Resolute: The Epic Search for the Northwest Passage and John Franklin, and the Discovery of the Queen's Ghost Ship

Resolute: The Epic Search for the Northwest Passage and John Franklin, and the Discovery of the Queen's Ghost Ship

by Martin W. Sandler

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.49 $7.99 Save 6% Current price is $7.49, Original price is $7.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Resolute: The Epic Search for the Northwest Passage and John Franklin, and the Discovery of the Queen's Ghost Ship 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Lanceradvanced More than 1 year ago
A solid history of the quest for the Northeast passage, and the history of Arctic exploration. I found it a companion to Dan Simmon's "The Terror" and Cussler's "Arctic Drift"
dickcraig on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
John Barrow, the Admiral of the British Navy, sent a number of expeditions to the Arctic to find the Northwest Passage. The most famous was one led by John Franklin. When his ship and crew came up missing, a number of rescue missions were sent with the loss of men and ships. Lady Jane Franklin then began funding search missions with no success, other than finding artifacts from the expedition. The book was a testament to the short-sightedness of the British, who at the time insisted that the men stay in uniform, even though the native populations dressed for the weather and knew how to hunt for game to survive the long dark winters. It was an OK book, but not as good as some of the other Polar stories I have read.
10177126 More than 1 year ago
This is more of a history of exploration of the North Pole, and rescue missions to rescue the explorers. The HMS Resolute isn't really mentioned until chapter 8. It reads more like a lecture than an adventure story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating description of the age of arctic exploration.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lady_solace More than 1 year ago
So, right now, I'm obsessed with anything Arctic. Novels, non-fiction, anything. Which is why I picked up this little volume. It's a quick read, fairly easy, with lots of luscious little end notes full of information and biographies. It gives an overview of various expeditions up to the John Franklin expedition, which is mysteriously lost. And then in moves from sheer exploration to explore and rescue, and the various misadventures of all the teams involved. They writing is choppy and simple, but the information more than makes up for that, because it's just so INTERESTING. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you're a nit-picking historian that wants every 'I' dotted and every 'T' crossed, go away. This book is not for you. But if you're like the rest of us, who get caught up in the great sweep of a terrific story, then this is a wonderful book you will really enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately early in the story the author makes a grave geographical mistake. On page 40 he mistakes Point Turnagain with the Turnagain Arm of Cook Inlet many thousands of miles away. Not being intimately familiar with the story of HMS Resolute, this sloppiness in fact checking calls into question the reliability of any of the other points the author attempts to make.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Sandler appears to have rushed this work, probably working to a publisher's deadline. The book is riddled with errors - he needs to check his Latin - 'per Mare' means by sea not by mud! One should never say THE HMS, a common American mistake.This wonderful story needed to be told with greater respect and reverence - I would refer readers to 'HMS Resolute' by author Elizabeth Matthews for a more accurate recounting of this tale: even though it is in novel form it appears to be more thoroughly researched than Mr. Sandler's effort.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't say enough about this book. I couldn't lay in down. Martin Sandler compiled information about Artic exploration in the past 100 years that I didn't even know existed. If you enjoy reading exciting history, then this book is for you.