's a plot to destroy the United States! The president, his forces, and Scot Harvath have to race against time to stop the beyond evil plot and save the United States. I found this book a great start to the Ultimate Reading Adventure because it was non-stop action and adventure that takes the reader from the United States to Germany, Norway, Russia, and back home again. I have read the other books in the series previous to reading this one, so I knew the background information about Scot Harvath, the leading guy in this story; however, Brad Thor does a great job of reminding the reader of the important information of Harvath's character. My favorite new character in the novel was Herman the German because of his humor, especially when relating to his pistols, Helga and Kristina. State of the Union has everything the reader could want: humor, action / adventure, romance, suspense, and emotion. The overall message of the whole series is standing up for what you believe, even if it means risking life and limb; Scot Harvath lives by this message, and with every page, he stands up and fights for the American way of life, even if it means that he can't go to his father's memorial service that he had planned with his mother.
organicwench More than 1 year ago
I am only half way through this book, but I can say that so far this is my kind of book - mystery, intrigue, action, edge of your seat reading. A bunch of good bad ass guys outsmarting the bad guys. I love political thrillers. Totally entertaining.
loves_to_readEV More than 1 year ago
I loved this book - I could not put it down. I have read a few of his books, and while the Lions one is probably his best known and that was good as well - I think State of the Union was by far his best!
ryan18 More than 1 year ago
what else can i say? this book was simply amazing. A MUST READ BOOK FOR EVERYONE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Since I picked up the first of his books I have been hooked. The book is action packed and is a hard book to put down. I was not disappointed with the lastest Scot Harvath story. You really get into the story and I found myself excited from the first page. If you like action, espianage, police procedurals you will love this book. Try this and you will be hooked on the whole series.
Anonymous 8 months ago
a+page+Turner+
DanStratton on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wasn't real impressed with the book. The premise didn't seem too possible to me.
jmcclain19 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mother Russia is back - back with a vengeance. Thor spins quite the yarn with this story - while everyone else is telling tales of Islamic terrorists around every corner, Thor does a 180 and dips back into the Cold War to dust off Russia as America's primary nemesis. With Russia armed to the teeth with suitcase nukes ready to go off on US soil, America v. Russia in the 21st Century makes for quite the read. Although I could do without the Hollywood-esq last couple of pages, the overall storyline is strong and keeps you churning through the story at a wicked pace. Seems like his books get better as the series goes on.
MSWallack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, the weakest of the Scot Harvath books. The plot seemed to be thrown together without the author having asked a lot of important "what if" questions before proceeding with plot developments. The latter portions of the book also seemed to lack the detail of the earlier portions, which gave me the feeling that the author hurried to get through the book, rather than taking his time to fully develop the story and characters. I kept feeling that I needed to read the "director's cut" to see what I'd missed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fight scenes were very week
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pads in. "I am here to take moonkit to my my clan." Glares at deathclaw. "A clan thats not heartless." Looks at moonkit. "Would you like to come to emberclan? Youll be loved there. And there is plenty of playmates."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He padded in and looked down at Shadowclaw, "Do you need help convincing her?"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Runs in
allazone More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
as all of his books they stand alone
GRACIE9492 More than 1 year ago
BRILLIANT WRITER
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just recently got hooked on Brad Thor. All his books so far are an excellent read. If you've read Lee Childs and David Baldacci you'll love Brad Thor as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excuse me, but did a chapter or two at the end get left out of my copy of this book? Nope, went back through and checked. Clancy and Flynn are dead, God rest their souls, and Coonts seems to be retired, so what can a poor boy turn to? I have read three Brad Thor books. Enjoyed the first two, but the ending on this one is SO BAD that I am compelled, after reading over 100 books on Nook (most of them of this genre), to write my first review. It's like Thor wrote most of it, put it away for a couple of years, and came back to finish it in 30 minutes. A TOTAL waste of time. STAY AWAY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago