Rock-a-Bye Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #16)

Rock-a-Bye Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #16)

by Carolyn Haines

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, August 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rock-a-Bye Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #16) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story...read this in one day & night....till 3 a.m. Very happy with the adventure of Sarah. Keep them coming...love is in her future.
Rockport_rocker 7 months ago
Rock-a-Bye Bones is the best book in the series so far and I have missed few. Carolyn Haines work always amazes me! Her work is a perfect example of the high quality of writing available in lighter fiction. We laugh, but there is so much to each of her books. This one is a heartbreaker, tear-jerker, hilarious, complicated story that will hold any reader from beginning to end.
vaj More than 1 year ago
This is a touching, solidly written Sarah Booth novel. It moves quickly & you get a sense of the urgency Sarah feels in tracking down the baby's mother. Sarah is persistent & does what the sheriffs department didn't do, first search for, then rescue Pleasant. You really feel for Tinkie & Owen for how they feel about baby Libby & their desire to keep her, but in the end they do the right thing & reunion Libby with her mother & family. #Rock-a-byeBones #NetGalley
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Rock-a-Bye Bones - Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery Book 16 Author: Carolyn Haines Published: 5-17-2016 Publisher: Minatour Books/St. Martin's Press Pages: 353 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: Animals; Cozy Mystery; Private Investigators ISBN: 13: 9781250085160 ASIN: B01772VVVK Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 5 Stars I received a copy of Rock-a-Bye Bones from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Description Sarah Booth Delaney knows the perfect way to begin recovering from both the recent attack on Scott Hampton’s blues club and her broken heart. She’s going to host a Thanksgiving feast for all of her friends at her ancestral home in Zinnia, Mississippi. But one bitterly cold night with the holiday just around the corner, Sarah Booth awakens to the insistent ring of her doorbell. She opens the door to find a newborn baby in a basket sitting on her front porch…and a pool of blood slowly seeping out from the basket. Before she can respond, an engine guns and a dark vehicle takes off. After the police and a doctor ensure the baby is otherwise safe and healthy, Sarah Booth calls Tinkie Richmond, her partner at the Delaney Detective Agency. They know they need to do everything they can to find the baby's mother...even if they are starting to fall in love with the baby themselves. But as they track the baby's mother, Sarah Booth soon begins to suspect the woman might have been in danger; in fact, she might have been running for her life. And following in the woman's footsteps, Sarah Booth might find her own life on the line next. My Reviews: With a description like above how could I not want to read this cozy mystery. Written with humor, but filled with suspense, Carolyn Haines offers Rock-a-Bye Bones the sixteenth book in the Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery series to her readers to prove solving a murder can make you laugh along the way. As always her characters capture your attention and leave you wanting to know them better. Her plots are interesting, this will pull at your heartstrings and make you work for the solution to the mystery. The story moves quickly and smoothly. Pick up a copy and see for yourself why I gave it a 5 out of 5 Stars.
PDX_reader_Jane More than 1 year ago
Desire, Danger, Delusion Carolyn Haines has creates characters that I love, like, admire or detest. Sarah Booth and Tinkie are my "fictional sisters". I feel their pain, love, laughter and hopes. Both desire a baby. One literally drops in on Sarah Booth, along with a pool of blood. SB summons Tinkie to figure out what to do with the baby and find her mother. Add 3 men professing they want "more" and someone hunting Sarah Booth! Conspiracies, emotions, regrets--- I was worried about my "sisters' until the end! Good job, Carolyn!
Dmaxtownsend More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth hasn’t had time to begin to process her shattered engagement when she finds an infant on her doorstep and bloody footprints leading away. With Tinkie stepping in to care for the child (not the best idea in this case), Sarah Booth and Sheriff Coleman begin a desperate search for the baby’s mother. This is a clever, fast-paced mystery featuring many of our favorite characters: Madame Tomeeka the pyschic, Cece (formerly Cecil) the ever-fashionable newspaper reporter, Harold, Scott and Coleman, Sarah Booth’s past loves, and of course, Sarah’s personal haint, Jitty. Who could ask for better friends to help solve the mystery, and to protect and love Sarah Booth? The evolution of these relationships is a key to the success of this series. This is Sarah’s family. I chuckled at the Go Set a Watchman reference; made me feel like an insider! This is handsdown my all-time favorite mystery series. Pick this book up and you will be hooked on terrific writing and characters and heart. The connections are real, the action is intense, and you will definitely want more!
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Sarah returned to her home in Mississippi after she had failed as an actress in NYC. Her parents had died in a car accident when Sarah was twelve. She had been raised by her paternal aunt until she went to college. Now Sarah had invited her friends to Thanksgiving dinner and having problems with the preparation. Her faithful dog Sweetie Pie Delaney is under the table. Sarah had always been an overachiever . But she did start a successful P I business - Delaney detective Agency. Sarah’s partner was Tinkie. Sarah now had three horses, a cat, a dog, and a ghost named Jitty. Jitty is like a comforting parent but also a hell raiser, butt kicker, and provoker. Jitty really enjoys getting Sarah riled up. Jitty wants Sarah to have a baby so the home had a heir and that way stay in her family. But Sarah had just broken her engagement so Jitty was on her case a lot about the heir issue. Jitty was one hundred and fifty years old and definitely didn’t like to cook as Sarah could have used her advice on that. Late the night Jitty woke up Sarah and made her go to her door and there Sarah found a newborn baby girl but there was also a lot of blood on her porch. Someone needed help or they would bleed to death. Then Sheriff Coleman arrived as well as Tinkie and Doc Sawyer. I loved this story literally didn’t put it