A Red Herring without Mustard (Flavia de Luce Series #3)

A Red Herring without Mustard (Flavia de Luce Series #3)

by Alan Bradley

Paperback

$15.41 $17.00 Save 9% Current price is $15.41, Original price is $17. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Red Herring Without Mustard: A Flavia de Luce Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 162 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's unfair to go on here and give a bad rating because you don't agree with BN pricing. (and it is 9.99)On that note... Please read this book! If you loved the other books in this series...you won't be disappointed! They say don't judge a book by it's cover...in this case, DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ONE PERSONS UNFAIR RATING!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all other books in this series, but have not yeat read this one - based on the previoius two I'll go out on a limb and give it four stars. I also own a Kindle. The reviews should be limited to the book, don't slam the book due to B&N business practises. I agree it's ridiculous to pay more than paperback (and 25% more than a competitor's price) - but that is not under the author's control!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Bishop's Lacey, England the Gypsy looks into her crystal ball to inform eleven year old chemist and amateur sleuth Flavia de Luce her future. However, the hag tells her she has never in her life seen a darker future. Flavia is not one to be concerned as the child deals with an odd household on their Buckshaw Estate. Her widowed father the Colonel lives for his philately collection; her oldest sister Ophelia "Feely" loves her music; and the middle sister thirteen years old "Daffy" Daphne hides in her books. Flavia, who never met her mother Harriet (outside the womb that is), uses her late great-Uncle Tarquin's fully loaded chem lab as her escapism into the savory world of poison. Soon after the dark reading, Flavia finds the corpse of the ancient Gypsy. Someone stabbed the woman to death in her wagon. Flavia on her bike Gladys investigates the homicide while she contemplates that the murder appears to be one of passion perhaps vengeance; similar to what she thrives for against her older siblings though not with murderous malice. Instead of solving this killing, Flavia finds a second body. Her inquiry leads to an intriguing clue to what she considers the key mystery. This is a terrific post WWII whimsical amateur sleuth as Flavia follows the murder clues while eluding the demands of her older sisters and her father is to busy with his stamps. As with her previous cases (see The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag), the tweener keeps the story line focused as she investigates two homicides in which the clues twist into something personal. Harriet Klausner
hanro More than 1 year ago
Flavia: "I have no fear of the dead. Indeed in my own limited experience I have found them to produce in me a feeling that is quite the opposite of fear. A dead body is much more fascinating than a live one and I have learned that most corpses tell better stories. I’d had the good fortune of seeing several of them in my time.”
AvalonBound More than 1 year ago
It's the third book I've read in the Flavia de Luce series, so obviously I do love something about these books. However, I think emotion bled into some of my star rating. It's just so hard to dislike 11 year old Flavia and this series is the perfect escape when that's exactly what you're looking for. I do a lot of willing suspension of disbelief in these books, but possibly a little more in this one. Flavia's intellect is clearly superior and her knowledge of chemistry is remarkable...a little too remarkable at times. At eleven she can't possibly know every single reaction and chemical makeup of all things in the Universe, and yet she apparently does. I really could have done without knowing the elements of the skin on top of a cold mug of formerly hot chocolate and I think everyone else could have done too. It added nothing to the story. What does add to the story for me is the believable torment from her sisters, both of whom must miss their mother so much that they have misdirected their grief by taking it out on Flavia, who was only one year old when their mother died in a mountain climbing accident and does not remember her. And additional tension is created from the financial difficulties of their father, who appears poised at the precipice of bankruptcy at all times. What I don't understand is how they have not yet resolved his wife's estate after ten years. There is also a fair bit of contrived plot in this, but when did that ever stop Bradley before? I still enjoy watching Flavia dart about the countryside on faithful old Gladys (her bike) and she does move the story forward with her sleuthing in a convincing way. Never mind that bodies seem to litter Buckshaw's grounds like confetti throughout Flavia's short career as a detective. It is still fun and eminently readable. Bradley is an engaging author and Flavia is an adorable protagonist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The child who took down license plate number to the master chemist she is becoming is absolutely delightful, thrilling, informative, well set with characters that unfold and is a good read. I read these books because I like Agatha Christie and good mysteries. This one is a cliffhanger. So many questions unanswered but some are answered. I do question the recent inclusion in many of these continuing stories, the Harry Potter series for one, that the past books summaries appear on pages of the books throughout as part of the story. I just wonder why the third story with all it's content could not be written like the first.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I love all the Flavia de Luce books by Alan Bradley. JB
Anonymous 8 months ago
Flava de Luce is quite a character. Her youth and intellegence is refreshing. Really like this series. Many twists and turns and lots of energy. Looking forward to reading the next book.
