Sleep Like a Baby: An Aurora Teagarden Mystery

Sleep Like a Baby: An Aurora Teagarden Mystery

by Charlaine Harris

Hardcover

$23.39 $25.99 Save 10% Current price is $23.39, Original price is $25.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sleep Like a Baby: An Aurora Teagarden Mystery 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Sleep Like A Baby is the tenth novel in the Aurora Teagarden series by American author, Charlaine Harris. New mom of baby Sophie, Roe has the ‘flu when Robin goes off to a conference to be presented with an award. Because Aida and John are also away, Robin and Roe enlist help to look after Sophie. But in the small hours of Sunday morning, Roe wakes to a crying baby, an absent helper and, on searching, a dead body in the backyard. Roe’s not operating on all cylinders in this episode, but still manages to figure it all out in the end. This instalment has plenty of twists, turns and a red herring or two; three separate but intertwined stories, as well as incidental side tales that add wrinkles. Roe’s young half-brother, Phillip shows great maturity when needed; some acquaintances surprise pleasantly, others less so. There are dogs and a puzzling theft and things going missing; a shootout in a hospital carpark; both Robin and Roe holding back information to prevent the other from worrying; and the killer will be a complete surprise to most readers. Enjoyable, as always.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do not know if it is because it was so long between entries in the series, but this was my least favorite. The plot device about Roe being sick dragged on and all the breast feeding just got annoying (and I am all for it but again just got annoying as a plot device). If there is another one, I sure gope it is better than this. This was just average.
SGMomma More than 1 year ago
Another great Roe Story! I love the path this series has taken! They are always a fun read that leaves me very satisfied and wanting more! I did miss some of the familiar characters from previous books, but still a great story.
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
Aurora Teagarden has a lot on her plate in this newest book in this great series. As a new mother she is just starting to learn the best ways to make her daughter happy , while keeping her healthy. Her husband, Robin, needs to go out of town to an award ceremony in the hopes his book will win. Unfortunately, Roe is not feeling well as he is getting ready to leave, so he calls the woman who helped them with the baby when she first came home from the hospital. After Robin leaves, Roe becomes ill with the flu and spends much of her time asleep in her bed, counting on her brother and her paid help to care for the baby. Roe is awoken by a noise in the night and manages to get out of bed to find the woman hired to take care of the baby gone and a dead body in the back yard. A true nightmare. Robin is accused of the murder when he comes back to town and Roe must use all of the energy she can spare to find the real killer before her new family is torn apart. I really enjoyed this newest book in the Aurora Teagarden series. It was full of twists and surprises. I didn't know who the killer was until the end and it was a unique spin on a murder mystery.
BuriedUnderBooks More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Roe seems to be in the midst of a lot of relatively new life experiences, what with a fairly recent marriage, a younger brother who hasn't been in the picture all that long, a brand new baby and, now, a new dead body. Goodness, what's a sleuthing librarian to do? When Robin has to leave town for a few days and Roe is sick, they call for help from Virginia who had been a nanny/housekeeper/mother's aide after Sophie's birth and she's happy to come do night duty. Roe's much younger half-brother, Philip, who lives with them now, will help out in the daytime as much as he can so Roe feels comfortable sending Robin off to his book convention. That comfort is, of course, the trigger for dastardly things to start happening. This time it's a double whammy when Virginia goes missing and there's a strange woman lying dead in Roe's backyard. Obviously, the police have to be called but this IS her backyard and her missing nanny so, naturally, she's going to do some investigating on her own, right? One of the first things that comes to light is that the dead woman is no stranger and then the clues begin to mount. Now, I've been making a little fun of Roe and her latest exploits but the truth is she's one of my go-to amateur sleuths when I'm feeling the need for some light mystery reading. Roe is a smart woman, well-educated, and she has the chops to do the snooping what with her amateur criminology background. Belonging to a club of people who like to solve mysteries gives her a one-up on most sleuths and some cops. And Robin, well, he's one of the very good guys and I appreciate their relationship and their respect for each other even though I sort of wish they hadn't gotten married. I also am not thrilled with her having a baby. Robin and Sophie kind of throw this series into the land of those TV shows where we wait for years for that special relationship to happen and when it does everything starts to go flat. That hasn't happened yet but there's no doubt Roe's behavior and perspective are different now and the family issues were a bit too front and center. Still, I really did enjoy this book and I'll just have to see where things go from here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a book that you stay up to read but enjoyable none the less. It brought back memories of my own children as babies and how all encompassing they are in your life as their mother. I had forgotten that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put the book down. Enjoyed reading it and I look forward to the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Roe is one of my favorite people. She has a strict code of morals nut she can be persnickity and selfish...I love that. I love putting things together in these mysteries...Roe is usually so smart but this time she was sick and sleep deprived and missed some minor clues. I'm sad to finish this book!
