The Relaxation Response

The Relaxation Response

by Herbert Benson M.D., Miriam Z Klipper

Paperback(UPDATED & EXPANDED)

$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Relaxation Response 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
We all know how to get ourselves in a stressed out and keyed up state. But, do you know how to make your body relax and de-stress in a matter of minutes, guaranteed? This book will show you. A real gem, I give it 5 stars easy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A classic on mind-body ideas and how they relate to creating a 'relaxation response' where the body calms down and reduces blood pressure and a variety of other good things, as a result of your voluntary control. He discussed the various techniques used to produce the relaxation response very clearly and the book is useful as a guide for doing it. But, it is probably best as a great background into mind-body ideas and the beginning of presitigious (Harvard...) extensive research by this author and others. Highly recommended landmark book.
MerleF More than 1 year ago
This book was a 25 year old article "bulked up" into a single topic book. I'd bought it on advice of a counseling professional, but hardly learned anything new from the book. It's just a overly verbose discussion of "medical" benefits of transcendental meditation, and other types of relaxation. In my opinion it was too much of the same old - same old from the 70s.
TheTechLady More than 1 year ago
There is only ONE PAGE of instruction in the book. Not kidding - ONE PAGE. The rest is very dry and outdated research into the detrimental effects of sustained stress on the body; nothing you don't already know if you watch the Science Channel, DIscovery, or PBS, or read any popular literature on the subject. I wanted to learn a relaxation technique, but I didn't want a New Age-y mystical guide. This looked promising. It ended up to be a huge disappointment. I'm surprised it is still on the market.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is short, but effective. It has already changed my life. It is basically an informative book about an easy meditation method to achieve the relaxation response.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jeff_T More than 1 year ago
This book does a good job of presenting a rather simple meditative technique in terms of its historical context, scientific underpinnings, and examples of success stories. However, I thought this book could have been condensed into a shorter story. I zoned out through the section about the history of meditation, as I thought one too many examples were provided to prove the point that, yes, cultures and religions throughout history have utilized the relaxation response. Also, although there were several studies noted which provide scientific evidence that the relaxation response does produce health benefits, it seemed that a couple of the studies did not necessarily prove the author's point. For example, the study concerning the effect of the relaxation response on drug use left me to wonder whether the relaxation response caused decreased drug use or drug use decreased because the study's subjects were seeking to end their drug use anyway, and that's why they began engaging in meditative techniques. Overall I would recommend this book, even though it is not flawless.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oneira More than 1 year ago
Parts of this book I really loved. The chapter on the history of religious meditation was great. He mostly concentrated on Western meditators since it's an often overlooked topic.

Actually, though, most of the book dealt with high blood pressure. He is a medical doctor and the first in the medical field to successfully show the benefits of meditation. This book was very, very medical. I liked it, though most of it didn't pertain to me since I don't have problems with my blood pressure.

Nevertheless I would still reccomend this to anyone who suffers from anxiety and/or clinical depression, and most especially to those who suffer from high blood pressure.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Quite simply put, this book will teach you an easy technique you can do almost anywhere that will put your body in a state of relaxation. The best part? It is very well researched and documented and it really works!