Rocked by Love (Gargoyles Series #4)

Rocked by Love (Gargoyles Series #4)

by Christine Warren

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rocked by Love 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the least interesting of the series. It doesnt have much in the way of suspense and the relationship between dab and Kylie was not very exciting. To be honast i liked the "others" series better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely fantastic. Just as great as the other three. I just hope she is busy writing another in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful twists in this latest installment of the series. Can't wait for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story. Looking forward to the next one.
closkot More than 1 year ago
My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!! - Best so far!!!! ***Received the ebook from St. Martin’s Press for an honest review The cover has both the gargoyle and man. Very nice! This is the fourth book in the series. While it isn’t mandatory for you to read them in order, I do think you will like it a whole lot more if you do read them in order. It adds to the history and richness of the characters. Of course this is for adults only due to the steamy content. Kylie’s story is my favorite yet. I really connected with her and her nerd-ness. I love how computer science is even making it into paranormal romance books. Dag starts like a caveman where you aren’t sure what to think of him. By the end, I think he learns faster than the other Guardians. Lots of action in this story, and I love that everyone was part of this story. I can’t wait to see where the next story goes, but my guess is we will be visiting another country. Yay!!! I recommend this whole series to all PNR fans, and highly recommend to gargoyle and magic fans. Definitely an awesome series!!!
asgoodrich More than 1 year ago
I really like this series and I found this installment to be particularly fascinating because Kylie’s magic isn’t a form we typically encounter in paranormal romances. Kylie is a computer geek. She’s independently wealthy because she developed an app for her own use, that she went on to sale to the company whose program was bugging her in the first place. And like any hacker geek, the money is there as a convenience because her enjoyment in life still comes from programming. So how, you ask, does a technogeek end up in the middle of an ancient war between the Light and the Dark, complete with her very own Guardian? She goes looking for answers regarding the death of a friend, almost finds them, and most certainly finds trouble along the way. We met Kylie in Hard as a Rock when Wynn needed her hacking skills to locate info on Wynn’s missing brother, Bran. In Rocked by Love, Kylie has continued looking into Bran’s death because she’s not buying the story Wynn gave her – and with good reason. Fortunately, or maybe unfortunately, she manages to track down someone who can provide her more info on Guardians, Wardens, nocturni, and the Seven – all terms she found in Bran’s files. It’s unfortunate for Kylie because she finds herself being kidnapped when her “informant” doesn’t show up for their meeting. It’s fortunate for Kylie (and the world), because her kidnapping awakens another Guardian. Dag is the fourth Guardian to be called forth to join the fight, save the world, and protect his mate – whether she wants to be or not. I have enjoyed each of the couples in the series (except for book 1, but only because I haven’t read it yet), but I do believe that Kylie is my favorite of the ladies. She’s a freaking hoot. Her wit and sarcasm kept me entertained as much as it stomped all over Dag’s last nerve. The manner in which he succumbs to their intended mating was hilarious because of how adamant he was that there would be no mating between them because having a mate was a weakness. Theirs definitely began as a “kiss ‘em or kill ‘em” kind of relationship and, fortunately for the reader, they went with the kissing, and then some. As I said earlier – and you probably thought I forgot about it – but part of why I was so taken by Kylie’s character was that her magic is in coding (or pattern recognition). She can “see” the “codes” in how things work and manipulate them to work better, which is part of why she was so successful as a programmer. But Kylie’s natural intelligence enabled her to “look” at spells, “see” the codes, and tweak them accordingly, which is why I called it pattern recognition. Rather than possessing an elemental magic like we often see in paranormal romances, Kylie’s power is a more modern one and I cannot wait to see her put in in use as they ramp up their efforts to find the remaining Guardians. Did they kick evil’s butt? Not really. They did put a hurtin’ on it though; but, as there are supposed to be seven Guardians to equal the seven Demons, we’ve got at least three more to find. Rocked by Love was another action-packed installment in the Gargoyles series and I cannot wait to find out what happens next (and listen to book one as I snagged the audiobook during a trial membership for Audible…hehe). I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Angela at Crystal's Many Reviewers!
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Rocked By Love - Gargoyles Book 4 Author: Christine Warren Published: 3-1-16 Publisher: St Martin's Press Pages: 320 Genre: Romance Sub Genre: Paranormal, Gothic ISBN: 9781250077370 ASIN: B014C55KOQ Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley . Dag has watched over humanity and protected them from the evil denizen's that dwell among them unknown to them. When Dag and Kylie first meet their passion burns hot and Kylie gives him her heart. Which he stops on when he leaves her after he saves her from being killed she sees him shift. Kylie knows he is not human and freaks out and runs away. When she goes to see him he is gone. He has watched over her from afar and has always loved Kylie, but knows by her reaction she will never accept all of him. Then she shows up on his doorstep saying she was sent for by company. Now Dag and Kylie must face their own demons if their love is to survive the upcoming battle and keep the real demons from taking over the Earth and devouring humanity. Kylie is not about to let a flying man/gargoyle stop her. With her quick wit and sharp tongue she can handle anything. Christine Warren has penned a suspense filled paranormal romantic story. With characters that capture your attention and keep you involved in the story. The witty dialog will have you letting loose a chuckle or two as you read. Warren has woven together adventure and drams in such a way as to have your heart rate up. You will be breathless as Dag and Kylie fight the reigniting of their passion until it finally breaks free. Rocked by love is the fourth book in the series but can easily be read as a standalone. I personally will be looking to read books 1-3 in order to learn more about the other characters mentioned. Rocked by love is a wonderful read and has earned a 4 1/2 out of 5 star rating.
BookFidelity More than 1 year ago
This book got my attention because, hello, gargoyles! Does anyone else remember that animated series? I loved it. So, color me surprised when I was looking through NetGalley books and came across this! Anyway - I digress... I love reluctant lovers - you know, two people who don't want to care about the other, but ultimately do? Yeah, that's my catnip. I enjoyed how Dag has no idea what is going on because he's very much the old school person stuck in a modern world due to being asleep for a very, very long time. Kylie was an awesome protagonist because she spoke in Yiddish when overly excited or worried, and her brand of talent is that of being a cybergeek. I do love my geeks in books - especially those containing romance. At first, I was wary of reviewing this book because it is 4th in a series - but Warren does such a great job at explaining what is going on to the reader without making it sound long-winded or confusing. Basically, there is a world of guardians (gargoyles), their Wardens, and magic really does exist. Basically, Dag (gargoyle) protects Kylie, the cybergeek who is important to saving the world from the Nocturni and all impending doom. In most books, you can get a sense of this insta-love and you get insta-something in this story. It is more like insta-curiosity which I enjoyed. I loved that Kylie is so weird (in a totally good way) that seeing this gargoyle in front of her doesn't freak her out...and I doubly-loved that it's when he transforms to his human-like self where she feels more nervous. It's hilarious. Did I mention that the women from the previous books that wake up these guardians end up being their mates? *insert eyebrow wiggle here* There is a lot of detail in this story. I cared about the characters, swooned in all the swoony parts, and it definitely makes me want to check out the first books in the series!
gigiluvsbooks More than 1 year ago
Kylie Kramer knows that she's putting her life in danger when she decides to investigate her friend's mysterious death. What she doesn't know is that she's being watched over by a powerful protector. A legend in stone who has defended humanity throughout the ages. A rock-hard savior who swoops down from the sky, scoops Kylie into his impossibly strong arms, and draws her into a world that no mortal woman can imagine...or resist. ROCKED BY LOVE As the strongest of the gargoyles, Dag is sworn to destroy the demons that threaten Kylie's world before returning to his stony slumber. But the burning desire she ignites in him is even harder to fight-an all-consuming force that, once unleashed, can never be tamed. As their passion grows, so do the ranks of a demonic army plotting to take over the earth. When the ultimate battle begins, Dag and Kylie must face some demons of their own-to carve out a love that's stronger than time... Review: This was fun to read! It has been a while since I read a book with some good, snarky dialog. Besides the snarky I really enjoyed Kylie and how Yiddish was thrown into her dialog and the story and how Dag reacted to the strange speech. Putting Kylie, a 21st century, geeky girl with Dag, who has not been awake in 300 years, leads to a lot fun misunderstandings. As a couple they were fun and sexy and in my opinion the best part of the book. The Author did an excellent job of not making me feel lost, since once again I picked up a book in the middle of the series. Plus, all the others in the series were included into this book so I got to know them a little also. The story line continues through all the books as the Guardians continue to wake up and fight the rising evil. The only thing that bothered me was the big fight scene, there was all this build-up but the actual event was a little anticlimactic and rushed. Otherwise I enjoyed this book and the end had a little cliffhanger as the Nocturnis continue to grow in strength. 3.5Stars *Received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a honest review.*
Anlenhart1 More than 1 year ago
Rocked by Love is the fourth book in the Gargoyles series and I would recommend reading the first three books because this book continues fast paced action. Kylie Kramer is a computer hacker that is investigating the death of her best friend, and as a result she unwittingly stumbled onto a world of magic and gargoyles. When she is attacked, Dag is awakened and promptly rescues Kylie. Dag and Kylie clash as they learn about each other and confront the demons that await them. How will they find common ground and help the fight against the dark nocturnis? Will Dag recognize Kylie as his mate? I love how Christine Warren mixes suspense, comedy and romance. This story features a plucky heroine with a great sense of humor and a knack for funny Yiddish sayings. Dag was a stoic hero with a great supporting cast. I enjoyed Kylie's grandmother and wish she had been given more time in the novel! I recommend this book to fans of science fiction and romance! I was given a free copy for an honest review.