Myndia More than 1 year ago
It is no secret that I am a tried and true Charlaine Harris fan. If there is a book she’s written, I’ve read it. Her worlds are easy to get lost in and her characters are easy to love. Aurora Teagarden is no exception. Roe has always been one of my favorite characters. Whether it’s her career as a librarian (and therefore love for books!), her penchant for finding herself wound up in murder mysteries (how could there be so many in such a small town, one has to wonder), or her way of moving about in the world with a strong self-awareness of who she is while also being very cognizant of the needs of others, I couldn’t say. All I know is, I’d love to be friends with Roe. As for this book in particular, #10 in the Aurora Teagarden series, I’m not going to lie. It isn’t my favorite. Don’t get me wrong. The plot is pretty good. The writing is exactly what you’d expect from Ms. Harris. But there was something missing for me, and I can’t quite put my finger on it. The last book was so, so good, and I was really excited about it because it had been a long while since anything had been written in the series. In fact, I thought the series was over. But even after such a long break, All the Little Liars was right on track with all its predecessors. So, what was different about this one? Well, two things. To be honest, I just don’t feel the relationship between her and her new husband, Robin. It feels like friends who made one of those “if we aren’t married to other people by the time we’re 40…” kind of things. I just don’t feel any connection between them. It’s not a romance novel, so that shouldn’t be a huge issue, but since their relationship and their family is a major part of this particular book, not being able to feel a spark between them was a little off-putting. The second thing is, the baby changes everything. Don’t get me wrong, it should. As a mother, I know having kids changes everything in your world – how you see it, your place in it, your priorities, how you feel about yourself. So, naturally, it changed all of those things for Roe as well. But it also changes the tone of the story, and I wasn’t really expecting that. Everything is told from Roe’s point of view, so if her POV is dramatically changed, the readers experience changes as well, no? Not bad, just a shift I wasn’t anticipating. At the end of the day, it’s Charlaine Harris. It was a pleasure to read, even if it was a little different from what I anticipated. And, I’m hoping there will be at least one more in the series, perhaps a chance to see Roe get back to herself a little more before winding things up. If you’re a Charlaine Harris fan, I probably don’t have to convince you to read this one. If you aren’t familiar with the series, I highly recommend starting at the beginning, not because you’ll be lost if you don’t, but because you’ll have a better idea of who Roe is if you watch her grow through all of the books. Note: I received this book from the publisher. I pride myself on writing fair and honest reviews.
moohnshine More than 1 year ago
I love Charlaine Harris books. She out does herself again in her newest installment of the Aurora Teagarden Mysteries. In this book Aurora and Robin are now new parents and Philip still lives with them. As they adjust to the new lives with newborn Sophie. Robin is up for a big writers award and has to travel out-of-town to receive the award. Roe is feeling under the weather, so Robin calls Ms. Virginia to come help Roe out with the baby. While Robin is gone Ms Virgina goes missing and a dead woman turns up in the back yard. Who is this dead woman? How did she come to be in Roe’s yard? And more importantly where is Ms. Virginia? This book was really suspenseful. There were some moments where I covered my mouth and was like oh no! There were some scary moments too. I love this series. I really enjoyed the story. Ms Harris is an excellent writer, capturing her audience with her writing skills. Her stories are fast paced and exciting. You will think you have the story all figured out and then the twist comes and you are like what?! No Way! I love the characters in this series. The characters are people you can relate to, dealing with real problems. Aurora is a librarian and Roe is a famous writer. They have dated earlier on in the series then he moved away. He then came back right around the time of her husband Martian’s death. I always liked the chemistry between her and Robin and her brother Philip is such a sweet kid, you can’t help but love him. This series is also been made into Hallmark movies. If you love a good cozy mystery this is the series for you. I suggest you go out and pick up the first one Real Murders. *ARC provided by Netgalley, Minotaur & St Martins Press
TheCozyReview More than 1 year ago
Robin and Roe are new parents. Their newborn daughter, Sophie is proving to be a handful, Roe’s mother helps by paying for Virginia Mitchell, to come to their rescue for the first few weeks. Virginia is accommodating and steps in when Robin has to go out of town for work. Too bad she goes missing, and a dead body is found in the backyard. Roe doesn’t want to worry Robin, so she keeps the fact that she is suffering from a severe case of the flu. A couple of nights after Robin leaves Roe wakes to hear her daughter crying, and Virginia is nowhere to be found. Roe and her brother. Philip searches the house and the backyard. What they find is a dead woman, but it isn’t Virginia. She doesn’t recognize the mystery woman and doesn’t know what happened to Virginia. Is she alive, or like the unknown woman in the backyard, is her body out there waiting to be found? -- Series: An Aurora Teagarden Mystery - Book 10 Author: Charlaine Harris Genre: Cozy Mystery Publisher: Minotaur Books In Sleep Like a Baby, the latest installment of the #1 New York Times Best-selling Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden