Red Metal

Red Metal

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Red Metal 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous 4 months ago
very accurate and interesting read. not to far fetched.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Hard to put down once you start. Lots of action! Loved it
Anonymous 5 months ago
Over fifty years ago while in college I read a book non-stop, cover to cover, without a break, sleep, etc. The book was by Leon Uris, 'Mila 18'. Another book I could hardly put was 'Red Storm Raising' by Tom Clancy. This book,'Red Metal' is just as good or better than these two classics. I guess I've read 40-60 books a year for 20+ years. This book will be ranked in my top 5.
Ben Clark 5 months ago
Woah! This is such a great great read I honestly don't know where to start. I JUST finished and had to come online to give a review. It felt real! As if this kind of nightmare scenario could really happen. First, the characters are rich and totally absorbing. There is a lot going on, but the characters are kind of introduced to us in sequence, and already on the job. Very very Clancy, I'm thinking olden days like HUNT FOR RED OCTOBER Clancy when the characters just came alive in the page and were so believable you really laughed or got scared when the circumstances warranted it. Second, the rich locations from lush jungles to snow covered mountains. It was amazing. I actually felt a chill as they described the wind whipping through the helicopter door on the snowy mountain and felt for them and their predicament. I mean I know soldiers do this kind of thing in real life, but reading it was like a first have account from combat in an intense and harsh environments. Third, the action. Well look, this is a war novel. Military thriller to be precise, but it was so intense in some parts I actually was having war dreams after falling asleep. The Combat dialogue is totally real. Some of it is hard to understand because I think it's like real dialogue that troops user on the radios, but in the context of the story it was actually easy to follow. I started on the audible version, but switched over to hardcover when went to find it in sale at my local Barnes and Noble. I just had to own it in hard copy so I could go back to some of the cooler, more detailed scenes and appreciate the settings and stuff better This is like my #1 read right now. I just finished, but I really might read it again this week. It's totally that good!! Highly recommend.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Learned a lot about military weapons and tactics.... Excellent plot... nail biting....page turner.... but also a tear jerker......for me anyway... I'm a girl after all
Thomas Pulaski 5 months ago
This is one of the best military fiction novels I havre read since Tom Clancy's Red Storm Rising. The action is amazing and so true to life. The character descriptions are rich and the locations are exciting. I could not put this down. I stayed up four nights in a row past midnight to see what was going to happen next. The authors, one of which I think went to war and the other is the awesome Greaney who wrote the Grey Man series which I really enjoy. Nail biting, gripping, awesome!
Loy3 5 months ago
I have read all of Mark Greaney’s Grey Man series and loved them. I was very excited to read this book. Thank you, Net Galley. It started off with a bang and never stopped. I enjoyed the story but had a hard time keeping the people straight. I kept the list of characters from the front close by which helped. The writing was good, and the action never stopped. Several characters stood out more than the others. There was a lot of detail which was interesting and gave a breather from all the nonstop action.
Steve Aberle 6 months ago
Red Metal is a terrific war/military read. Both writers must have been on the front lines, that is how good this is. It is the here and now and Russia is planning a strike on Western Europe, East Africa, and other strategic regions for various political and economic reasons. The story is told from numerous points of view by the participants, each offering their own unique ideas and viewpoint. The dialog is super-realistic, and the jargon puts us in the forefront both physically and emotionally. This reminded me of the iconic Tom Clancy. If you liked him, you will love Red Metal.
Anonymous 2 days ago
Good book with exciting characters....could not put it d..own ...author follows in the footsteps of Harold Coyle and Larry Bond.
Anonymous 4 days ago
Very fast paced. Great characters.
Len_Crawford 6 days ago
“Red Metal” is one of the best military conflict based stories that I have ever read. It provides its readers with personal perspectives from all fronts (US Military-Army, Navy, Marine Corps and Air Force;Russian Military-Tank Brigades, Special Forces,Infantry and Air Force; French Special Forces; and the Polish Military with their remarkable civilian militia). Throughout the novel, there is no dominating side, all factions have their victories and defeats. On a personal note, I served in the Maryland Air National Guard for 21 years assigned to an A-10 Maintenance Squadron and was proud to see a story line that highlighted the critical importance of the A-10 “Warthog”. Mr. Greaney and Lt. Col. Rawlings provide their readers with an exciting, in the trenches, narrative that all fans of military fiction will appreciate.
Anonymous 24 days ago
One of my favorite action thrillers in 2019.
Anonymous 29 days ago
fast moving detail that will have you at the edge of the chair
Anonymous 3 months ago
Very good read. Enjoyed the characters and action. Hopefully this all remains fiction.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I feel I should be awarded a purple heart. Non-stop action. A can't put down thriller. Be prepared to read far into the night.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Great detail and story. A true page turner with surprises and heroes.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I would dare say better than Red Storm Rising.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Couldnt put it down.
Anonymous 4 months ago
I+recommend++this++book%2C+I+couldn%27t++put++it++down++until++it+was+done++and++hope++the++authors++will++write++a+sequel++or+a+series++of++books+to++follow+.++Thank++you.
rjh1 5 months ago
If I had wanted another Clancy type Russia/Chinese conspiracy novel, I would have bought one. I am burned out on those. I tried hard, but stopped reading after about 150 pages. I'll be back for another Greaney book when the Gray Man returns...not until then. Just my preference.