Shadow Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #2)

Shadow Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #2)

by John Sandford

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reissue)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Shadow Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #2) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 155 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm reading the Sanford "Prey Series" from the start to current & found this 2nd installment a bit of a disappointment after such a thrilling start to the series in RULES OF PREY. There were so many protagonists involved that it seemed to lack any focus on the primary character(s) & I was so busy keeping track of everyone that even the thrilling Sanford writing style so evident in RULES of PREY seemed lost. I'm hopeful that Lucas Davenport will begin to show the reader some sense of down-to-earth humanity as I read on.
Nova Landes More than 1 year ago
Second in the Lucas Davenpoart series is a grippimg page turner! Cant wait to start the next installment and each one in sequence!
XMan More than 1 year ago
In his crackerjack debut RULES OF PREY, New York Times bestselling author John Sandford did a phenomenal job in providing his readers with a womanizing and no-nonsense hero in Minneapolis homicide detective Lucas Davenport. He has amazed his readers in portraying Lucas' breeching tactics upon catching the villains. Such literary elements like the ones mentioned are lacked in his following entry SHADOW PREY. In chapter two of his notorious Prey series, the ball that Sandford hits with this book falls right into the sandpit. Throughout the entire police procedure, enter through the investigation of several murders, those of a slumlord, welfare supervisor, rising politician and federal judge. For those that may ask on what the connection lies in between all of them, it is in regard to every victim having their throat cut out with an Indian ceremony knife. Throughout the investigation, Lucas partners up with Lily Rothenberg, a married NYPD detective on a personal pursuit of her own to find the killers. Together on the case, both Lucas and Lily ramshackle their way through the derelict streets of Minneapolis; they go on their cat-and-mouse pursuit through urine-stenched residencies to hunt down a group of Native Americans who are driven with a distinct purpose. The ringleader of this particular group, Shadow Love, is one is self-willed and will allow nothing to stand in his way of what he attempts to achieve. It is up to both Lucas and Lily to prevent the body count from rising.that is if they can. SHADOW PREY, nonetheless, falls short to Sandford's standards with writing a good, solid story. He fails to indulge his readers with the story elements that made him successful in his previous Prey novel RULES OF PREY. The myriad number of inconsistencies that the author tends to draws can and will annoy his fans scene in and out. For starters, the pace of the book in a few of the scenes tends to drag on from time to time. It thereby has the reader finding the storyline to become tiresome at times. Aside form the slow pacing, Sandford fails to weave together all of the loose ends of the story; it makes for nothing but an execrable hodgepodge. Chapter in and out, you are sitting in your seat at home constantly cheering for Sandford to resolve the issues he has going on in the story, only to find yourself disappointed at the end of the road. In addition to all of that, the biggest mistake that torpedoes SHADOW PREY is that Sandford gets too caught up and focused into the loving relationship between Lucas and Lily rather than the case at hand. Readers will find this element portrayed by the writer to rather distracting from scene to scene. Despite the endless flaws in SHADOW PREY, Sandford does nevertheless make an attempt to compensate them through a few of the intriguing elements that he creates. In one of the good strengths that he portrays through the book, Sandford does a great job with providing his readers with a different lens on the main storyline involving racism. He cleverly gets his readers to view the morality of racism through the vendetta that this Native American group has, especially through a background of people that nobody hears about. The author's most enjoyable function upon creating this entry involves portraying to his readers a more sensitive and vulnerable side of Lucas Davenport. Throughout midway of the story, Davenport almost loses his life in a hostage negotiation with one of the killers. Following the sudden takedo
Guest More than 1 year ago
Plot was pretty good, twists were nice but the thing that has me gets me I think is Sandford seems to not have decent researchers for his books. The 3 that I have read are just thrown together totally making people who happen to know a bit about it look away to enjoy the story. Sure its fiction but really - it needs to be realistic in my opinion. If you read someone like Pearson or Deaver you see how well they show how research has been done. It makes sense when you get done so you feel exhilirated reading it. Thinking about the twists and turns and getting a dose of reality and fact and in the end a great novel. Sandford just seems to try to keep it action packed with quirky statements and just plain silly tactics so you end with a bitter taste in your mouth. After reading some reviews I think I may be alone on this site however on other sites - its clear, Sandford in his early days was 'weak' at best.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Just+like+previous+reads%2C+too+much+bad+language.
crazybatcow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If I had to pick one word to describe this book it would be "lame"... 'cause that's really what it is. The story hinges on a conspiracy/plot type thing that a) is ridiculous and b) is not really justified and it ends up being resolved using a character (Shadow Love) that is a) ridiculous and b) acts in a way that doesn't make any sense. Half the author's effort seemed to go into developing a sexual relationship between Davenport and a female cop - which would have been okay, I suppose, if we actually cared. I didn't. They were lustful, they had sex (which was lame too), they had remorse. Yeah, that's creative.And the last 1/4 of the book developed dramatic tension by using "thought breaks" to distinguish multiple scenes with different characters... yes, a half page of what character A is doing cuts to a half page description of what character B is doing, and so on... it was just annoying.
jepeters333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A slumlord butchered in Minneapolis . . . A rising political star executed in manhattan . . . A judge slashed to death in Oklahoma City. What each victim has in common is the weapon - a Native American ceremonial knife - and a trail of blood that leads to an embodiment of primal evil known only as Shadow Love. Enlisted to find him are Lucas Davenport and New York City police office Lily Rothenburg.
citygirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good genre fiction: provocative hero; good descriptions of the Twin Cities and their denizens; it's even a bit morally challenging.
wscott2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is good but not great. I would not recomend this book as your first Sandford novel, but it is a good read none the less.
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
John Sandford's Prey Series has Lucas Davenport as the man who gets things done in Minneapolis. This is a fast paced book (like all of them) and Lucas in right in the middle of it. A couple Native American medicine men set up several killings of people you have had a negative impact on Indians in general. All to lure their prime target out into the open.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Introduction and background of characters was laboring, although necessary. Once past that however, it was riveting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She lay down and half-closed her eyes blissfully. Every tom close enough to see her probobly thought "what a sexy cat..."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Strongfire pads in and waits for Foxstorm.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Spurrpelt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He stretches out and lays in the sunlight outside of the den. He watches the other cats with a sigh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MimiSS More than 1 year ago
Great follow-up to Rules of Prey. The mystery was solved, but you know Lucas' story will continue. Read the novels I. The order I which they were written so that you do not miss any of the back stories from previous books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
john77JM More than 1 year ago
Excellent writing with wonderful descriptions. All the Davenport series are sequential and should be read in order. Very absorbing with unpredictable endings. John Morse (age 77)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My second read in the series and I do believe I will "read out" the entire collection.