Savannah, or, A Gift for Mr. Lincoln

Savannah, or, A Gift for Mr. Lincoln

Audio CD(Abridged, 4 CDs, 6 hours)

$29.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Savannah or a Gift for Mr Lincoln 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, John Jakes has created characters that leap from the page and attach themselves to your heart! The Lester Ladies are as real and endearing as any of the Hazzards and Mains. 'Savannah: Or a Gift for Mr. Lincoln' is just what this cynical world needs--a holiday story with every emotion imaginable--set against the backdrop of our nation's bloodiest conflict. Savor every word of this story, for Mr. Jakes has once again demonstrated he is indeed the master of his craft.
lamour on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jakes does a good job of invoking the fear and hopelessness of the people facing the fast moving Sherman army as it tore across Georgia in late1864. His descriptions of the rag tag army of boys & old men facing Sherman outside the city and the starving, helpless populace in the city give one a sense of a city under siege. The myths that both sides had created about the other side as a result of propaganda and ignorance also add to the destruction but these attitudes start to collapse once the City falls and the people starting seeing that the other side is made up of human beings like themselves. If you have been to Savannah, you will enjoy the book that much more as you will easily visualize the city as the action takes place in and around those famous city squares and waterfront. While the violence of war is depicted, there are happy endings to many of the narrative threads to make everyone happy.
northandsouth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A cute story describin the Christmas of 1864 when General Sherman and his army peacefuly occupied the southern city of Savannah, Georgia. An interesting collection of characters become interconnected as the heartwarming story unravels. An edifying and easy read that will bring a smile to your face as well as enlighten you about the hardships faced civilians during a civil war and military occupation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It was a refreshing look into Union occupancy of Savannah. I would definitely recomend this to any reader who enjoys a great story with history backing it up. John Jakes did a great job!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, I could not put it down. I enjoyed how the novel focused both on the soilders and civilians and how every one was connected with each other, regardless were their loyities lie with.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It's written in the best Jakes tradition, with just enough historical background to give the reader a feeling of being immersed in the setting. The characters were well drawn; all of them were believable and real. I especially got chuckles out of the vaporish spinster, Miss Vee. Vignettes of Wm. T. 'War is Hell' Sherman brought a humman side to a very famous, or should that be infamous- historical character. I read historical fiction almost exclusively. If anyone complains that Savannah isn't sophisticated enough, I think they've lost sight of what I think may have been Jakes' purpose- to create a diverting, holiday tale that is completely enjoyable and not a laborious tome of a read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Jakes has again written a historical novel that holds the reader¿s attention. The book begins with an introduction by the author giving a synopsis of the historical period the novel is about. There is even period music with Dulcimers and Banjos. Any student of history knows of Sherman¿s march to the sea. Savannah is about that march and of the hardships of a city caught in the path of war. It is set at Christmas time 1864. The main characters are a Yankie reporter named Stephen Hopewell, a Southern plantation owner Sara Lester and her daughter, Sara¿s friend, Miss V and a Yankie Sargent named Winks. These characters come together to prove that even in war and on opposite sides love conquers all. Winks doesn¿t like Negros and yet saves one from drowning. Sara, a widow, believes she should hate Yankies. Daughter, Hattie, finds growing up doesn¿t stop just because a war is going on. She even finds herself making demands of General Sherman himself. There were so many characters, that at times, it was hard to keep them all straight but as the novel went on, it became easier and was well worth listening to the novel. If you are a history buff, John Jakes is the writer for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Jake's books always make my reading list. I consider him to be the gentleman writer of history. I read Savannah with great intrest and while it is not North and South it is still a great book. The day I ordered his book I also ordered Leaves of Change, authored by Elysia Hill Robertson. Having now read both of them, I have to say while he tells a good story, I found her work to be slightly better than his last work. So while I still consider him to be the man of history, I consider Mrs. Robertson to be the woman of the hour. This was my first book by Mrs. Robertson but it will not be my last. She brings fresh views, a woman's views. They are both very good writers. I give them both 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a fan of John Jakes and having just read Charleston just months ago, I was looking forward to reading Savannah. I was disappointed in finding that it was not an adult novel but one suited best for a Jr. High reading list. Hopefully, in the future Jakes will stick more to serious history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I Have only gotten this book , I looked forward to this book and I was not disappointed. I love his work along with the work of Author Elysia Hill Robertson They are about the only writers that I always pick up. Both know their history and blend it well with spice and a whisper of love.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I travel frequently by car, so I spend a great amount of time listening to audiobooks. To be fair, perhaps the reader influenced my opinion some, but I thought this book was dull and a pointless read. Being a southerner, I was annoyed by the horrendous attempt at a southern accent by the reader. I certainly hope that other titles by this author are more engaging.