series, Roe is a new mom with a dead woman in her backyard. She is sick and has a missing babysitter as well. Are the two events related or just coincidence? It is up to Roe to find out and quickly. The dead woman is ultimately revealed as Robin’s stalker and a woman who had tried to kill Roe in the past. This is a heartwarming story of relationships, adventures in childcare and murder. The characters are well developed and have endearing personalities. Roe is a typical new mother, exhausted and proud, as well as worried. Readers with young children or new parents will have no problem relating to Roe and everything she is going through. The murder investigation is not as detailed as some readers may like, and in truth would not be very realistic. Having one of the lead detectives in the investigation as an old friend of the main character is a scenario that would, in real life, rarely, if ever, occur. A true detective would excuse himself from the investigation as being biased. However, this aside, the characters are beautifully written with just the right amount of eccentricities to make them believable. Ms. Harris has a smooth, natural writing style and can tell a story. The book was not as fast-paced as others in the series and got bogged down with all the new baby and relationship issues. Unfortunately, the story seemed more about the new parents, their recent marriage, and Roe’s brother than about the murder and the victim. The main character, Roe did little to no investigation. The solution and unveiling of the killer were more of an accident than any real clues. Sleep Like a Baby is a good story if the reader likes personal issues involved in their mysteries more than evidence or suspects and is interspersed with a family dynamic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed this (and all the other series) for years. A great rainy day read and kept me guessing until the end. Thanks for all the pleasure your books have given me over the years .
Sue_H More than 1 year ago
Sleep Like a Baby is the tenth book in the Aurora Teagarden Mystery series. This can be read as a standalone but makes more sense if you have read the previous books. This is a cozy mystery so there is some violence. The book blurb adequately describes the storyline so I'm not going to repeat that all info here. The author did a good job of explaining what is going on in the series for new readers . The characters are well written, even if you don't like some of them. There are clues in the storyline that keep you guessing what twists and turns will be revealed next. While the storyline is predictable, both old and new fans of the series will enjoy it. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and chose to leave a review for other readers.
MBurton More than 1 year ago
In this installment of the Aurora (Roe) Teagarden series, we have a new mystery to uncover. Roe has delivered little Sophia and is unable to go to the awards ceremony that Robin has been nominated in for one of his books. As he gets ready to leave for the weekend, Roe is starting to feel unwell. Robin calls in the help of caregiver, Virginia to help with Sophia at nights while he is gone. As the weekend progresses, Roe is feeling worse and worse. She can barely function past breastfeeding Sophia and is very thankful for her brother and Virginia's help until she wakes up the second night to Sophia full on screaming and no signs of Virginia. She drags herself out of bed to take care of the baby and then wakes Phillip up to help her look for Virginia and finds a dead body in the back yard instead. I've never thought of myself as much of a fan of mysteries but I have to say I'm really enjoying this series. It's written very well and I really like unraveling the clues as the characters do. I do find it funny that Roe seems to have an awful lot happen to her in this small town. If we were speaking real life, I think I would have moved a long time ago but for fiction, it's pretty entertaining. I look forward to what the author comes up with next. ARC provided by Netgalley.
MusicInPrint More than 1 year ago
World of mystery is better with Aurora Teagarden in it. Always been a fan of Aurora and have been enjoying Hallmark adding her to their movies. Aurora is juggling all the new aspects of her life with a new husband, a half brother in residence and a beautiful baby girl. All details being new, dead bodies turning up in Aurora's yard remains a constant. Having an infant to care for and a husband out of town leaves little time for crime solving. All in all still a great read with Harris sharing more into our favorite characters' lives. "A copy of this book was provided to me by St. Martin's Press with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and my comments here are my honest opinion."
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
I was so excited when this series was brought back to life and can say I'm not disappointed in the direction that it is heading. In this next book of the series Aurora is getting into her routine as a new mother. When Robin, Roes husband has to go out of town to receive an award she wonders if she will be able to handle everything herself. As Robin is leaving Aurora turns up sick so he hires Virginia who helped them when they first brought the baby home to help her out. A few days later on a stormy night Roe is awakened by her babies cries. While investigating she realizes Virginia is nowhere to be found so she wakes her half-brother up to help search. During the search they find a body in the backyard who isn't Virginia. Roe thinks she looks familiar but isn't sure who it could be. Follow along as Aurora tries to figure out if she wants to return to work at the library, who the strange woman is in the backyard, and what exactly happened to Virginia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still trying to charge money for this?