Right Behind You

Right Behind You

by Lisa Gardner

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, June 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Right Behind You 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another one that you don't want to stop reading . Can't wait for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me guessing to the end. One of my favorite authors. Can't wait for next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always a great book i have always followed the profiler series and hope there will be more
Anonymous 12 months ago
Good read. Takes a surprise turn near the end. Lisa Gardner is an excellent mystery writer. Does her homework and provides believable characters and plot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome+book%21++MByrd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Gardner Never fails
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I waited a long time for Quincy and Rainie to return. So happy to see them return. Great book.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Eight years ago, nine year old Telly Ray Nash beat his father to death with a baseball bat. After stabbing their mother, their father came after Telly and his five year old sister Sharlah May. He defended them, and changed their lives forever. Telly and Sharlah haven't had contact since that day, placed into different foster homes and leading different lives. Sharlah now lives with Quincy and Rainie. She adores her dog Luka, a retired police dog,who is always by her side. Telly is almost ready to age out of the system as an adult and his most foster parents are kind but their focus is on preparing him to live alone. When there is a double murder at a small convenience story, Quincy and Rainie are called in. When Telly is seen on camera at the sight of the double murder and his foster parents are found shot in their bedroom, the manhunt is on. Can Quincy and Rainie protect Sharlah? Can they find him and put a stop to the killings? This is the 7th Qunicy and Rainie book, but you do not have to have read the others, this is a great stand alone book as well. This is a well written thriller. Just when you think you know what is going on, there is a twist and you are taken on a ride. The characters of Sharlah and Telly are complicated and as the story unravels you get to know them and their past experiences. The story is told by Sharlah and Telly, with Telly's side being told as his memories leading up to the events. Even though Telly and Sharlah have no contact since the incident eight years earlier, the bond they had as sister and brother is still strong and leads them into dangerous situations. The suspense in this book kept me reading long after I should have put it down for bed because I could not wait to read what happened next. A great addition to this series by Lisa Gardner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read. Very sorry it ended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad to have Quincy and Rainie back
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Gardner always delivers!! She takes you on a journey that you have clues, yet no solid information on where the story is heading. It's a wild ride, unable-to-put-down read, every time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She has written so many wonderful suspense, mystery books. I have especially loved all of them in the FBI profiler series. They are action packed, scary, keep you guessing, creepy, and great mysteries. This book wasnt bad but it was more slower paced and emotional compared to the rest. I didnt really care enough to wonder who did it or what the motives were. Sharlahs character wasnt too captivating and she was predictable. I even thought Quincy was boring. I did like Telly though. Altogether it wasnt a terrible book..but if you want scary and edge of your seat skip it. It wasnt worth the $9.99.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all the twists and turns!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and loved every book by this author and this book is no exception. Well written, fast paced, can't put it down kinda book.
literarymuseVC More than 1 year ago
Telly Ray Nash and his sister Sharlah have been brutalized by their father for years. One night Telly has had enough and takes a baseball bat to his father, killing him and even using the bat on his sister Sharlah. The siblings are then separated and are trying to put their lives together with families who actually want to adopt them. One day, however, Telly kills both of his foster parents and wanders off to commit more murder. Sharlah learns about this from her own foster parents, Quincy and Rainie, who are worried sick that her brother will come after to finish off what he began several years earlier. Quincy and Rainie are former FBI profilers and so they know something of what can be predicted. The novel then concerns the search for Telly who is on the run. The author takes the reader into the mind of Telly and Sharlah as the search continues. The two victims haven’t really pieced together why their violent background unfolded. Sharlah can’t figure out why her brother turned the bat on her after he finished his rampage on his abusive father. Both deeply know fear, hate, and love, experiences that don’t make sense, as well as the care their foster parents are unconditionally offering them. It’s just such a chaotic mental and emotional mess in their minds! Don’t quit reading because the story enfolds in ways that are imagined by the reader. Resist the temptation to stereotypically categorize Telly as a wounded killer gone berserk. There’s far more to this story worth the telling. Lisa Gardner is a wonderful storyteller who knows how to pace action and tension that keeps the reader riveted to the plot and caring about the characters involved in this nightmarish search and its aftermath. Well-plotted with multiple characters worth rooting for to come out of their nightmarish experience!
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings To start, this is the 7th in a series and I started this series with this book, so I don't know the history of Quincy and Rainie, but as far as I know, this was a fine way to start. I was clueless about their history throughout the read, but I did know I was jumping into this series midway and as most detective thriller series you can jump in and out because the who dun it is self contained, but the reader could miss some backstory of the detectives that won't affect the who dun it but affects the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As uaual all her books are good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story line, kept my attention with a bit of a surprise ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved and cherished all of the FBI profiler books, and it's been so long last one. I was so excited when I learned that there was to be a new one. little did i that I know how disappointed I would be. I had to struggle through finishing this book just for the sake of loyalty. There was hardly any action. Honestly it was quite boring. Lisa Garnder can do so much better.
