Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea: The History and Discovery of the World's Richest Shipwreck

Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea: The History and Discovery of the World's Richest Shipwreck

by Gary Kinder

Paperback(First Trade Paper Edition)

$17.10 $19.00 Save 10% Current price is $17.1, Original price is $19. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ship of Gold in the Deep Blue Sea 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read and re-read this awesome book. If ever there were a true story of deep interest to all numismatic collectors and treasure-hunters, this is it. It's beautifully narrated -- it's no cliche that you can't put it down -- it's a fact! The preceding review by Barnes & Noble about says it all; however, it's extremely difficult to describe the true excitement that this book generates! I give this book an unadulterated FIVE STARS. --
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Outstanding character, intelligence, dedication and integrity of all who made this happen. And especially their leader Tommy Thompson
kenno82 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The publisher needs to revisit the cover and the title. I thought it would be as interesting as reading the Sunday classifieds on first look. However, Kinder has provided a compelling account of one hell of an underwater adventure. I'd never heard of the sinking of Central America, but the tragedy is unique in terms of size, history and consequence. The book follows the project to find and salvage the wreckage. It's a great read. It reminded me a little of Shadow Divers, both in terms of the story, the way it's told and the enthusiasm and drive of the protagonists.
afterlifewriter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A marvelous book; a real page turner. Keep the reader's interest through all the 400 + pages.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In 1857, the SS Central America, a "side-wheeler steamer" sank, taking over 400 lives--and taking with it 21 tons of gold from the California Gold Rush. The book tells two entwined stories. That of the heroic efforts to save the ship and the struggles of the survivors, and over a hundred years later the tale of Tommy Thompson, a seemingly eccentric inventor, but one with the training of an engineer and the spirit of an entrepreneur who sees the recovery of the ship's treasures not just "as an end in itself, but as a way to learn how to work in the deep ocean" given the wreck was at a crushing depth in the ocean lower than many mountains are high. The author handled both halves of his tale well. I bought this book after reading The Perfect Storm, a truly fascinating tale of the sea. Ship of Gold scratched that itch as a great tale of the sea, of science, of human heroism and tragedy and adventure. It's something else I don't see much of--a tale of entrepreneurship. Of smarts and risks and high stakes. The challenges posed in the enterprise included historical, legal, technological, financial, poaching from competitors--and especially the sea, which many experts considered more forbidding to exploration than the moon. Given just the information in the back of the book, I thought I'd know how this book would turn out, yet the author managed to make it page-turning and suspenseful, making me more riveted to the page the further I read. Kinder had a great story to tell and it wasn't wasted on him.
picardyrose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Weaves together the tales of a historical shipwreck and the high-tech deep-water search for its treasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have reread this amazing story of a Tommy Thompson and his unique belief in what is possible at least five times
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a great tale
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This narrative recounts the discovery and retrieval of piles of gold--gold bars, gold coins, and gold nuggets--from the SS Central America, which sank off the coast of North Carolina in a hurricane in September 1857. This was about 140 miles off the coast, on the other side of the Gulf Stream, in waters deeper than 8,000 feet. The book weaves the story of the original final voyage, sinking, rescue of survivors, loss of more than 400 passengers and crew, and loss of more that 20 tons of California Gold Rush gold, together with the search for the long-lost ship and the efforts to retrieve the treasure and many other artifacts--a major advancement in deep water technology work. This was a very long book, more than 500 pages, but well worth the read, which portrays an American tragedy redeemed by an American dreamer with boot-straps ingenuity and perseverance.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am an engineer by training, and I was inspired by Tommy's growth from a tinkering youngster to a disciplined and profoundly entrepreneurial engineer. In some ways, this is an interweaving of the stories of Titanic and Apollo 13. From Titanic you'll find the drama of a respected captain, a trusted vessel, and the hopes, dreams, and loves of hundreds on board--and a disaster which smashes it all. From Apollo 13 you'll find the marriage of human aspiration and human ingenuity--sometimes under unbelievable pressure--to see a project through: a project which has become greater than the sum of its parts. I've read plenty of books, and I'd say this is among the best I've read. Tommy deserves the credit and attention he's given. He earned the respect of every engineer, mariner, jurist, historian, investor, accountant and scientist he came in contact with. Now Kinder has allowed us to see his ability.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like the way the author took the reader back and forth from the past to the present. It was interesting to see how much planning and inguenuity it took to accomplish the recovery of the gold. Once the treasure was found, I have to admit to having a mild case of 'gold fever' due to the vivid descriptions provided by G. Kinder. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because of the Tommy praising!!!! Alright already he certainly must walk on water, and if he doesn't he'll surely invent a way to. Inspite of the Tommy factor, this is a good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was most impressed by the unbelievable persistence of Tommy ... and the incredible devotion to detail involved in the recovery of the gold. Surely as much attention was paid to minutia and history as was the understandable pursuit of wealth.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Could not put this book down. First chapter or two was intense. The what and the how the team went through to salvage this ship was fantastic. This book has drama, history, and science.