Read My Lips

Read My Lips

by Teri Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Read My Lips 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
For Serena Nelson, fitting in has never been easy, but it was possible.

A punk skater at heart, she had her own niche of like-minded friends who didn't mind that she was deaf. Serena's talents for lip reading are excellent, and allow her to live a pretty normal life.

When she moves to a small town, the preps in her new school see her talent as something to profit off of, and use Serena to get the juiciest gossip, enticing her with a membership into a secret sorority and the promise of fitting in.

But will her so-called friends go too far?

READ MY LIPS is an attention-grabbing page-turner. Serena is a smart and edgy narrator, who is quite normal despite her condition, and doesn't seek attention because of it. Her desire to fit in is something that we can all empathize with, and the lengths that she goes to do so are relatable. But it's how she fights back and overcomes those that belittle her that makes READ MY LIPS such a compelling and quick read.

The story is a delightful mix of complex characters, biting wit, and the angst that comes with making new friends.
SealBaby More than 1 year ago
This book is your total romantic, friendship trouble,high school drama.Not to mention making out. It is amazing how Serena uses her talent just so she could get friends. But it's not in a very good way, I can tell you that.This book is unforrgetable. I started the book yesterday and I finished the book last night. I am going to share thiss with my friends. I read the book just for fun. Believe me i couldn't put the book down. My dad got mad at me when I would read during the movie we were watching. The story itself was wonderful. The characaters were so realistic.Like you would find the characters at your own High School. So it is in fact realistic. The writing of the book was O.K. I've read better.Some parts of the book
I read over and over again. My favorite character besides Serena, would have to be Miller. To find out why Miller is my total favorite you'll have to read the book.I also found myself in this book. I realized more and more on how i really act. I realized that I (not only need to work on my character) but to start changing my habits and attitude towards other people. Well Gotta go Read!
Pick up this book today!

Yours Truly,

Sealbaby

P.S. I'm in love with a fictional character!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So ive been looking for this for forever because i read it once and have been obssessed with just couldnt remember the title. Its a great book and i would highly recommend it to yone who undecided :)
smg-Snpisarski on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is one of those teenage dramas, but it is written very well and is about this new girl who is deaf and she meets these girls who use her to find out gossip but reading people's list. They make her do ridiculous tasks and she eventually comes to her senses.
theepicrat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A very cute book! I enjoyed thoroughly enjoyed the main character (Serena) and the delicious budding romance between her and the lone rebel Miller. Teri did an excellent job with character development, especially given that Serena was a deaf girl who read lips. And I was surprised at how classy the "it" girls were at the end.
JRlibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Serena starts at a new high school, she quickly realizes that her ability to read lips due to her deafness might turn out to be a big advantage. Some very popular girls are suddenly interested in makin her their new best friend, and Serena really enjoys the new feeling of fitting in, even if it comes at the expense of people's privacy. Just how far is Serenca willing to go to be one of the popular girls and how long can she continue to lip read secrets without getting caught? If you want to find out, check out Read My Lips, by Teri Brown.
krissa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Um, teen angst anyone? Serena made some very bad decisions. On the other hand the author made it believable why she would. The author covers issues that all teens face (sense of self, and wanting to fit in, ect.) Serena reminded me of a deaf teen that I once knew, and I couldn¿t help feeling how much they had in common, and how much I think they would have gotten along. It was a buyable story, and I liked the style it was written in. Would defiantly liked this one as a teen, and it was ok as an adult, if you can get past the angst. =D
midnighttwilight101 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was pulled in pretty quickly. Though the story started off light, with very little substance, it got better. Well, it got worse (very fake), then it got better.Some parts i couldn't get into, or picture happening to anyone i knew (and i'm not talking about the being deaf part.) I don't want to give anything away, but basically the whole book is about Serena acting fake to be friends with the popular girls. Some parts were hard to understand , it was like there was some information left out.I feel very torn, i liked the beginning of the book, then it got really fake and boring, then i loved it again at the end. If you can stick through a few boring chapters, i'd say Read My Lips is worth reading.
katiedoll on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, I didn¿t like this book at all. I had to push myself to finish it, just so I could write a proper review. Teri Brown is a really great writer- don¿t get me wrong- but the story wasn¿t there. It was too fast, too jumpy and too cheesy- all of my least favorite things in a novel.Serena was an annoying character. The eye-rolling comments were enough to overlook, but I couldn¿t get past the sheer conformity. In the beginning, she¿s written with at least a shred of confidence and personality, but as the story unfolds, she just moves back and fourth to please other characters. Maybe that was the intention, but I didn¿t like how incredibly fast everything was.A few other things that bugged me- the labels and stereotypes. I felt like the entire story was focused on those. It might just be my own personal annoyance, but all the use of ¿prep, preppies¿, and ¿punk skater chick¿, it just got to be a bit much. Then there was also the throwing around of the L word. (Love- just in case you¿re thinking of something nasty) After only a short, short time of knowing and spending time with each other, Serena and Miller, the love interest of the story, were reciting it with ease. This could be another thing that only bothers me, but I think the word love should only apply to characters who have a long, established and meaningful relationship- something Serena and Miller do not.I would¿ve given it three stars, maybe, if the story ended with a conclusion, but it didn¿t. Not really. In the end, Serena still basically ended up conforming, she didn¿t make up for the things she did to people, and she still got her perfect fairy-tale ending with Miller. I think maybe this book should be directed towards twelve & thirteen year olds- which there is nothing wrong with- but for a nineteen year old who normally reads really mature literature? Not a good recommendation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a really good book that captivated me from the very beginning. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a fast and fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is essentially a poorly written fanfiction story. Highly dramatic and stereotypical. For example, the "popular" girls in the novel are completely horrible one-dimensional characters who only use the protagonist as a mean to read people's lips and stop talking to her when she doesn't. I found this book to be absolutely ridiculous and a waste of time. Teen fiction contains a lot of horrible stories, but this is one of the worst. I found many typos within the text as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReadergirlReviews More than 1 year ago
This is one of those great finds that you sometimes run across when searching through older books. This was such a cute book. Serena's new friends tend to use her skill of lip-reading to dig up dirt and information. She is deaf, but rather than learn sign language, she instead learned how to lip-read extremely well, where she can read what someone is saying from across a large room even. Her unique talent in this caused some rather funny scenarios that had me grinning and laughing. Although there were funny scenarios, Serena also learns some not so nice things that make her feel guilty for spreading the information to her eager buddies. This relationship between herself and her friends complicates her relationship with the guy she likes, Miller. I loved the growing relationship between Serena and Miller. It was a cute romance. Additionally, I loved how neither Miller, or anyone else seemed to make too big of a deal about Serena's disability. It was refreshing. I would highly recommend this book if you are looking for a fun, lighthearted read that will lift your spirits and make you happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago