Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

by William Shakespeare

Hardcover

$5.33 $7.28 Save 27% Current price is $5.33, Original price is $7.28. You Save 27%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Romeo and Juliet 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 572 reviews.
Bob Watkins More than 1 year ago
Romeo and Juliet is a tale of doomed love. I think the movie Gnomeo and Juliet, while being good, is offensive to Shakespeare's masterpiece. I enjoy it very much. And I'm almost 11 and a half! But I understood Shakespeare's beautiful language well. Want to know my secret? A series called "Shakspeare Made Easy." On one page is Shakespeare's beautiful language, and on the other is the translation. This series is not available on the nook, but you can always find it at your local library. I recommend this book for everyone with a vast vocabulary. To put long words in short, Romeo and Juliet is a tragically beautiful story.
Reid Martin More than 1 year ago
This was a very good book and I enjoyed this book through out. I feel that there is alot to learn from this book. Shakespeare's connotation and diction really help the reader to understand and evaluate the interests of William Shakespeare himself. The reader can really see the chemistry between Romeo and Juliet because Shakespeare is so descriptive in his writings. Juliet's fate was determined ultimatly through fate. It was fate that brought Romeo and Juliet together, and it was fate that made their families enemies. Other characters in his play that comtributed to Juliet's demise would be Juliet's Nurse, Friar Lawrence, Capulet, and pretty much every other chacacter in his play. William Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet was a very good book and I would highly recomend it! :)?
ChristineNg More than 1 year ago
A great classic Shakespeare tale of love and tragedy, but this book takes each part, and translates it into modern, easy-to-read English. What struck me while reading is how little people have changed in 500 years, obsessed with sex appeal, status, and envy of their neighbors.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and i am only in 5th grade! Read it its the best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted a book not a play but it is very good
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was truly outstanding I loved it.I wanted to cry it was such an amazing book full of drama and such suspition. I understood it more than my 15 year old sibiling. I also loved the language that Shakespeare used it was so unique and vigorous. If I could I would read it every day for the rest of my life. It was very honorable to read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. At first I found it hard to care about Romeo and Juliet but the words and descriptions caught my eyes. Then I could not stop reading. I really like Shakespear's style of writing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I started reading it, it caught my attention and I did not want to put it down. It has been one of the most best plays I have read and a really interesting one. When you read it, you won't want to put it down either.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in my English class and loved it! It is really a great book, and the 'mush' is overrated! If you're a fan of Shakespeare (like I am) than you should really pick up a copy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. even though it was written such a long time ago, it sort of deals with the troubles that teens go through today when their parent(s) do not approve with the person they are daitng. Teens can reaaly relate to this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You went through some pretty shi.tty times in your life. Youre insecure and have issues trusting people. You have social anxiety and a guitar obsession. But you made a good decision in asking me out. Cause i promise that i will treat you like the angel you are. Everyone else you dated was abusive? You dont need to worry about any of that with me. I made a promise to keep you safe and help you heal those emotional scars. You mean the world to me, and I want you to know that i will do absolutely anything for you. You helped me heal my emotional and physical scars, now let me take care of you. Let me give you the endless attention you secretly crave. Let me shower you with the affection your too embarrassed to admit you want. You deserve to be treated like a prince, honey. Let me be the one to do that &hearts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well hey there you. i'll definitely tell you about this because i want you to gush over me. :)) where do i begin? i've known you for quite awhile now, nearly four years. we never were close until recently, when you stoooollleeee myyyy hearrrttt. we just started talking outside of rp and i was like wowza this better be a dude and you were and i was like double wowza ily. it was more serious then that. xD you have the kindest soul, and i love it. you care for me dearly, and I the same. you /ARE/ cute, like super duper cute, and i will continue to tell you this until the end of time. even though you did look a little feminine, but it WAS JUST THE FILTER I SWEAR. okay, ily with all my heart. bbg. &hearts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well...crab...im a little freaked out right now... cuz....of things... I know he would never like me back let alone love me. He never looks at me the way he looks at her. If she lied to him or upset him..i bet he would always forgives her. It breaks my heart how he always pushes me away. But i always stand up for her. I could never tell him because i would never want to hurt her.... im not sure how i live with out him.. or i even remember to breathe with his absence... sides im not her.. he would never want me..... he says he cant trust me. I wish he would give me another chance. To show him how much i want him. It hurts... i love him so much it hurts.. i want him so much it hurts.... i dunno wat to do...he hasnt been on in forever... i miss him.
rose5716 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Romeo and Juliet has to be the greatest love story of all time. The comic and dramatic words of Shakespeare are simply breath taking. I loved the irony and always knowing what was going to happen at the end, but hoping, somehow some way their fate would not be true. This book gave me chills on almost every page. I think that the characters are very interesting and you can picture each one as you read. Reading the book as a script was also enjoyable because I was able to hear each character's voice in my head. This was a phenomenal book, and I would recommend it to anyone up for the challenging word plays, because it is well worth it.
kswanteck on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The story of Romeo and Juliet is classic...star crossed lovers from two different families who are in love and end up dying for their love. This is a good book to practice many things: decoding an unfamiliar language, acting out scenes, and analyzing character development (among others). Its overall theme of adolescent love is one that students will be able to relate to.
