Say Goodbye (FBI Profiler Series #6)

Say Goodbye (FBI Profiler Series #6)

by Lisa Gardner

Hardcover(Large Print Edition)

$33.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Say Goodbye 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 313 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really great read. Yes it is a brutal and disturbing read, but don't listen to people who say don't read Say Goodbye because the child abuse is so detailed. Children are abused in everyway everyday. I am happy to know that Lisa Gardner isn't afraid to remind her readers that child abuse is a real problem. So if you start to read this book and you put it down because this book goes against your morals then you are just basically turning your cheek the other way on a very serious problem. Don't be afraid to read this book because its disturbing. It should be diturbing. It should make you want to reach out to children who are abused. I loved this book it brings out everything people try to sweep under the rug.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and own all of Lisa's books. I recommend them all the time, and give them for gifts frequently. "Say Goodbye" was the most thrill packed so far and I loved all the plot twists. I wish Lisa could write a book a month!
WW2 More than 1 year ago
I am not one to read mysteries but I was intrigued with this one. It was given to me as a Christmas gift so I had to give it a try. It does have some gory parts to it but that can be skipped over and not change the view of the plot. I too had some bad dreams during the time I was reading the book. I assumed the dreams were caused by the things I read. Nevertheless, I am glad I read the novel. It was exciting and was well written.
Calebsmumma More than 1 year ago
This book has got to be one of my most favorite books of all times. Get this I am terribly affraid of spiders too. When I was reading the reviews about this book before I read it, as I often do; I saw that soemone had mentioned that "if you don't like spiders, don't read this book". Well it is true in a way. I did have nightmares while reading this book particularly about spiders....eww! This book didn't change how scared I am about them but it did however give me respect for them. The plot was very thought out and well planned the only thing is in the end a lot happens at once and I had to go back and re-read some parts to make sure what I read I understood. Lisa has become my new favorite author and I am trying to read more of her books now. If you want a great thriller pick this one up, you'll love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want to start by saying I love Lisa Gardner and all of her books...except this one. It would have been a great book had it not been for the very small child getting raped over and over again. This is a very hard book to read if you have kids or love kids. It was very disturbing. I could not get the mental images out of my head and couldn't sleep. It was horrible. I would not recommend this book to anyone, however I would gladly recommend any one of her other books which are fabulous. She is a great writer, but this was too much for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book at all. I wasn't disturbed by it, I was simply never compelled to move on. As much as i hated to, at 120 pages in I finally gave up. I couldn't find a single character i enjoyed or cared about. And although I realize it is Lisa Gardner's style to scatter her plot out frim several viewpoints this one was spread far to thin to keep me interested.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book does have a disturbing story. It is however a book for adults and if one does not understand should not read. It is in my opinion one of her best books. I am not some awful person that has no children. I do have children, but this is just a story. Maybe people need to read things like this to remind them that the world is not a perfect place and people who suspect or know of things should report it instead of wanting to get involved but yet judge everyone else.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read several other books by Lisa Gardner and have enjoyed them all. This one, however, was extremely disturbing. Like a previous reviewer, I had to stop reading this one. Reading of child rape and imprisonment is not my idea of an enjoyable book.
terrylazar More than 1 year ago
Creepy, crawly is the description of this novel and an edge of your seat page turner. Not for the faint of heart nor those who fear spiders. By the middle of this book, I still wasn't sure who was the real killer. I'm glad to see Quincy made it into the storyline, he and Rainie always make for an exciting story. Very exciting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome. Plenty of suspense and action. Love the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welp, my Nook has stopoed charging, and I'm not sure if I'm going to get a new one. I'm sorry, loves. But, I have to say good bye. <p>Jack, I love you, okay? I want to make things better for us. But if you want to move on, I will not stand in your way. I won't. But please, don't forget me. <p>Hush, Sister..I'll miss yoh i will. You'be been woth me every step of the way. Noodles, mh dear friend. <p>Fang: I'll miss the way you insult noobs. :') It's quite funny. We never really talked so..I dunno what to say really. But eat noodles with Hush daily. <p>Greece, Marching Band Clarinet Buddy...you...you stay strong, okay? <p>Rocketa, if you see this, and your heart is still beating, keep it beating for me. I'll miss you. <p>Julia, You don't know..how bad I'm crying right now.....I don:t want to leave yoy. I don:t. I don:t want you to hrt yourself. Pleae...I'll be back soedy... <p>I love you all, and will come here regularly on the computer if I can. I'm about to run out of battery...I'll be back someday..whether it be a year or a month. Bah..I'll miss you guys. ?y only friends....goodbye.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one pushed the envelope too far. Terribly disturbing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed SAY GOODBYE by Lisa Gardner very much. Yes, it was disturbing and even creepy. But Gardner delivered another great one. I highly recommend it. I now finished the FBI Profiler series and liked them all.
ducklvr More than 1 year ago