caroldh4 More than 1 year ago
Rocked By Love is book four in the Gargoyles series by Christine Warren. This book was generously provided to me in exchange for an honest review by NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and by the author. Although this book can be read as a stand alone, there is a constant theme and recurring sexy guardian gargoyles and their mates so you would gain much more enjoyment from these if you read them in order. Kylie Kramer is first and foremost, a computer genius geek. She is a self made millionaire but all this really does is allow her the freedom to spend more time in her computer cave doing what she loves. If you have read the other books in this series, you know how this goes. Kylie has been investigating the death of her best friend, Bran. She is on her way home one night and as she passes the gargoyle statue, she is attacked. You know what happens from here. One stoney gargoyle comes to life to save her. Dag is the fourth of the guardians to be awakened from his slumber. At first, he and Kylie don’t get along very well at all. Dag is completely confused by Kylie’s slang terminology. Part of Dag’s discontent, though, isn’t that Kylie annoys him but that he can’t get her off his mind. What is it that draws him to her? Dag is reminded of the stories he heard of the seven original guardians and their mates. Could Kiley be his mate? Was it destiny that she was the one who woke him? “He believed that perhaps he had been summoned for this purpose, for this woman, to exist wholly and solely for her. It hit him like a revelation, and it felt like a blessing.” “It no longer mattered what Fate had decreed, or what the Light had intended. Kylie was his, and he would wage war on the whole of the universe in order to keep her.” Dag and Kylie, along with the three other guardians and the women who are their mates, are soon able to piece together the latest threat. The Nocturni were trying to find a way to awaken one of the Seven demons of the Darkness. They can’t allow this to happen. They have to find a way to stop them. As I said, this is the fourth book in this series. I did fall in love with this series right from the start with the first book and loved the second and third one as well. I have to admit that this one wasn’t my favorite. I can’t really say why. It took me almost half of the book to really start connecting with Kylie. At first, I just couldn’t relate to her brash personality. But, as she softened towards Dag, I felt myself softening as well. Together the guardians and the women try to devise a way to stop what the Nocturni are planning. I loved seeing this big, tough guardian gargoyle fall for the tiny human. And they do steam up the pages. These guardians are most definitely skilled in many ways. So, while this wasn’t my favorite of the series, I still enjoyed it. I do plan on sticking with the series as the search for the other three guardians continues so that together they can defeat the demons of the darkness.
CathyGeha More than 1 year ago
Anyone who likes a tough, strong, 1000 year gargoyle that in human form is handsome, high-handed and rather sexy will like Dag. Anyone who likes a brilliant, wealthy, quirky, tough, Yiddish speaking female who falls for a gargoyle will like Kylie. The book is well written and plotted. The bad guys are well defined as are the good ones. The story is action packed with murder and mayhem and puzzles to solve. There is steamy sex and chemistry that must have been based on pheromones or fated since I didn’t see that the two had much in common. The characters from previous books make an appearance and work with Kylie and Dag and though it is book four in the series it can be read and understood without reading the previous books. That said…I got tired of the Yiddish on every page that had to be translated after it was used. Some of the dialogue spoken by Kylie was as hard for me to follow as it was for Dag. I am not sure WHY this book didn’t grab me as similar plots have but am sure that there are readers who will love it and see that they do by the reviews I have just read. There is an author for every reader and a reader for every author. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the copy to read and review.
bouncyberthaCR More than 1 year ago
3.5 - "Time to nut up or shut up." Stars! Rocked by Love is definitely one of those books that sits in the fifty-fifty bracket for me. I loved the continuation of the general story arc, in relation to the release of the fourth Guardian, and the developments in the strengthening powers of the Order of Eternal Darkenss against them, but once again I struggled a little with the author’s characterization of her lead female character Kylie Kramer. "How you made it to adulthood with that tongue still in your mouth is a mystery." It wasn’t any one thing in this instance but a whole host I am afraid, Kylie is your typical computer geek, her connection with the previous couple in the story is that she was Bram Powe’s best friend, and six months after his death she is still searching for answers as to what happened, his sister Wynn’s (book three) lame excuse that he had a heart defect isn’t sitting well with our little nerd, and she takes it upon herself to investigate further. "Magic? Me?" All was well for the first part of the book but as it progressed I found the constant (and overuse) of Yiddish slang extremely grating, Kylie for the most part came across as a petulant tween and not a grown woman, and to say the connection between her and Dag was tenuous for most of the book would be a vast understatement. I get that Christine Warren likes to make her female leads sassy, snarky, full of confidence and attitude, but there is a fine line for me, and we went well past it into outright annoying for some parts of the book. "Get over yourself." And I think this is why I struggled to actually feel much of a connection between her and Dag for most of the book. I loved Dag, like all the previous Guardians, he has a bluntness of phrase and absoluteness of action that leaves you knowing exactly where his heart and his loyalties lie, but it felt more like he was trying to keep a troublesome teen in check a lot of the time, added to the spoiled bratty behavior from Kylie it really didn’t gel for me between them on this occasion. A warrior from the moment of his summoning to his last gasp of air. This is definitely a case of me not getting on with a characterization more than anything else, as the writing and story-line is still sound, and pretty entertaining when the rest of the gang were in the picture, I think mainly because is watered down some of Kylie’s annoyingness a little. We have three guardians left to have their story told, and I cannot wait to see where on the planet Christine decides to release the next one and to whom as his Warden, Europe is looking like a possibility, and I really hope that is the case as it brings the adventure to my neck of the woods. No news that I can find as to when the next book is due, but I hope it’s soon as things are really heating up between the forces of light and dark. ARC generously provided via Netgalley, and it was my pleasure to provide the above honest review.