down once i started it till i read the last page. It had so much in it: kidnapping, a baby, a mystery, jealousy a baby left on a P U doorstep, murder, love talent, action, temporary insanity, near death of a new mom, physical and mental abuse, hypothermia, a chase through the woods, and a ghost plus a lot more. What not to love. It was well written and easy to read. The characters were great especially Sarah and Tinkie and all the went through at different times in this story. I highly recommend. I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book; this is the sixteenth book in the Sarah Booth Delaney series by Carolyn Haines. Sarah Booth Delaney and her friends are still recovering from the attack on Scott Hampton’s blues club in Zinnia, Missippia. One night she hears a kitten at her door, when she goes to look it is not a kitten but a newborn baby in a basket on her front porch, with bloody footsteps leading away down the driveway. Sarah and her partner at the Delaney Detective Agency start looking for clues to track down the baby’s mother. This book has a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. A Review copy was provided to me in exchange for a fair and honest review. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
Sobryan More than 1 year ago
Haines is well known for her high-spirited Mississippi Delta mystery series featuring Sarah Booth Delaney and an entourage of quirky friends, pets and old souls. Her latest novel, “Rock-a-Bye Bones,” is the 16th to follow Sarah Booth into another adventure. When an abandoned baby and bloody footprints are left on her doorstep, it’s up to Sarah Booth to track down the mom. Tinkie Richmond, her partner at the Delaney Detective Agency, wants to help, but she also yearns to keep the baby as her own. What’s a Southern girl to do, especially when the resident ghost, Jitty, is hounding her to wed and produce? The “Bones” books, as referred since each has the word in the title, are not filled with graphic sex or violence. Instead, they build on the quirky characters in small-town Zinnia. I look forward to each addition to find out what they’re up to in their make-believe personal lives as well as their criminal-catching escapades. Haines also writes southern gothic tales under the pen name of R.B. Chesterton. ARC provided by NetGalley
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
Sarah Booth Delaney is back and just as funny as ever. This time while Jitty has been after her forever to have kids, someone has left a baby on her front porch. Jitty shows up a lot in this one. There's a baby on the line and she needs to keep the Delaney name going! Graf is out of the picture and men are coming out of woodwork to be Sarah Booth's new beau. And of course, there is action and suspense as Sarah Booth tries to find out the baby's mother and solve a few other mysteries as well. I always look forward to the new Sarah Booth Delaney books and am excited to find a new one to request! Huge thanks to St. Martin's Press and Net Galley for the opportunity of a free e-galley in exchange for an honest review. Carolyn Haines books are ALWAYS entertaining!
CozyMysteryLover1 More than 1 year ago
This was a great book. Sarah Booth is a colorful character that always leaves me laughing. This book was funny and heart felt. The mystery was good and I was kept guessing until the end. Any book that takes place over a holiday is usually very good and this story was well told. I like the interaction with Jitty and her love for Sarah Booth is genuine. I will be recommending this book and the entire series to my book group. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my fair and honest review.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Rock-a-Bye Bones by Carolyn Haines is the sixteenth Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery novel. Sarah Booth Delaney is awakened during the night to knocking (and Jetty, her resident ghost) at her door. She discovers a baby on her doorstep (and a lot of blood). After Sarah Booth opens the door a pick-up truck takes off down her driveway. Whoever left the baby on her doorstep was bleeding badly, but they waited to make sure that someone found the baby. Sarah Booth contacts Sheriff Coleman Peters (who is attracted to Sarah Booth) and her business partner (and friend) Tinkie Richmond (bad idea). Tinkie loves children, but she is unable to have them (you can guess that she is going to fall in love with this baby). Who would leave a baby on Sarah Booth’s doorstep? Sarah Booth figures the person had to know her or her reputation (for investigating). Sarah Booth sets out to find the mother of the baby (she could be in serious trouble). Sarah Booth has another problem. Gertrude Strom (from previous book) has escaped (she’s on the lamb) and is wanting to kill Sarah Booth. Gertrude always seems to be a step ahead (someone is helping her). Sarah Booth refuses to stay home, but she will have to extra vigilant to avoid Gertrude. Of course, who wants to stay home with Jetty. She is trying to convince Sarah Booth that it is time to settle down (marry and have kids). Things are never dull in Zinnia, Mississippi. I have not read a Sarah Booth Delaney Mystery novel is a few years (I read the earlier books). I was hoping to see that Sarah Booth had developed more as a character (grown up). I was disappointed. I found Rock-a-Bye Bones to be just plain silly (inane). The book started off with a good pace, but then it slowed down. There is too much going on in the book (the baby, Tinkie, Jetty, Gertrude, her new haircut, the dogs). Sarah Booth also seems to have three men after her and she is only interested in two of them (her man issues seem to dominate the book). Another thing that seemed to be mentioned quite a few times is Sarah Booth’s new haircut. Her hair suffered from a fire in a previous book and Sarah Booth had to get a new hair style. She evidently likes it (and we get to hear about it). I felt that the book went on way too long. I give Rock-a-Bye Bones 2.5 out of 5 stars. One thing that made no sense is Sarah Booth taking her dogs with her to find the killer (risking their lives). Does that make sense to anyone else? The ghost seems useless. Her main goal seems to be getting Sarah Booth married and pregnant (I just thought Jetty could be more useful/helpful in the crime solving). Sorry to be so critical. I am just trying to explain why I did not enjoy this cozy mystery. The mystery is very easy to solve despite the lack of clues. Rock-a-Bye Bones is not a stand-alone book. You do have to have read some of the previous books (at least the first ones) in order to understand everything that is happening in Rock-a-Bye Bones. I received a complimentary copy of Rock-a-Bye Bones from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.