Silver Wedding

Silver Wedding

by Maeve Binchy

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$8.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Silver Wedding 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this is not one of my favorite books that Maeve Binchy has written, I would recommend the read. She is a favorite author of mine. I do enjoy her books and look forward to the next.
Anonymous 20 days ago
Loved it
meli1029 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
At points during this book, I questioned why I continued to read because I wasn't sure that I actually like the book. But the focus of one character per chapter bit worked and I enjoyed the depth of each chapter. The author also brought home everyone at the end and that worked for me too. It was a quick read and after thinking about it, a pretty enjoyable one as well.
bookworm12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Desmond and Deirdre Doyle are about to celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary. Binchy's novel profiles each of the important people involved in the original wedding and the couple's three children. The groom, bride, each of the adult offspring, the best man and the maid of honor all have individual chapters telling their story. I've always had a soft spot for Binchy. I love her character-driven tales and have read almost everything she's written. This is definitely not one of my favorites. It's a quick read with some interesting aspects, but I won't remember the characters. If you want to try her out I would recommend Evening Class, Circle of Friends or Tara Road.
jayne_charles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The main focus of this book is on the anticipated silver wedding celebrations of the two main characters, who live not in Ireland, this time, but in 'Darkest Pinner'. Each chapter concentrates on a different member of the family/friends, expanding the picture to include the characters' own individual sub-dramas.The triumph of this novel is in the creation of so many characters you can empathise with and care about, and the shades of light and dark in all their personalities.
eileenmary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I like her writing style, she dedicates each chapter to a charecter. However, the last chapter doesnt do sufficient job of tying the story together
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GracieO More than 1 year ago
There was little in this novel to hold my interest. The characters did not deserve our caring much what happened to them. The author struggled with making the wedding interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
As usual the reviews are all quiet different. This book to me was a fast smooth meaty read for those that love a 'story' which stands alone. MB characters come alive -- shes great at storytelling. See for yourself !!