Soul's Prisoner

Soul's Prisoner

by Cara Luecht

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Soul's Prisoner 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Virginiaw More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story. What they did to people they accused of being insane during the 1800’s was horrible. This story really shows what could happen to a person that got placed in an insane asylum. I love the characters in this book. My favorite is Miriam. It would be hard to paint the future. I did not want to put this book down. I received a copy of this book from Celebratelit for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
SBMC More than 1 year ago
I must confess that I read this series out of order. I read Soul's Cry, which is the third book in this series, before reading this one (and, shame on me, I haven't read the first book Soul Painter yet). Though the books are continuations of each other and reading them in order will help the reader put the pieces together in a more fluid order, reading them out of order did not detract from the book. There were enough details in this book to deduce the major points from the first book and figure out the personalities of each major character. The book is well-written; addresses some really tough issues like the failings of mental institutions in the 1800s and the dejected and forgotten state of those suffering from mental illness, as well as the emotional and physical scars left by trafficking; paints an unflinching picture of life's disappointments and heartaches and hardships; but overcomes the darkness and grief with a world sweetened by wonderful characters who are deeply devoted to each other in friendship and love and shows the reader the path to redemption and second chances. There are quite a few characters to sort out in this series, but once you get to know them, every single one of them will leave a lasting impression. The strength of friendship and love found amongst this group of characters is real and heart-warming. The author has a powerful voice with a haunting quality that is perfect for storytelling. Anyone who enjoys a soul-stirring inspirational historical will love this book. I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher via Celebrate Lit Tour. I was not required to write a favorable review. All comments and opinions are solely my own.
cscott9 More than 1 year ago
Soul's Prisoner is set in 1891 Chicago during the winter. An Historical fiction novel that includes suspense as well as romance.  Mental Illness is very common today but back in the 1890's it wasn't something people wanted everyone to know about. Families would have their loved ones put away for many reasons, such as a having a child out of wedlock, if they suffered from a mental illness, and many more reasons. In Chicago, the Dunning Asylum for the Insane was where families would commit their loved ones. This is the setting of Soul's Prisoner. Even though its a fictional book, there are some things about the asylum that are true. Can you imagine spending winter without any heat and without hot water? That is how these people had to live.  This novel will send chills and will also have you feeling pain for what these people endured. I really enjoyed reading Soul's Prisoner, Cara Luecht completed her research well upon writing this book. I highly recommend picking a copy of this book up today.  “I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone." 
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
A heart wrenching tale of what sadly went on in mental institutions in this country, and we put a face to the horrors. The author has given us a woman who is able to paint the future and people she has never met, and we also meet some of the people she has previously touched with her gifts. We see life in Chicago in the 1890’s and we are there during winter’s harsh storms, we see people here who have a heart for the less fortunate, some with money, and some who have been there. A compelling read, it will really make it think, and although it is fiction, it is based on fact, and that is really scary. Once you pick this one up you will be reading to the end, you will need answers. I received this book through Celebrate Lit and was not required to give a positive review.
Deana0326 More than 1 year ago
When I started this book the words, eerie, dangerous and evil came to mind. The author captures a time and place that the faint of heart would not survive. As Rachel went down to the basement, I could feel a chill creep down my spine. Her eyes told the story of unspoken evil lurking in air. The writing is superior and takes you right where the story is happening. I can't imagine being in a place where you had to look over your should every few seconds. I screamed as Rachel's freedom was suddenly taken away from her. How can such evil happen with no one to question the outcome? Have you been locked in a room unexpectedly with no way out? You find yourself panicking as tears stream down your face. Rachel seems to lose hope as each day passes . Will someone realize that she is missing? In the late 1850s asylums were like torture chambers. The evil that went on was unspeakable. Rachel is treated with little dignity. I was mesmerized by the details that the author wrote about the evils of asylums that existed long ago. It reminds me of the saying, "If walls could talk." Jeremy is a character I found to be very intuitive. He was determined to find out what had happened to his sister. Wouldn't it be unnerving to have a family member suddenly disappear without a trace? There were times in the book, I wasn't sure I could continue reading. It wasn't because the story was bad, but because the story was so masterfully written that it seemed almost real. Jenny is a very complicated character. Wanting to have a better life for herself and her son seems right in the grasp of her hands. Jenny is haunted by her past and the author gives us pieces of her tormented life with words that reach deep into the soul where darkness is at times. Her story is one that she feels ashamed of and my heart broke for her. The story is very intense and weaves a tale of mind games that only the strongest can survive. Will Rachel be rescued before it's to late? What does she know that would cause people to want to hide her? I thought through the entire book how desperate Rachel felt as she saw her freedom slowly slip into oblivion. The ending is one that will have you on the edge of your seat and your heart pounding so loud you can here each beat. I received a copy of this book from Celebrate Lit. The review is my own opinion.
conniet729 More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the series, and I have read these out of order. At first I had a hard time following all the characters, but after the second chapter, I was able to piece together who everyone was and what the main idea was. This book has some dark tones in it. It features abuse and scenes in an insane asylum. However, it is a great reality of God's grace, and how our messes can turn into messages. The characters are well developed. The storyline is full of twists and turns. I love the author's style of writing. It is unique and she brings her own flair to the story. I enjoyed this story, I received a copy of this book through Celebrate Lit blogging program, all opinions are my own.
DKStevens119 More than 1 year ago
We find Rachel is in danger right from the start. She’s seen too much and the story tells us how she has moved to be closer to the man she thinks she is to marry. She ends up working for the asylum only to be committed as a patient there because she knows a secret that they don't want her to tell! This is not the type book I usually read but.. it certainly kept my attention after the first few chapters. I did enjoy reading it because it is a clean, faith based book. I was gifted a copy and my review is voluntary...
Suzie_W More than 1 year ago
This book has a bit of a dark tone. In fact, the word that came to mind while reading it was gritty. Author Carla Luecht doesn’t shy away from harsh realities or the consequences of a sin-filled world. Soul’s Prisoner tackles the subjects of abuse, mental illness, and to a lesser extent, prostitution. Yet, in each of these, she offers hope—both for her characters and for her readers. It took me a bit to get into this story, but I blame that on a couple outside reasons. First, this is the first book by Luecht I’ve read so I wasn’t used to her writing style. Plus, this is book two in a series, so things may have made a bit more sense at the beginning if I’d read the previous story. Don’t worry if you’re starting here, though, it didn’t take long to connect all the characters. Once that happened, everything fell into place and kept me interested in what was happening to the end. Luecht even managed to surprise me with an unexpected link with the characters near the end of the book. Managing to throw in the unexpected that far into a story always impresses me. Art, friendship, and family each have a prominent place in Soul’s Prisoner. As do redemption from past sins and forgiveness. Ultimately, Luecht brings light into the dark places and spaces of her character’s lives. Disclosure statement: I receive complimentary books from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
amybooksy More than 1 year ago
Soul’s Prisoner is book two from Cara Luecht’s series, Portraits of Grace. I thought it was a pretty good historical read. I enjoyed being transported back in time to 1891 Chicago. The book is so detailed that I could feel the characters’ emotions, struggles and turmoil. I could just envision the surroundings and setting of what it was like in that moment in time. The story has some mystery and suspense flavor to it that made me want to see what would happen next and not want to put the book down. It is, also, full of faith that will inspire a reader to think. After reading Soul’s Prisoner, I realized that I really really need to go and read book one of the Portraits of Grace series, Soul Painter. I can not wait until I read book three, Soul’s Cry. I give this one 4 ½ stars. I highly recommend it. I received this book from the publisher. This review is 100% my own honest opinion.