The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon (Left Behind Series #10)

The Remnant: On the Brink of Armageddon (Left Behind Series #10)

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99 $15.99 Save 31% Current price is $10.99, Original price is $15.99. You Save 31%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Remnant: Left Behind Series, Book 10 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 150 reviews.
Baptist_Mom7 More than 1 year ago
I have absolutely enjoyed every Left Behind book that I have read. I have read some reviews where people have said the books are a 'fifth' grade level, as if that were a bad thing. I'm sure these authors knew what they were doing when they wrote these books. They wanted a variety of people to be able to understand the books. People of all ages! Otherwise, what's the good of trying to share God's word with people if you load it up with words that are too complicated for some people to understand? If someone starts talking to me about things I don't understand (like cars) with terms that are really ridiculous to follow, then I will block it out and be completely uninterested! But, if they took the time to simplify everything, I would probably find an interest in it, plus would want to further my knowledge in whatever they are talking about! I applaud the authors for writing these books in a 'simple' way. The KJV bible is on a fourth or fifth grade level! The messages were great, the characters were outstanding, everything was creative. I read almost a book a day because I could never put them down! I am definitely a Left Behind series fan, fan of God's word & of God Himself! God bless all who read these books!!
ToniT More than 1 year ago
This series is the reason I became saved. Whatever anyone believes, that is an awesome thing.
CatBJ 10 months ago
The Remnant is the tenth book in the Left Behind series. There is lots of action packed in this novel. The people who believe in Christ are gathered in the ancient city of Petra. Carpathia's armies are ready to massacre them. He is stopped by the power of God. Some believers are captured and killed in this story. The tribulation force is prepared to fight the ultimate battle where good versus evil. The safe house is discovered causing them to leave suddenly. The world charges toward armageddon. A good book based loosely on the book of Revelation.
SonicQuack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Anyone who is ten books in to a series should know what to expect and The Remnant holds no surprises. The usual structure is exaggerated in this entry, with the first half following one event, without any tension or enjoyable action, whilst the latter half picks it up a bit. The final quarter is a welcome deviation from the norm, with far less dialogue which frequently feels like filler. If the authors could have used this style across the series, it would have been six books shorter and more enjoyable for it. The Remnant is a vital stepping stone in the series however it offers very little character development and overdoes the sermons somewhat.
ShortyBond on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
All of the Left Behind books are provacative and page turning. I read them all at least once a year.
davegregg on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story as fiction. I laughed, cried, fumed, and shouted--all positive things--but I want to temper that strongly by saying that I wouldn't suggest it as theological or eschatological material, as some have. I'm not really concerned with the order and how's of end-time events and believe we waste too much time trying to figure it out. As Jesus said: "No one knows the times or the seasons, but my heavenly Father." Do worry about it. Live and hope. You don't need to have it all marked out on a calendar.If someone were to ask me what fictional literature I would suggest, this series wouldn't occur to me at all, and I wouldn't suggest it if it did. But, seeing as I have read it (except the last one and the prequels), I felt like I ought to review it. For story, I would give it three stars, maybe four. But my reservations pull that rating down to two.
mramos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This the tenth book in the Left Behind series kept me turning pages. This book is actually filled with action. Though the characters are still two dimensional, the writing very simple, and the text font large. It was a page-turner and the best book of this series so far. The first have of this book is suspenseful. But is not carried through to the end. We begin with the attack on Petra, two large bombs and a nuclear missile. Which explodes with great conflagration, but does not harm the True believers. The million at Petra are free from harm and are provided manna daily for food and fresh water from a spring that seemed to be Gods answer to launching the missile. While in Greece we have a couple members of the Tribulation Force trying to rescue the pilot George from Global Community Forces. The Tribulation Force members have taken on credible covers of high ranking GC officers...the only problem is the local commander is friends with the head of Internal Security at the Palace, and is planning a trap for the Trip Force. And the Global Community think that something is going on in Chicago, so they plan to send missiles at it and level the city. Easier then doing a sweep of a city when they have so few men left in the world. The Tribulation Force uses the Co-op to set up a large trade of wheat from South America and Water from India. It is interesting to read the protection placed upon even the believers in their aircraft as the Anti-Christ's Air Force tries to knock them out of the air.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These books are awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kristen4mk More than 1 year ago
We're getting closer to the home stretch! As we left off in "Desecration", a huge number of believers have gathered in Petra, a place of refuge. Nicolae plots that this would be the perfect time to destroy them all as they are in one place...however, a miracle occurs and the believers are unharmed by his attempts. Rayford (in Petra), Buck (Chicago safehouse) and Chloe are again spread out and have trouble reaching each other. (Chloe has gone on a mission of sorts, leaving Kenny behind - which btw I as a mother thought was a little unusual....) The Chicago safehouse is compromised and our primary Tribulation Force members go to San Diego with the eventually rescued George Sebastian. In more Bowl Judgments, freshwater everywhere is turned to blood, and the sun is super hot. Not all of our favorites make it to the end of this installment alive...but I suppose that it would be extra unrealistic to hope that they would all be present at the final "Glorious Appearing". Darkness overtakes New Babylon, and Armageddon is coming...
