Someone's Mad at the Hatter

Someone's Mad at the Hatter

by Sandra Bretting

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Someone's Mad at the Hatter 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Missy DuBois isn't starting the year well. When she finds a body stuffed in a rain barrel, her business and her personal life suffer. She isn't a suspect but people are avoiding her. There is only one thing to do. She needs to help the Police find the killer. I like Missy. She's intelligent and caring. She uses her instincts to find clues that might otherwise be overlooked. Her boyfriend, Ambrose, is there to help her. I wonder where their relationship is going. This murder creates chaos and suspicion. There are multiple suspects as well as unexpected twists that kept me guessing as to the killer's identity. This small town is filled with interesting and quirky people who add both humor and drama to the story. Sandra Bretting created interesting characters, sassy dialogue and an intriguing mystery. I'm enjoying this cozy mystery series. I'm looking forward to Missy's next case. I received a copy of this book which I voluntarily read and reviewed. My comments are my honest opinion.
JuliaAD More than 1 year ago
I liked this mystery. I didn't guess the person who committed the murder. Missy finds another dead body. Why does this keep happening to her? As she tries to help her friend solve the murder, she is trying to keep her business open. With a dead body being found behind her shop, people are not wanting to do business with her. She won't be able to survive if she loses another customer. When talking to people that may be involved with the murder, she finds out a few surprising things. Good story.
mommy_to_zoe More than 1 year ago
This is my maiden voyage into the storytelling of Sandra Bretting. I have quite enjoyed the journey of Missy DuBois while reading Someone’s Mad at the Hatter. I found Missy relatable, caring and a down-to-earth protagonist. Having started the series at book three was not a problem. There was enough back story so that I quickly got a flavour of what Missy DuBois was all about. While I said Miss was relatable and down-to-earth, she also had a bit of a quirkiness to her which I loved. Sandra Bretting has an easy to read style, which lulled me into believing I could easily figure out “whodunit’. Boy was I wrong (thankfully). I really, for some reason, was not able to connect the dots and figure out the killer until divulged by Missy. That says a lot in my books about the mystery writing capabilities of the author. Kudos. I chuckled a number of times while getting to know Missy. Seems like Missy can’t stay out of an investigation, even when she tries. Predictable, but still endearing for this character. It seems as if Missy didn’t have bad luck, she wouldn’t have any luck at all! This murder happened right outside her business – Crowning Glory – a wedding hat boutique. The body was stuffed into Missy’s rain barrel and the murder weapon is no less than a hairpin! Could it look any worse? Well of course Missy is going to do a bit of snooping, so as to clear her name. If I was to have one “grumpy” thought about the book it was that I was not satisfied with the love interest. I felt that Ambrose for most of the book did not have the required newly dating interest in Missy. I felt WAY more chemistry between Missy and Lance. I suspect if I was to go back and read the first two books, this might help? I guess time will tell. A favourite quote: Lance to Missy when Missy brings up that she should get the details of the case: “You seem to have this freaky sixth sense when it come to people who are lying. I used to hate that about you when we were kids.” As a result of this quote – I can’t wait to go back and start the series from book one and see what I can learn about Missy, Lance and of course Ambrose. I want the back history on Missy and Lance. The supporting cast of characters in the book which were present to ostensibly muddy the pool of suspects were many; and I totally enjoyed getting to know each of them. All in all – a great, fun read. Someone’s Mad at the Hatter was a delight and I cannot wait to pick up more titles by Sandra Bretting.
Michelle_Palmer More than 1 year ago
A Louisiana hatmaker who finds dead bodies on the side? Every Southerner knows that you never skimp on the good luck peas on New Years Eve. Missy neglects to eat them and her New Year turns out to be out of luck. A charming small Louisiana town filled with people involved in the wedding industry. Jealousy, revenge, and "bless your heart"'s abound. Overall this is a cute, sweet, cozy little mystery without much in the way of gore, violence (except for an off screen murder,) or sex. Apparently this is the third book in the series, though I read it out of order and it was perfectly fine.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Fast pace, interesting plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Colorful characters in a fast paced murder mystery.
Jnn38364 More than 1 year ago
I got a free ebook through The Review Crew for an honest review, This is the third book in the Missy DuBois Mystery Series, which is a cozy mystery, I enjoy reading cozies because their fun and usually have some good fun light hearted characters that everyone can relate to with some laughs along the way. In this book it starts off with the main character Missy finding Charlotte Deveraux inside a whiskey barrel that Missy was using as a rain barrel to keep track of how much rain has fallen and she was killed with a hat rack (that Missy used as a rain gauge) in the back of Missy DuBois's Louisiana hat studio "Crowning Glory". (this does not look good for Missy). When people hear what happened clients start cancelling, so Missy decides to find out who killed Charlotte, a wedding planner she had worked with a few times in the past, while trying to figure out if her relationship with wedding dress designer boyfriend Ambrose who has his shop right next door to her shop is going anywhere, at least she has her longtime friend Lance who is a detective with the Louisiana state police right?
JDSecrest More than 1 year ago
Someone’s Mad at the Hatter by Sandra Bretting Review by Jessica Secrest It's not a good way to start the new year for Missy Dubois. She owns the millinery store, Crowning Glory, and specializes in wedding veils and hats. It is New Year's Day and she is at a party. Her boyfriend, Ambrose, designs wedding dresses and says he is going into work. He encourages Missy to eat her good luck beans and to check on her store and pick up the mail. Big mistake. Missy decides that she needs to call the landlord about a watermark on her ceiling. She remembers the rain guage behind the store. That's where she makes the gruesome discovery. One of the things, I really enjoyed about this story is the dialogue. The setting is a town on the Mississippi River. This was a fun scene. “Oui. Da cornbread and collard greens.” She spied the nearly full plate in my hand before I could do anything about it. “And ya barely touched yers. Gah-lee. Ya be gettin’ so skinny, betcha don’ even throw da shadow.” She leaned in close. “I gotta magick potion put soma dat weight back on ya.” The author, Susan Bretting, sprinkled enough of what I consider Southern speech and mannerisms to keep the mystery feeling true. Ms. Bretting has woven an intriguing mystery with a surprising ending. It kept me guessing. Her characters are colorful. With every red herring, I kept thinking that's not the killer. That's not the killer. A couple of the characters I questioned. I really was surprised who it was. The person I liked for the murder, I couldn't quite figure out what the motive might be. “Next time, Missy, eat the good-luck peas!” If your looking for a light read this New Year's, I recommend “Someone's Mad at the Hatter.” Boy, were they mad.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
Missy decides to go into work, even though it's New Years Day, to take care of some things while Ambrose works with a client. When she arrives and discovers a body in the whiskey barrel she uses as a rain gauge she wonders who it could be and why dump the body there. It turns out to be Charlotte Deveraux, a local wedding planner that Missy likes and has worked with on several occasions. Things start to go down hill when people learn that the weapon used was a rain gauge that Missy made, and clients start canceling. She decides she can't just stand by and do nothing so she jumps into investigative mode and learns that Charlotte had plans to expand her business, and that would have stepped on a bunch of toes. With an ever expanding list of suspects Missy delves deeper into just who could have wanted Charlotte dead. This was such a fun read, I love a well put together cozy and those set in the south are a favorite. They always evoke wonderful memories with their sayings, food, and characters and this one was no different. If you aren't from the south you will definitely get a dose of southern life and will be tickled by all the unique sayings. I look forward to seeing more of these characters in the future and what life has to offer up next.