readingwithtea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"When I come to write my autobiography, I must remember to record the fact that a chicken-wire fence can be scaled by a girl in bare feet, but only by one who is willing to suffer the tortures of the damned to satisfy her curiosity"In this third instalment of Flavia de Luce¿s adventures, Flavia finds a gypsy of her acquaintance brutally attacked. No sooner has she helped the victim to hospital, than a second body of her acquaintance turns up on the family property. Her detective work is hindered by her devious sisters, a relative of the gypsy, and Inspector Hewitt, who as usual is not keen to be aided by an 11-year-old passionate chemist and sleuth.I tore through The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and The Weed That Strings the Hangman¿s Bag, and this was no different. Flavia¿s is such a refreshingly different world from the seedy dens of crime occupied by more modern sleuths; she is the youngest daughter of a widowed philatelist and lives with her family in a crumbling family pile in 1950s countryside England. Bradley puts so much effort into crafting Flavia that sometimes the story is more about her than the crime she¿s trying to solve ¿ but that¿s just fine with me. The tale is always fairly light and fluffy and a very easy read (it kept me sane in Bangkok airport in the middle of a very long flight ¿ so concentrated brainpower is clearly superfluous), and I would say it is suitable for all ages from Flavia¿s own (11) to adult.Flavia is a fabulous character but I've already raved about her in previous reviews. The way that Bradley is slowly doling out more and more character development for the minor characters across the successive books is excellent - this time we get a bit closer to Flavia's father, much closer to her mother, and the personalities in the village are more memorable (and return from previous books)."I remembered Father remarking once that if rudeness was not attributable to ignorance, it could be taken as a sure sign that one was speaking to a member of the aristocracy.""As any chemist worth her calcium chloride knows...""Who, after all, can carry out full-scale snoopage with a six-foot-something ex-prisoner of war dogging one's every footstep?"I have Flavia to thank for the idea to name my bicycle ¿ Flavia flies around the countryside on her trusty steed Gladys, who undergoes regular anthropomorphisation.Buy this and read it straight away.
Neale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easily the best book in the Flavia series so far. Flavia is a brilliant character and her adventures are very enjoyable. A real page turner with lots of twists. Highly recommend.
hoosgracie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I found this latest Flavia de Luce mystery to be poignant. The financial difficulties of Flavia's father, the tortured relationship with her sisters, and the looming death of her mother 10 years prior are ever present in the third book. The mystery that Flavia works on - the injury of a Gypsy and the death of a local roustabout - are as intriguing as ever. A beautiful series.
ashleywintters on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Befriending a gypsy after burning down her tent seems to be the beginning of Flavia de Luce¿s mystery and troubles. She knows her father will not welcome the gypsy on their land, but feels the obligation to see to her ailing new friend. When she goes to check on the old lady, Flavia finds the first part of the mystery, someone has tried to murder the gypsy.Inspector Hewitt joins the tale and is not overly pleased with Flavia¿s involvement in another of his cases. Flavia fills the inspector in on most of the story, omitting details she wants to investigate herself. During her investigation, she stumbles onto another body and it just happens to be someone she knows was up to no good. Inspector Hewitt insults her by cutting her out of the investigation¿or so he thinks.In the midst of the investigation, Flavia¿s father tells her and her sisters they will be losing the house they grew up in. We learn a lot about her chemistry obsession and family dynamic, including two sisters who love to torture their `baby¿ sister. Flavia even gets a knife held to her throat by an unknown girl.A wonderfully written mystery that is perfect for reading anytime. Once you start this book, you will feel you know the characters and are a part of the story.Reviewed by Ashley Wintters for Suspense Magazine
NewsieQ on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I realize that the term ¿most unique¿ is redundant. Yet, oddly, it applies very much to the heroine of Alan Bradley¿s gentle mysteries. Her name is Flavia deLuce and she¿s now eleven years old, a very precocious eleven years old. She lives with her widowed father and two cruel (or so Flavia believes) older sisters, Daphne and Ophelia in a rambling mansion in the 1950s English countryside. At a church fête, our heroine is having her fortune told by an old gypsy woman, Fenella Faa, when Flavia manages to accidently start a fire that consumes the tent. Thus tied to the woman, she invites her to bring her caravan to Buckshaw, to rest up. But the next day, Flavia finds Fenella bleeding and near death in her caravan. That seems like a pretty straightforward crime for Flavia to solve but, of course, nothing is all that simple in these wonderful Flavia deLuc stories. Complications abound, and it¿s up to our heroine to save the day ¿ as she always does -- but not without getting into hot water with both her father and the local constabulary. I love these little books (Red Herring is number three), which are much beloved by readers of all ages. They¿re great stories and Flavia is a terrific first-person narrator.
