The Secret of Platform 13

The Secret of Platform 13

Audiobook(CD)

$0.00 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Secret of Platform 13 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
EdGoldberg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Gump, hidden by Platform 13 from the old London railroad station, leads to the Island, an idyllic place where everyone is accepted, ghosts, hags, people, wizards and assorted others. It opens once every nine years to allow traversing back and forth between London and the Island.When the Island's infant Prince is kidnapped while in the care of his three nurses during their quick sojourn to London, the King and Queen must wait nine years to get him back. This is the story and what a marvelous story it is. There's a reason Eva Ibbotson is such a renowned author.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A world exists beyond ours and every nine years a portal opens under Platform 13 at Kings Cross Station. The last time it opened the prince was lost and now a wizard, an ogre, a fey and a young hag journey through to find him. Only when they find him he's horrible and they're not sure that they want to take him back.It's sweet and fun and completely predictable, but still it's not a bad read. I absolutely adored the knitting-needle wielding bodyguard. Sweet.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Three nursemaids venture off their magical island during the once-every-nine-years open window between the island and the real world. In the process, their charge, the baby prince of the king and queen of the island, is stolen by an evil woman desperately longing for a child. The king and queen are bereft. Finally, nine years pass and the royal couple sends an entourage of magical beings to find and rescue the lost prince.
Runa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Secret of Platform 13 is the book everyone reads once they've finished Harry Potter and are dying for more. I first read it in a 4th grade book club, complete with brownies and all, in which I thought it was a good read, but entirely too forgettable. I still do think that Which Witch? is Ibbotson's best work by far, but this story is an engaging one as well. I could go on and on with the plentiful and slightly obvious Harry Potter parallels, so I'll spare you for now. I recommend this quirky read for children, but with slight caution. The description gets heavy at times. There is almost no in-depth characterization, with a large cast of characters that can get confusing. Worst of all, though, is the extreme predictability. The other things are minor aspects, they are obstacles that are easy to get past. It's just slightly disappointing to see that what you thought would happen from the very begin, does end up happening, no twists or anything to make it even the slightest bit more interesting than you thought it would be. This isn't to say that it's not a good read, or a boring one, just that there are minor things that might get irritating.Rating: 3.5/5
nawnie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A great fantasy book , with four interesting heroes, a magic island and a stolen prince! This is the perfect book to help get children interested in reading and loving what they read! It will encourage imagination and keep kids coming back for more!
Daisy44 More than 1 year ago
I would have given this book five stars if "the rescuers" had put two and two together better. Overall, I loved this book! The story was unique for when it was published in 1994. Her story revolved around the portal between our world and Avalon. Avalon, perhaps you have heard of it in relation to King Arthur. The portal opens for 9 days every 9 years and beings can come and go as they please. Sometimes humans go to Avalon and never miss home, other times they visit. In this case, the prince's nannies craved some fish and chips from their old home. While two of the girls went in search, the third remained at the station with their charge. Time away from London weakened their constitution in such a way that the third was rendered unconscious by auto fumes and in a blink the prince was stolen. Unfortunately, it was minutes before the portal closed and the nannies had to report back. Then Avalon had to wait 9 years to try a recovery. The King and Queen chose a fabulous group to find, rescue, and retrieve their son. Wise, kind, good, strong, and unusual. Their decisions were well thought out and accomplished. Personally, I was not so sure about the wise part as the group did not always follow their instincts. Had they met Ben's grandmother their job would have been accomplished sooner. Of course, then we would not have the fun adventure Eva gave us. My slight issue stems from my love of Cinderella. Perhaps the inhabitants of Avalon are unfamiliar with that tale. Other than that, the story is well paced with wonderful descriptions and great action. You laugh and shake your head with disbelief and frustration and "awww" with the mistmaker (loved that little creature). As a reader the author helps you create beautiful scenes in your mind's eye quite clearly even without the few illustrations scattered through the book (although I really loved the mistmaker illustration - that is a must!) I also loved the idea that there are magical creatures all around us that we just do not recognize or acknowledge. I'm not sure how long it took Ms. Ibbotson to write out The Secret of Platform 13, but it was published in 1994. Writers know it can take a long time to get a book written and published. I believe this was her sixth, so maybe some of the process was reduced. Why do I bring this up? Because many reviewers have mentioned similarities to a different magical series whose first book was published 3 years later in 1997. If you are a fan of that series, you will be hard pressed not to make comparisons. Just know that the two were written at different times and we are adding our experience to the text. If you read one and not the other you would not draw the comparisons. This was a fun read! I'm glad I picked it up. It was a wonderful adventure even though i wanted to bang heads together now and then and say, "Don't you see!"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Banz-Banz More than 1 year ago
What I thought of the book The Secret Of platform 13 was that it was a great fun reading novel and i fully recomend it to everyone!This book I waouls day covers the ages from ten to maybe fourteen. In this book, there is very creative styles and the plot, in the writing. I found this book the most creative book I have read in a long time, also the most interesting. I could tell that the author, Eva Ibbotaon carefully chose words and phrasese to go in a specific part of the novel. This book I thought was great for reading in school with your class or outside of school by yourself even with a small book club. I thought that once I started reading the book, it jkept hooking me into it, and I could nbot put it down. This book has one of the most unexpected endings that I have ever read or seen on tv, or in amovie. It is so surprising! Also at times this book can be very confusing, the author just gives way too much information at one tomne and it makes it diifulct to understand. The book does get better as it moves along. Normally I do not reading fantasy novels, so if you are like me, I bet you would like this book. If you really like this book, I reccomend reading the Harry Potter Serires. Overall, this book is an outstanding book, and the best fantasy novel I hav ever read. This book as very realistic, at some points it can be funny, but for the majority of time, this book tries to be serious. This book has mystic creatures that don't exist today, and some human beings. The secret of Platform 13 has many creative and interesting ways to explain or describe them. This book has it's fast and slow times and seomtines thios book will be moving on with too much information, and at other times, it continues with little information. I think the author could have done a better job at equaling things out. What I love most about books is all the unexpected things that happened.The thrill, of not knowing what is going to happen next. You just can't predict it, especially if you had to. I feel that this book was superb, and that everybody should read it and that everyone should read it.