john257hopper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favourite Shakespeare play, so stuffed full of quotes that have become famous, it's almost a dictionary of quotations. Wonderful language and a timeless, simple plot.
ablueidol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yes studied at school but I have seen it at Stratford with my wife on a wedding anniversary. I had the pleasure of criticising the production and performance and then seeing this confirmed by the theatre critics in the serious papers-evidence that some of the reading and study has sank in!
ctpress on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For never was a story of more woe¿Than this of Juliet and her Romeo.Reading a Shakespeare-play and seeing one is two entirely different things. Having been to the Globe in London and experienced the magic of an evening with Shakespeare it seems a dry thing to "just" read the play. Still, reading it offers time to stop and contemplate and enjoy and savour all the famous quotes and lines of poetry.In this romantic tragedy there's plenty of over-the-top emotions, frantic pace, overwhelming love-songs and declarations of eternal bliss or eternal sorrow - it's just a thing you accept coming to Shakespeare. This is his world and it's just for us to drink it in.And although it's exaggerated the theme is eternal and universal - love - mixed with infatuation and madness - it's a force too powerful to be kept down - and it's explosive in the midst of a feud between two families. This emotional tour de force between Romeo and Juliet is something to be appraised and lamented at the same time. I'm not sure what Shakespeare does most. But both things are there. The admiration of such head-over-the-heels love and the warning against it's power to overwhelm and blinding the persons involved. Good Night, Good night! Parting is such sweet sorrow
MissBoyer3 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When two star-crossed lovers meet, it's love at first sight. Despite being from rival families, Romeo and Juliet forsake their own families and risk everything to be together, which ends in tragedy.
brettjames on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
You know, it's a play written in the sixteen hundreds. Not a bad read as far as these things go, but only the sort of thing you read in school or when you're going to put on the play
junesong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Such a beautiful and tragic story. One of Shakespeare's best.
LisaMaria_C on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Just cultural literacy alone demands you read this play; which I actually think is among Shakespeare's most readable and lyrical, with indelible, lovely lines. It ranks among my favorite of his because of the way he both expresses the beauty of young love as well as the potential destructiveness of adolescent passions in which, unfortunately, Romeo and Juliet are well-matched. I remember a teacher once explaining how character propels plot through Shakespeare plays. If Othello had been inserted into Hamlet's plot and vice versa there would have been no tragedy. Othello wouldn't have hesitated to destroy Claudius and Hamlet would have thoroughly investigated before killing Desdemona. In this play Romeo and Juliet each pull each other towards the tragedy, their immaturity and overwhelmed emotions as much the linchpin as their family's feuds. Of course, there's nothing like seeing this dramatized. I rather love the 1968 film directed by Franco Zeffirelli. A traditional approach with actors of the right ages to fit their roles.
AEbert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Romeo and Juliet is a romantic play written by the famous playwright William Shakespeare. This play shows an in-depth story about two lovers who suffer a tragic end. Their love is denied through the play because the two Montague and Capulet families are sworn enemies. This book is written from many different perspectives and characters. This book focuses on the two main characters, Romeo and Juliet, but it also focuses on many other characters; such as Friar Lawrence, Tybalt and Benvolio.Romeo and Juliet tells the tragic tale of two star crossed lovers who met by fate. Their fateful meeting was followed by a series of unfortunate events after they found out they were sworn enemies by name. The Montague and Capulet families had been fighting each other for centuries but Romeo and Juliet found each other and were united by love. Romeo hastily proposed to Juliet and they were married by Friar Lawrence. Their marriage had to be kept secret and they were in constant danger of being caught together.Romeo and Juliet is a very sad story that ends in tragedy and death. Both the main characters die at the end play after they making many bad choices and by keeping their marriage secret. This book was originated from the famous play `Romeo and Juliet¿ which was written and directed by William Shakespeare. Shakespeare used smart writing techniques to engage the audience and readers. Romeo and Juliet¿s unfortunate deaths are caused by bad choices made by close friends and enemies. Throughout the play, both Romeo and Juliet constantly tempt their fate by making bad choices, which finally ends in their unfortunate, early demise. In the end, Romeo and Juliet both suffer a painful and emotional death which was caused by bad choices and unlucky timing; this is the classic ending of William Shakespeare¿s famous play `Romeo and Juliet¿.In my opinion, I think that Romeo and Juliet is a very confusing book but it is also very exciting and enjoyable. Shakespeare indelicately uses insults and cussing in arguments instead of harsh swearing or foul language. By doing this, he makes the reader think about what the characters are saying and it makes the book much more interesting. This book has unfortunate and avoidable deaths which intensify situations and make the book more emotional. I rate this book 9 out of 10 because it was a perfectly written book over 500 years ago, and even till this day, it is still considered one of the best plays/books ever written.
EmilyRB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
William Shakespeare's epic tale of comedy, tragedy, and love is a staple for romantic literature. When two adolescents from feuding families fall in love, their destinys' suddenly become intertwined, with neither able to live without the other.
ayumig on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have thought that I want to read this book in japanese but I have never read . This time I read this book in English , I felt so painful that I cryed their fortune . I think this story is not only love story but also terrible sad story . Romeo and Juliet fallen in love each other . But their Family : The Capulet Family and The Montague Family . At last they died aothough they did not need to die . Now I want to fall in love my prince who love only me !!