LauraMHartman More than 1 year ago
DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL CONNECTION: I have a material connection because I received a review copy for free from the publisher in connection with NetGalley in return for my review. Copyright © 2017 Laura Hartman Lisa Gardner’s beloved characters, Rainie and Quincy are back in action. This time it is personal. Of all the unlikely couples in the world to adopt a troubled girl, it is them. They fostered her after she bounced from home to home. She didn’t seem to fit anywhere, most likely due to her past. Now she could be targeted by a killer. Sharlah has had a rough start in life. Daughter of alcoholic/drug addict parents, she was raised by her brother. He was only a few years older than she was when he had to take charge of her wellbeing. He fed her; made sure she got to school on time and protected her. Even when he had to use deadly force, he did what he had to do to keep her safe. It has been years since they have seen each other. Sharlah doesn’t let anyone get close to her since the night her parents died which was the last day she saw her beloved brother. The only breathing thing she has let herself get close to is Luka. A year after arriving at Rainie and Quincy’s as a foster child, he brought the retired police dog home to Sharlah. She and Luka are inseparable and the love they have for each other is evident. Sharlah loves her foster (soon to be adoptive parents) but has a much harder time showing them the affection that comes easy for her with Luka. Then the fragile world they have created begins to cave in. Sharlah’s brother Telly Ray Nash could be in trouble. Serious trouble. Trouble so serious that the local authorities have called in Quincy to help find Telly even though he is a retired FBI profiler. Rainie and Quincy are both concerned for the safety of the community and even more concerned for Sharlah. They can only hope he isn’t coming for Sharlah next. Right Behind You is action packed with twists and turns that surprised me until the very end. Just when I thought I had this fast-paced novel figured out, a new wrinkle in the plot would take me down a different path. It was a fabulous read for any suspense lover. Her characters are so real I expect to see some of them on the street. The setting was familiar due to my travels in the Northwest, I especially loved the reference to the cheese factory as I’ve been there several times just like the tourists in the story. Lisa Gardner never fails to deliver, and this book is no exception. It is obvious to see that she has earned the crown as the #1 best-selling New York Times author of suspense. This is the eighth novel in her FBI Profiler Series. I have read a few of them, as well as several of her other books. Her books intrigue and entertain, if you haven’t read her novels, Right Behind You will make you an instant fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great page turner.
literarywindow More than 1 year ago
Wow, I felt like maybe I had been living under a rock when this book caught my attention. The title got me right away, Right Behind You...can you say creepy? Prior to this moment I had never picked up a book by Lisa Gardner. After doing a little research, I found out that this book was actually her 8th with these particular characters and she had written over twenty books total. I was now reeling. How had I never heard of her? I worried that I would be too far behind the 8-ball so to speak, and that I wouldn't be able to understand the characters fully given their vast story history. However, I felt like this was one of the best parts of this book, I didn't feel like I missed a thing by having only read this book. With that being said, Lisa Gardner has a new fan member and I will for sure not miss another book of hers. I will be going back (over time) to read all the others in this series, plus her other series as well! Right Behind You started out with particularly heinous murder scene in which both of Telly Ray and Sharlah Nash’s parents end up stabbed and brutally beaten to death. While in an alcohol fueled rage, their neglectful father attacked and stabbed his wife first and then chased Telly wielding a knife all over their home. Telly protected his sister first, then tried to stay alive by dodging his father’s advances. Just as the situation was looking grim, Sharlah appeared in the door with a baseball bat...Telly did what he had to do... Sharlah and Telly were placed immediately into the foster care system and they were not allowed to have any contact with each other. The circumstances of the evening of their parent’s deaths were mostly unknown, only Telly and Sharlah who was only 5 at the time knew what actually transpired. The bottom line was both of their parents were dead and Sharlah’s arm was shattered. The story then fast forwarded 8 years. Both children were in good homes with responsible and loving people. Sharlah was in the midst of adoption proceedings. Her new family consisted of Pierce Quincy, Rainey Conner, and Sharlah’s retired police dog Luka. Both Pierce and Rainey are retired FBI agents with a passion for criminal profiling. Telly was taken in by Frank and Sandra Duvall, in the attempt to prepare him for his upcoming life as an adult. But then another murder occurred at a local gas station...Telly was videotaped as being the last person on the scene and he went on the run. Shortly afterward the bodies of Frank and Sandra Duvall were found shot in their home.! Local law enforcement asked for Pierce and Rainey’s assistance with the case. They then realized this case hit a lot closer to home then they had imagined. Was Telly Nash a cold blooded murderer? A spree killer? And more importantly was their soon to be adopted daughter Sharlah next on his hit list? I can now see why Lisa Gardner has the fans that she does. This book was a real page-turner from start to finish. I loved the way she developed the characters and gave insight through their experiences and their personal backstories. I was so emotionally invested in Telly and Sharlah. I found myself happy, frustrated, angry, and emotional multiple times while reading this book. Being a veterinary technician, as my career, I particularly loved Luka and what he brought to the story. His undying devotion to Sharlah was something that made my heart sing. All in all, this was a great story, with interesting characters, and an unexpected ending!