jimyjamer123 More than 1 year ago
The Secret of Platform 13 In The Secret of Platform 13, there are four characters that are searching for the son (10 years old) of the king and queen who rule a secret island off the coast of England. On the island there are many different creatures like mist makers, who are little animals who make mist when they hear music which the islanders use to hide the island from planes and boats. There are also ogres, mermaids, and hags. The main character is a hag named Ogga. The only way to get to the island is by a grump (doorway), in the middle of Platform 13 in deserted London train station. It leads to a beach where there are islanders waiting to pick you up. But the grump is only opened for 9 days every nine years. The characters are a wizard, a hag (Ogga), an ogre and a fey. The son was kidnapped by a rich lady, who named the boy Raymond. The rescuers have a job to convince him to come back to the island. When they thought they found him they asked him if he wanted to come to the island, he told them he was Ben, just a servant for Raymond (he was 10 years old also) and that the real Raymond is spoiled, a brat, and fat. After the rescuers and some other people from the island put on a show for Raymond, he tells his mom and she thinks someone has been trying to sell him drugs. So Raymond and she go into hiding. When the rescuers finally found where they are, they set up a plan to steal him back. But when there plan fails the island is forced to send in creatures that are half bird, half women. These creatures are very mean and have the worst smell on the island. While the rescuers are returning, Ogga goes and asks Ben if he wants to come and they start running because the grump would close in a couple hours. The creatures return before Ogga and Ben with a sack, the queen runs up to it to look at her son and Raymond starts yelling and kicking. Ben and Ogga finally come and the king, queen and Ben automatically know that he is their real son. After that Raymond is sent back, Ben lives in the palace with the king and queen. In the end, Ben and Ogga are walking on the beach and Ben invites Ogga to live in the palace, and she agrees. Some of the positives are that the vocabulary is not too difficult. Also that the chapters are good lengths. Next there is a very good plot. Also there are many characters that other authors would not put in there books. Lastly there is a great plot. Some of the negatives are that it could have been a little longer. Also at the beginning it was a little weird. Lastly, that the paragraphs weren't to long. The authors writing style in this book is medium length sentences. Also, she has short but, a lot of paragraphs. There are many people who I would recommend this book to. I would recommend it to 5th and 6th graders. One reason is because even though it didn't have a lot of pages it did have a lot of content. I would also recommend this to both boys and girls because there are no parts that boys would not like and no parts girls wouldn't like. Lastly I would recommend this to kids who like mystery with some fantasy in it. Other books by this author wrote are "Which Witch? ", "Eyetooth", and "The Journey to River Sea"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eva Ibbotson's The Secret of Platform 13 will lure readers of all ages into an exciting tale of adventure and surprizes and most importantly secrets! A most unlikely group of rescuers are sent out to return the prince that had been kidnapped by another world. But they face a challenge, can they find and bring him back before time runs out?
Guest More than 1 year ago
The secret of Platform 13 is an awesome book that I recomend to every one that is in to fantasy books. It is about a prince that gets kidnapped as a baby and is trapped in a normal world. Can he be rescued? To find out, you have to read the book. This book is 'secretly great!'
Guest More than 1 year ago
A wizard, an ogre,afey and a young hag have come to find a prince of their kingdom,stolen as a baby nine years before.But the prince has become a horrible rich boy called rayond trottle who doesn,t understand magic and is determined not to be rescued.
Guest More than 1 year ago
when i started reading this book, i thought it might be interesting, but other eva ibbotson books are much better. it became only too obvious in the beginning where ben is described that he was the real prince the rescuers were looking for ,especially because of the description that he 'had a sense of belonging' when he met the rescuers and was not affected much by different forms of magic. anyhow, it is okay, but not too good. the way the trottles are left in the end is quite amusing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I, for one thought that this book was going to be WAY better. By the cover it looks like it is full of mystery and irony. After you read the book you figure out that it is the exact opposite! I think that the author could have done a way better job with this book in more than one place in the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book and I think everyone sould read it. I like the use of description, and the character abilities. I like the mist makers and the little girl Odge. I rate this book a outstanding 5 stars
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is a vrey interesting, and exciting book. I like the details used to describe parts that are not real. i give it a 5 star rating. It is very complex.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When my daughter and I saw Ibbotson's books at the bookstore or in the library, we scoffed and remarked that they looked like copies of Harry Potter. It was not until I read a review here, in which the reader referred to their pre-Potter publication, that I realized they were anything but copies. In fact, I'm guessing that Rowling may have been inspired in part by Ibbotson, many of whose characters and circumstances bear similarities to those found in the Harry Potter books. Certainly, there's room in the magical world for both authors' wonderful works, and readers of one are likely to enjoy the other as well. The Secret of Platform 13 is humorous, original, and gentle. My daughter and I, both fans of Rowling, have become surprised and delighted fans of Ibbotson and hope that you will, too!
Guest More than 1 year ago
'The Secret of Platform 13,' written by Eva Ibbotson is different but an awesome book. Platform 13 is an old run-down train station in London. But there is something very suspicious about it. There is door leading to a magical kingdom where humans live happily with creatures like witches and ogres. Then a beastly woman, Mrs. Trottle, kidnaps the islands prince and takes him into London. To find out more read this book!