Spiders

Spiders

by Nic Bishop

Paperback

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Spiders 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Ctorm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
5Q 5PNic Bishop captures rare and fascinating images of creepy crawly creatures that will captivate readers. These exquisite photos are so stunning that even arachnophobes will become immersed. Interesting blurbs of information regarding spiders speckle the pages but are greatly overshadowed by the brilliant photographs
chelsiking on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a book that reviews & illustrates various types of spiders. It's not anything special, but gives readers great descriptions of spiders.
JasmineW on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is written by Nic Bishop. It is very short, but provides so much information about spiders. The book tells you things you might not have never known before about spiders. For example, it says spiders were hunting before tigers and lions, even before Tyrannosaurus rex. 350 million years, spiders were the first predators to walk on land. Interesting enough, there are more than 38,000 types of spiders. By the end of the book, the reader will learn all about spiders, up close and personal!The first thing I want to do is have my students watch a movie/film on spiders. I will pick a film that shows spiders up close and personal, like the book does. I want them to fill out their graphic organizer as they watch the movie. Not only will the students be amazed, they will learn cool facts about spiders, and take notes to fill in the graphic organizer as they watch the film. The students will turn in the graphic organizer for points used toward the next test. The next thing I want to do with this book is to have my students make their own spider model. Only instructions: pick a spider mentioned in the book (tarantula, green lynx, black widow, long-jawed, huntsman, cobalt-blue tarantula, etc.). The student should use clay, play-doh, styrofoam and pipe cleaners, or draw/paint on paper, a spider. When using clay or play-doh, the student must make sure the item has had time to dry as well as harden, so that it doesn't break or fall apart. The students will display the model in class for everyone to view. The student should include a description of the spider chosen with his or her model. I enjoyed reading the book. I didn't care so much about reading about spiders, but I end up liking it. It provides wonderful, up-close and personal photos, which I loved! I enjoyed reading the information about the different spiders, and the reader can learn a lot of things perhaps you've never known before. I found it very interesting that the author was also the photographer. I thought that was pretty cool that he watches the spiders for months as they grow. Then, he provides all of the information to us in his book called Spiders. I rate in 4 stars!
silly_tine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before I read this book, I knew I was not very fond of spiders or other insects for that matter. I did not realize, however, how much I truly despised spiders until I flipped through the pages. Kudos to Nic Bishop and his fabulous photography used in this book! It is possibly his innovative photography of the spiders that sparked my unknown hatred of these creatures. Each page features a vibrant, graphic picture of a different spider with both facts of spiders in general and facts of the specific spider depicted on the page. What is even worse is the beauty of the spiders Bishop captured. He makes them look so beautiful in his photographs; it is this, perhaps, what made them look even more frightening to me. It is no wonder Nic Bishop won the Robert F. Sibert Honor Book award.
patsila on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
fabulous photography!!! and very good narration keeps a young reader's interest.
dylantanner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Nic Bishop's amazing and saturated photographs illustrate a not to dry account of the life and behaviors of many of the worlds arachnids.Children's InformationalIf I had any issue at all with eight legged friends this book would be the death of me! the pictures aare so intense and alien that they can be a little unnerving.If you've got a kid into spiders this is the way to go. I bought this and am keeping it as a classroom resource. The pics and info go hand in hand -for that little one who loves these creepy crawlies.
rpultusk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This beautiful book on spiders contains huge, bold photographs, colorful pages (colored paper!), and multiple text sizes so that the most important facts on each page really stand out. While each page may contain less text than other informational text books, the layout of the text in this book works to (hopefully) make the facts more accessible.Because I recognize both Nic Bishop and the Sibert Honor on the cover of the book, I trust that the information contained in the text is accurate. The book does not appear to be organized in a topical way, which might be confusing for some readers. The design of the book would, ideally, facilitate comprehension of important facts. The style of the book is beautiful and engaging -- bold, close-up photographs with short paragraphs of informational text and lots of blank space on the colorful pages. The style of the text is less formal than most informational textbooks, also, ideally, lending to its appeal.Highly recommended for elementary school libraries
jilnicw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
What I learned from this book:Don't ask Jamie to bring you a selection of children's books that have won awards, or she will include a disgusting book about something you're deathly afraid of.
PeterSinclair on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This brightly colored book is fun and educational. I had a hard time reading it because I hate spiders, but I wanted to see what was next. The eight eyes that can see several directions at once, and hair that is so sensitive it can feel a flying insect nearby make spiders appear to be straight out of a science fiction movie. I still hate them, but page after page, this book is hard to put down.
katrinafroelich on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Absolutely breathtaking photographs of spiders. I usually flee from spiders, but these images draw you in, and invite to to examine and admire the abilities and characteristics of spiders. Clear information easily accessible for the young reader. This book is captivating -- and especially interesting to read about how the photographs were taken!
NaomiCamacho More than 1 year ago
Spiders! One of my least favorite things of all time! However, this book opened my eyes to a lot of interesting facts about them. For instance, I didn’t know that some spiders carry around their babies for a while after they’re born. Can you imagine? Not only seeing a hideous spider, but finding out she has hundreds of live babies on her back?! Although I will not be rushing out to a pet store to buy a pet tarantula anytime soon, this book would be a nice one to read in a science class to some elementary students. It provides informational facts as well as amazing (but give you the creepy crawlies) pictures!