KitKatDoe More than 1 year ago
This tenth book in the best-selling Left Behind starts out with God miraculously protecting both believers and nonbelievers in Petra from a rain of fiery missiles. Dr. Tsion Ben-Judah and Chaim begins to teach them the Lord's Word, all the while Carpathia thinks he has the upper hand with the Trib Force gathered all together. Tsion and Chaim begin developing programs to teach believers world-wide (as much as the world is left, even as Petra is swept for any known impostors. Now with six months into the Great Tribulation, Jews and other believers were being tortured and killed on every continent. Rayford and George are punished to do manual labor. Now with more of God's judgments being sent, Carpathia and others are steeped in heat. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.
kattrox More than 1 year ago
Evident that God provides for his people sparing them from the suffering of the unbelievers, Tsion's encouraging voice can be heard throughout causing rejoicing among the believers. Carpathia and his evil constituants were not pleased when their efforts to destroy the gathered believers at Petra failed. Carpathia calls Leon to appoint others to perform great stunts in an effort to further bring more devotees to worship his image. He steps up his tortuous punishment regime for the Jewish people insisting that they will submit to the mark of the beast. This book in the series had alot of action and drama but I found it fell short by not holding my attention through the middle sections. The beginning and ending are superb however. This series is very thought provoking and has challenged my faith and I would highly recommend them to others as I have throughly enjoyed them so far.
ShoopettesBooks More than 1 year ago
"The Remnant" is the tenth in the series of fiction books by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins chronicling the events that take place in the world during the end times. The books follow several main characters as they fight for their lives and for their faith as the world makes its way to the last days. In this book, one million believers of the world are assembled at Petra, and Nicolae is ecstatic as he prepares to destroy them all while they are in one place. But God has his hand on Petra, and Nicolae's attempts at destruction are miraculously thwarted. The earth is physically reeling from the judgments that have been unleashed, making life continually unbearable for those who have taken the mark. All pretenses on the part of Nicolae and the Tribulation Force are now gone as the forces of good and evil prepare for the battle to come: Armageddon. This book is setting up for the ultimate battle that will be fought against good and evil. It has its exciting parts as there are miracles occurring and daring rescues being attempted. But it also has its sad parts as many believers are killed. I especially enjoyed the situations that took place at Petra during this book: the miracles, the teachings of Tsion Ben-Judah, and the stories of those who took refuge at Petra but had not yet decided whose side they were on. This series of novels is a fictionalized account of the events of the end times. I enjoyed the whole series. While this book is geared towards Christians, there is enough action and depth to it that should appeal to all. The characters are well done, and it is easy to follow the many plots that are going on within these books.
VicG More than 1 year ago
Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins in their book "The Remnant" Book Ten in the Left Behind series published by Tyndale House Publishers tells us we are On the Brink of Armageddon. At the end of "Desecration" the Jewish believers to flee to Petra for survival. As soon as they arrived Nicolae decided to wipe out this threat to his regime once and for all. Now the book resolves the greatest cliffhanger yet reminiscent of the story of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego. The failure to destroy them sends Nicolae into a rage and he vows to wipe out everyone who will not take his mark by beheading them. All of the Tribulation Force is spread out across the planet and all are in deadly danger. In this book some members do lose their lives so have the tissues handy. I feel this may be the most exciting book yet in the series. Dr. LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins provide a fictional background for the real events that the final book of The Bible, Revelation, speak about: the end times. The Biblical accuracy in"The Remnant" is flawless and the story is a page turning thriller. There are wonderful themes: salvation, faith in what you cannot see and who is in charge despite appearances to the contrary. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to book eleven in this series. If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand. To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves Disclosure of Material Connection: I own this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Shaf1070 More than 1 year ago
I'm on the downhill slide with this series. Only two more books to go! The Remnant was fantastic! Makes me so glad that I'm a believer and I won't have to endure the hardships!
amber93AC More than 1 year ago
the remnant starts out with the jews and some others in petra with two bombs and a missle heading their way. when they hit the people in petra find they are modern day shadrach, meshach and abenigos. later one of the judgements comes that gives the sun the power to scorch every one with the mark of the beast. the several false prophets come and fool many who have no marks. at the end chang esapes under the plague of darkness. there is now only 2 years left.
hannah97 More than 1 year ago
The Remnant, a Left Behind book, is great! You have to read this book! It's Epic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReneeAnn More than 1 year ago
The Remnant, book ten of the Left Behind Series, begins with a miracle reminiscent of Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego's story as the million believers gathered at Petra come through a bombing unscathed. Actually, a few among their number are not yet believers but have not taken the mark of the beast. Many accept Christ after they are miraculously saved from the fire. Tsion, Rayford, and Chaim become the leaders of the largest group of the faithful left on earth. This poses its own problems since each man has only been saved a few years. They pool their collected wisdom to come alongside Tsion as he teaches the remnant all he can about God. I love how beloved teacher Tsion-in the midst of the worst time the world has ever experienced-focuses on God's mercy. He says, "I will let God's justice and judgment and wrath speak for themselves, and I will spend the rest of my time here championing His mercy." Continuing in this episode, the three main characters, Rayford, Buck, and Chloe, are in three different locations for most of the story. They struggle with worrying over and missing each other. In a harrowing development, Chloe and Kenny's safe house in Chicago is endangered. By the end of the story, that city has been bombed off the face of the map by Carpathia's forces. The Remnant also follows the ordeals of several believers in key locations (Chang, David, etc.) as they do their part to fight the Antichrist. Some survive, and, sadly, some do not. Though they are small cogs in the giant flywheel as far as the world is concerned, their deaths are precious in the sight of their fellow Tribulation Saints. By this point in the timeline, I found myself comparing this series to other books and movies. I would say these books have the espionage and technical complexity of a Bourne movie combined with the sweeping scope of a worldwide good vs. evil saga like The Lord of the Rings. I commend the authors for their attempt to capture the majesty and awesomeness of this future time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago