Run Silent, Run Deep

Run Silent, Run Deep

Hardcover(New Edition)

$28.14 $29.95 Save 6% Current price is $28.14, Original price is $29.95. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Run Silent Run Deep (Cassell Military Paperbacks Series) 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
ftglance More than 1 year ago
I originally read this book in 1979. It was great then and it is great now. I consider this book my main reason for joining the navy, and going into submarines. The other books in this series are also great reads.
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the moment I picked this book up, I really couldn't put it down. I even got the movie out on video. The movie however, does not do justice to the book and although interesting itself, it strays considerably from the original story. I am currently reading the sequel 'Cold Is The Sea'. My congratulations to the author; Edward L. Beach.
usnmm2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you liked the movie you'll love the book. The story starts a year before we are in the war. and goes though their training and several war patrols. Edward Beach was a submarine skipper in WWII and wrote two good seaquals to this book."Dust on the Ocean" and "The Cold Sea"
Loptsson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not a bad book for those people who are into the history and / or stories about submarines in combat. The beginning of the book is slow in my opinion but once they get into the Pacific it is on! I must admit that 2/3 of the way through the book I guessed exactly how it would end but never guessed how dramatic it would be. Well worth the time to read it.
RicDay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An absolute classic! The only book on this topic that has come close is Tom Clancy's Hunt for Red October.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mother read this book to me from Readers Digest when I was a child.   I read the full book later and I still want a copy.  I am a retired torpedo man first class.  Good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw the movie first a couple of times. Then I read the book. I am planning to watch the movie again! The book is excellent, a well told tale of the work our undersea navy did in WWII. I read another book 'Bowfin' E.P Hoyt after RSRD and realized that Beach incorporated some of the Bowfin's patrol efforts. Just like he said '...this book, though fiction, is true'
Guest More than 1 year ago
Run Silent, Run Deep is one of the best books and movie I ever read/saw. i have read the book so many times i have pretty much memorzied it. it is a really good book and i would reamend it to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Considered to be one of the monuments of naval literature, this fictitious account of a captain's quest for vengence against a Japanese destroyer in WW2 became a classic tale of high seas adventure. After the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, the US Navy was severely crippled and the strength of the fleet lay in a handful of destroyers, the aircraft carriers, and a thin line of submarines scattered throughout the Pacific. The American subs were given one major task during these dark days - sink any and all Japanese shipping without being sunk yourself. After his submarine is sunk while attacking a Japanese convoy, the aging captain is assigned to desk duty until he sees his opportunity to command a submarine again by stealing the assignment from the boat's first officer. The captain drills his new crew daily, preparing them for a new form of attack - the bow shot - on a destroyer. The novel was turned into an award-winning film by the same name, starring Clark Gable as the captain and Burt Lancaster as the first officer. These two actors turn in excellent performances, turning a good war movie into a great study of human character. Whether you read the book or see the movie, you won't be disappointed in this tale of heroism in action.