Skinnybones

Skinnybones

by Barbara Park

Paperback(Revised)

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Skinnybones (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Katherine Siddall More than 1 year ago
I read this before in school and it was good. Good job overall
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That is the best word in the book. It is so funny
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thi book is supe funny i love it read it you will lik it
Vol4Life More than 1 year ago
I read this book (before it was revised) back in the early '90's, when I was in elementary school. It is the funniest book I have ever read and can be enjoyed by all ages.
zmalensek on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
alex has a hard time making friends and nobody thinks he's good at anything.and he doesn't know what kind ofmess he's gotten into until it's to late.
jakdomin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Laugh-out-loud funny, this is a great adventure book showcasing the life of a skinny not-so-athletic boy named Alex, and the effort he puts forth to fit in. Young readers will instantly be hooked with Alex¿s entry letter to ¿Kitty Fritters¿ in which his humor is instantly apparent. ¿Anyway, I think you should keep on making Kitty Fritters as long as there are people like my mother who don¿t think cats mind eating rubber.¿ (Page 1) This entry ends up winning him a spot on a national TV commercial where he finally gets the attention that his nemesis T.J. had been getting all along. Alex¿s inferiority, along with his humor will most likely be very relatable for readers. The short length and humor serve as a great book to read aloud in class, providing lots of feedback.
edtech5 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Park, B., (1997). Skinnybones. New York: Random House.The original "Skinnybones," was written in 1982, but the author created this "new and improved," version but the character still has a lot of tricks and jokes up his sleeves. I believe the book does touch on some of the realities of life for today's children, but might go a little overboard at times. Is there one kid that can really get himself into that much trouble? Alex, aka "Skinnybones," is always in some kind of predicament. This is why at times, the character is not always convincing, although his antics do elicit a good laugh every few pages.
melopher on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this aloud to my kids, based on a reccomendation from The Read-Aloud Handbook. We were SO unimpressed. None of my kids liked it. It was supposed to be lol funny, but they laughed maybe once. My kids were shocked at how the kid bargained with God, as well as the lying and general lack of respect. UGH! They enjoyed The Plants That Ate Dirty Socks and Pippi Longstocking much more as far as funny books. We just didn't connect with the humor at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book talks about nothing but baseball and things like that.Plus does the press really come to a baseball game just to interview some kid who happens to be good at baseball?Please.I know people that are better than the guy at baseball and they are in like third grade.The book is a waste of money and it is such a boy book.I mean at least include a sister or a crush.This book is a waste of money.Save your money for other books.DO NOT BUY!!!:(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
N
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Congraguglations
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE IT!!!!I laughed the whole first chapter!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My son loves it. I am so glad his 3rd grade teacher suggested it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book.It is so funny.My fourth grade teacher read it to me:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I PAID FOR THE BOOK BUT I CANT VEN READ IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rak3301 More than 1 year ago
Skinnybones is a novel about a mischievous little boy named Alex who loves finding ways to become the center of attention. This novel will keep you laughing and wondering what mischievous thing he will attempt next. Alex's mischievousness and arrogant attitude often causes him embarrassment and difficulties in several situations and add to this entertaining novel. I definitely encourage young boys to read this novel because it has several life lessons and has quite a surprising ending. rak3301
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MYCHEESE More than 1 year ago
I love this this book so far! Any kid or teen would like this book! Strongly reccomended
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS BOOK it is awesome i've read it so many times it's my favorite i would HIGHLY recommendit to EVERYONE if you haven't read it yet you'll love it
Guest More than 1 year ago
my teacher just read the most hillarous book called SkinnyBones,the authour is Barbera Parks.the main character is Alex Frankovitch who enters a contest to be in a comercial for kitty fritters. That is a rubber tasting cat food thatAlex`s mom buys for their cat,Fluffy.One day Alex went to get a haircut when the barber said 'oops'and shaed off all his hair. This is the most interesting and hillarious book that my ears have had the pleasure of hearing. Skinnybones is by far my favorite book.