I love books about serial killers & this one did not dissapoint. It sucked me in right from the start. I have read all the other books in this series and love them all! Cannot wait to read the next in the series. This is a must read, be prepared to stay up late until you finish the last page!
dylemmas More than 1 year ago
no where in the summary does it mention the graphic and horrific details of young boys being kidnapped and raped. as the mother of a young son i was physically sick to my stomach after reading this. i would not recommend this book to anyone!
KingfisherLC More than 1 year ago
and I so wish it were entitrly beyond the realm of possibility, but sadly child molestation and child porn thrive.
Fan4SFGiants More than 1 year ago
Say Goodbye's plot is good,but it's not Lisa Gardner's best novel. The book doesn't take place in Boston,it's not nearly as suspenseful as her latest book,The Neighbor. While I give it a five in all rating categories,it's not the best novel she's written.
MikeDraper More than 1 year ago
An arrested prostitute makes it known that she has info for Special Agent Kimberly Quincy of the FBI. Delilah Rose tells her that a john is taking street prostitutes and subjecting them to poisonous spiders and other dangerous activities. Her friend Ginny has disappeared and she's worrite. She tells Kim that when he put a black widow spider on her, the man only let her live when she didn't show fear and scream. Kimberly's associate Sal Martingnetti also is concerned about prostitutes. Two times recently he has had the driver's licenses of three women placed inside the windshield of his car. All the licenses were of prostitutes. They have all vanished but no bodies have been found so it's difficult to get his superiors to permit him to mount an investigation. Dispite being five months pregnant, Kim agrees too help him. One night they follow Delilah to a street where they know Ginny's boyfriend was murdered. When they confront Delilah, she admits that she is really Ginny. She also states that the man she refers to as Dinchara, a play on the word arachnid because of his fetish with spiders. Sal and Kim want to find a way to get Ginny to take them to Dinchara and get enough evidence to convict him of his crimes. Then they find out that Dinchara has a teenage boy helping him and seems to be grooming a younger boy to do the same. Now the mission is to catch Dinchara and rescue the boys. The author knows suspense and has given her readers a story that will mesmerize them until the end. She has an original plot and her characters are well described. Dinchara is not only evil by himself but even more so when he gets children to help him in his crimes. A well done novel that will keep Gardiner's fans coming back for more.
MsPumpkin More than 1 year ago
This is so far one of the best book I ever read... I couldn't stop reading each page. It took me only 12 hrs to read this book, it was so good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book. Skips around some. Almost every chapter is from a different point of view, but it all comes to a GREAT and shocking ending. If you truly hate spiders it is going to be a tough book to get though. Totally worth the read though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was her best book yet. I couldn't put it down and read it in one day. The plot was great and kept you guessing who the serial killer really was. A very trick ending from a terrific writer.
harstan More than 1 year ago
FBI Special Agent Kimberly Quincy became somewhat famous for her capture of the infamous Eco-Killer (see The Killing Hour). Thus Atlanta hooker Delilah Rose turns to her with a story that seems more like fiction. Delilah insists that a John calling himself Dinchara is abducting prostitutes. She fears Dinchara, who¿s allegedly obsessed with spiders as evident by the reverse spelling of his moniker, has kidnapped her best friend Ginny Jones. --- Although pregnant and preferring to ignore the prostitute anyway as there is no evidence that a crime was committed , Kimberly cannot guilt reminds her that her mom and sister were victims of a serial killer. Her inquiries lead to no corpses, more prostitutes missing, and the apparent connection between Delilah and Dinchara that the hooker never mentioned during her interviews Kimberly even begins to wonder if there is such a killer as no solid proof has surfaced. --- SAY GOODBYE is an entertaining FBI thriller in which the switching veiwpoints make for a terrific tale that showcases the dark Atlanta underground (not the site). Kimberly wonders if a crime has been committed as nothing surfaces to affirm that although ironically the audience knows early on whether one occurred. Readers will appreciate this fine tale in which the heroine ponders whether she might be the fly to Dinchara the spider as nothing seems to come together on the ¿Spideyman¿ case. --- Harriet Klausner
lsknightsr1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just got this advanced readers copy today and I am already into the 2nd chapter. So far this book exceeds my expectations!
MissMermaid118 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ugh! I know she is hugely popular. I know her books are compulsively readable. But why? How? I have to give Gardner credit - she has mastered the technique that keeps the reader turning pages. Even though I hated the story, I actually had to FORCE myself to stop reading it! Maybe I should compare her writing to potato chips - can't read just one (page!). Overall, too violent and formulaic for my tastes. Now, if I can just keep myself away from the next one . . .
melissajoy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book review of Lisa Gardner¿s ¿Say Goodbye¿.What a good book. The characters were strong, in depth, realistic and very believable. The story line slowly wraps you in its web. It kept me interested all the way through, a complete different take on typical serial killer mysteries. She captures the depravity of humanity and makes you wonder at all the lost souls hidden in ours communities. Parts of this story will stay with you long after the last page.In the beginning a few of the abbreviations took a moment for me to figure out, but other than that, I liked all aspects of the book. Plus you learn some interesting facts along the way. I¿m grateful for the chance to review it and recommend it. Great book.