jamespurcell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Flavia continues to delight. Slowly, but surely, Bradley is filling in the back story. He makes me wish that my granddaughters were still preteens so that they enjoy them. Studying neuroscience and biochemistry at the university level, currently, they would have enjoyed Flavia's predilection with poisons as well as her gallant and perfidious struggles with her siblings. As a former chemistry teacher, I am delighted and look forward to the historical tidbits that Flavia uses to leaven her quests for revenge.
hemlokgang on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Review: Cute, occasional laughs out loud. This third story n the Flavia de Luce series is fun as always.
SandraJohnson-Harri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Flavia de Luce! It is especially her bright and vain observations that make the mysteries so unique. She is a very believable character who solicits the reader's sympathy when her sisters exact their acts of jealous revenge. Bravo Alan Bradley!
marsap on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Flavia de Luce returns in her third mystery, investigating a long-ago missing child, the brutal attack on a gypsy fortune-teller, and a murdered local thug. Flavia continues to use her chemistry knowledge and sleuthing skills to discover the truth behind all of the mysteries presented. What I especially like about this book is that you get more of the inner story of Flavia. What you discover is a young girl who who misses and grieves for her mother, is hurt by her sister¿s hatred towards her, and really needs a young friend (besides Dugger). I loved this book and can't wait to pick star reading the next one in the series. A definite 5 out of 5.
tahoegirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this installment in the Flavia de Luce series. I can't wait to finish the series because I am really looking forward to what is going to happen to her family.
khiemstra631 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the third book in Bradley's Flavia de Luce series which features eleven-year-old Flavia. Taking place in 1950's England, the series features motherless Flavia, her two evil older sisters, and their hapless father who is totally immersed in his postage stamp collection. They live in an old pile of a manor house, which is falling down around them. Flavia lives for chemistry and also for riding her bike, Gladys. She also has a predisposition for getting involved with crimes of various sorts. This time an elderly Gypsy fortune-teller is attacked shortly after telling Flavia's fortune. Flavia tries to track down the attacker in order to "assist" the police. The results are quite amusing with Flavia triumphing in the end. This series is a total delight to read!
kraaivrouw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love Flavia de Luce and Alan Bradley for creating her (and for having great titles). I think the primary thing I like about her is how very much she reminds me of Harriet the Spy, one of my all-time favorite characters as a kid and a book I read over and over again. Throw Harriet down in 1950'sish Britain and she'd be Flavia de Luce.The other thing I like about this look is the way Mr. Bradley takes a fairly typical British mystery setting/theme and plays with it in lots of fun ways. Putting a precocious eleven year old in the midst of the mayhem is brilliant.A Red Herring Without Mustard is the third in the series and I liked it much more than the second. The plot involving gypsies and mysteries involving old legends, religious cults, and chicanery of all kinds just really pleased me. I have loved stories about gypsies and gypsy caravans since the first time I read The Wind in the Willows and Mr. Toad bought a gypsy caravan (to hilarious purpose). Putting traveling people still roaming about the countryside in caravans is irresistible.There are plenty of twists and turns throughout to keep the reader reading and amused. Altogether a delightful experience!
riverwillow on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love this series of books. Flavia is an engaging character who is both wise beyond her years, as she both solves the murder and understands her father's financial difficulties, and a convincing eleven-year-old as she fights with her older sisters. Fantastic.
tangential1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another excellent Flavia de Luce mystery. The mystery was an easy solve, but Flavia's bouncing about the countryside makes up for it. I absolutely love the tone and the vocabulary of these books. Just a fun read.
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the charming bits of this series so far is Flavia's relationship with her mother. Although Flavia doesn't remember her mother, she is fascinated by her- wanting to know about her, but not wanting anyone to know that. The plot line of this installment includes a number of "red herrings" and that gives the book its sense of fun - you never know where Flavia is going to go next...
PAWilson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love this book. The author has found a great balance with this precocious detective. She's not too arrogant and highly competent.
FremdeB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
if you get a chance to listen to alan bradley's flavia de luce titles on audiobook, please do so. they are wonderful stories made even better when you listen.