alexusM More than 1 year ago
This is a great picture book. I found this book a bit scary only because the pictures are really nice and shows every detail of numerous spiders. I would suggest this book for elementary level students during a science lesson.
jeanettemarquez More than 1 year ago
This book was a very interesting but a bit disturbing at the same time. It really allows you to visualize a variety of different spiders. If you are someone who doesn't like spiders or better yet, has a phobia of spiders i would definitely not recommend this book, at the same time i would not recommend this to the younger age group of children. The illustrations were very realistic and at some points I also got a little disgusted and freaked out myself by how real these pictures looked in this book. It felt as if the pictures were the real thing, you were able to see the smallest details and even seemed like you could feel the texture of the spider. I would definitely recommend this for maybe a science class, it would provide an abundance of information for the students and i think it would better suit like a middle school group of students.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SPIDER FACTS- Spiders by Nic Bishop is an outstanding picture book that won the Sibert Award. In this easy to read factual book, children can engage in their reading with gruesome and extreme close up images of spiders. The text is consisted of simplistic facts about these creatures while the pictures are detailed and full colored images. Children between the grades of first and third will enjoy this read, while children of all ages may enjoy the pictures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JenLG More than 1 year ago
The cover says it all. Nic Bishop’s “Spiders” is all about, well, spiders! For those of us who are weary of these creepy crawlers, this book allows anyone to dive into the fantastic world of spiders and view close-ups of different kinds of spiders, from the teeny-tiny to the super-large variety. This book provides interesting information about many different types of spiders, including their origins, their behavior, their hunting techniques, their physical features, and parenting methods. The bright and colorful display on each page makes it easy for readers to focus on the details of each spider. The vivid photographs overflow into most of the facing pages, which make the spiders seem more real and lifelike. It’s very likely that you can’t help feel like you could almost touch the hairs of one (yikes!). Overall, this book provides an excellent way for children to learn about spiders, and would be the perfect candidate to add as part of the science section of the classroom library or home library.
AnniDominguez More than 1 year ago
"Spiders" is not a recommended book for an individual as squeamish as I am. While reading this book, I could literally feel spiders crawling on my skin. It is a great informative book for kids with a broader vocabulary or who have an interest in these 8 legged creatures. The descriptions of each spider is detailed and the pictures in this book are extraordinary! The author does a great job explaining the wonders of each spider in the book. It is a recommended read for any child who shows a thrill in learning new things about insects.
JMIKELABS More than 1 year ago
Spiders by Nic Bishop is a great picture book full of detailed information about different types of spiders. This Sibert Award winning book is filled with vibrant colors and life like pictures of spiders. This would be a great book for teachers to introduce to their students. The up close pictures in this book speak for themselves. They are trully amazing. They just seem to jump out at you as you turn each page. There are many spiders who do not use webs. I did not know that until I read this book. I always associated webs with spiders, "spiderwebs". It also says that the jumping spiders have the best sight of any kind of spider. Nic Bishop also said that several of the spiders that he listed in the book were home raised. He watched them grow up for months. He did this so that he could capture rare photographs of the spiders during molting, courting and egg-laying. These are just of the amazing facts that are in this wonderful book.
ShelbyCrum More than 1 year ago
Spiders was a well written, thought-out book that is very informative. It was highly educational and had great pictures but if you are like me, the picture kind of creeped me out. But other then that, I thought it was really informative and was done in a way that no matter what age you are, it is easy to understand and you got a lot out of the book.
Felicity0 More than 1 year ago
You don't know what to expect when you first pick up this book. I was wondering if it was a story book, or just a picture book naming spiders. But once I started reading it, I was pleasantly surprised to see how much education and enjoyment this book has to offer! The pictures in the book are breathtaking, they allow the reader to see the intricate details of the many arachnids that are displayed in the text. The book goes into detail with facts about spiders, where they live, what they eat, and their life cycles. Bishop teaches the reader what webs are made of and why they are made, how spiders eat their dinner, and even how they raise their babies. It is easy to see why Nic Bishop is so fascinated by these 8-legged creatures, and as a person who does not like spiders, I found his enthusiasm on the subject contagious.
Cayla More than 1 year ago
Well, this book was an interesting read to say the least. I am terrified of spiders or any little insect for that matter- so reading this book was gross for me and seeing the pictures so close up made my skin cringe. With that said though the photographs were so amazing. They are bright, close ups, and really real. The book contains a lot of informational text that basically informs the reader of the spider and certain details concerning it. The book is unforgetable for me just because I can still see the huge spiders on the pages just waiting to jump out at me.
BM25 More than 1 year ago
The book Spiders by Nic Bishop is an amazing informational picture book. This book would work best when covering a thematic unit on spiders for just about any grade. This book has received the Sibert Award and fall under the Informational Books genre. The book is filled with incredible pictures and information on each of the spiders. The pictures are so close and the information child friendly that this book can be used as a picture book for the younger kids and an independent reading for older kids. This book can also work for students who are fascinated with insects and on science projects or activities. The pictures are so captivating that this a book that students would want to read and look over and over filled with amazement time after time.