The Rainmaker

The Rainmaker

by John Grisham

Hardcover(Large Print)

$28.29 $29.95 Save 6% Current price is $28.29, Original price is $29.95. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rainmaker 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 201 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and i read it when i was only 11.
LillyParksONBooks More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It had a little of everything, legal action as well as a romance. I had a hard time putting it down! The author's writing style is very entertaining and unique and I love his sense of humor in this story.
cafereadsblogspotcom More than 1 year ago
A David-and-Goliath story never gets old, even if a story about evil corporations does. This book, through its adept narration and quirky characters, tugs at readers' heartstrings regardless of political views. The plot may not be fresh, but the characters are quirky and the dialogue and narration are crisp. Why Grisham chose first person point of view and present tense is beyond me, but the writing in this book is witty, sarcastic and engaging. Also, unlike most other Grisham novels, The Rainmaker has a protagonist who is somewhat realistic and a cast of characters who could be your next-door neighbors. If you want to read a Grisham novel, then read The Rainmaker. This book is Grisham at his best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like books that keep my attention and just keeps me reading. Grisham's style of writing is excellent in keeping your interest. It's a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just as I said above, and with the added bonus that the proof-reading (when transferring into the e-book format)is much better than usual -- I didn't notice any of the normal "he" instead of "the", etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a spellbinding book from start to finish. A very enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story keeps you wanting more! My favorite book ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a way of keeping you wanting to find out more about Rudy Baylor and his many obstacles since law school. It is realistic, suspensful, and relatable.
mre-rtr More than 1 year ago
Fabulous plot, entertaining and everything i expect from this author!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Held my attention to the end.
bennyb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good story, worth a read.
ctmsdeha on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
¿I was a young teenager, clumsy, embarrassed by my awkwardness, frustrated with life, horrified by puberty, about to be shipped off to a military school by my father for insubordination¿ Overtime, I¿d developed a quick tongue and an aversion to discipline¿¿Rudy Baylor, a graduate of the University of Memphis Law School, is trying to find his first job with a law firm in the Memphis area. While searching for a job he is also studying for the bar exam and bartending at a local Memphis bar.While providing free legal advice at a community center, he meets Mrs. Birdie Birdsong from whom he later rents an apartment. In return for cheap rent, he provides hours of backbreaking labor at her home. Rudy gets a job interview with J.Lyman ¿Bruiser¿ Stone, a strict but successful lawyer whose specialty is personal injury cases. Bruiser gives him a job as an associate. To earn the required $1,000 every month, he must find clients at the local hospital. Deck, another employee who has failed the bar exam 6 times, comes for the ride.Rudy ends up with just one case, a bad faith suit with a couple, Dot and Buddy Black. Their 22-year old son, Donny Ray, is dying of acute leukemia. A bone marrow transplant could have cured him, but their insurance company, Great Benefit, has denied payment for.Rudy meets and falls in love with a woman named Kelly Riker, who has been hospitalized by continuous beating from her husband. They get a chance to meet at the hospital and Rudy helps her up to her room.Drummond, the lawyer leading Great Benefit in the trial, uses Rudy¿s inexperience to his advantage. Rudy¿s determination and precision cross-examination fought back hard. The jury¿s verdict is¿If you want a book you can¿t put down, look no further. The Rainmaker is a detailed, well thought out book with well developed characters. When the characters were described by the author, I could clearly see them in my mind. While reading the dialogue, I felt like I was inside the story. I could feel Rudy¿s emotions and see inside his thoughts. The first person perspective of the book made it seem more real.This perfect mix of comedy and romance is not one to miss. If I were to describe this book with one sentence: This book is a page turner. I tore through this book and really enjoyed the balance of law, romance and comedy within the story. I did have some problems with the lack of action in the court scenes, since I am used to seeing more action when watching court-based TV shows. I also would have preferred a different ending, because I didn¿t agree with Rudy¿s decisions about his career at the end of the book.There were many times while reading the story that I felt I could relate to Rudy. For example, when he was trying to get a job, but kept getting turned down, I was reminded of how I¿m not really popular and have often been turned down when trying to make friends. I really like the plot of the story, even though I did have a little problem with the romantic part because I felt uncomfortable since I have never experienced true love.If I were to give this book a rating, I would give it 4 out of 5 stars. The book is not perfect, but it was a nice read. If you ever see this book on a shelf somewhere, definitely consider picking it up. This book was great and I hope you think so too.
KathrynCSN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, I think the story of this book isn't very new for me. It's about a young and inexperienced lawyer helps a poor person to get justice. The difference between this book and other similar stories is lawyer is not veteran, he is so jerky and enthusiasm, he is very nervous when he first time to appear in court, hesitated when he face to be asked settle out of court, he even asked to check legal provision when he on the court. He made the friends with his three clients which representative of vulnerable groups, the silent final, good person succeed and he win the lawsuit, respect and get his dream girl.On the other hand, in my opinion, it¿s a main social problem that the professional use their professional advantages to get illegal benefitsWhile their solve the problem, there also make the new problems, like he said every lawyer, at least once in every case, feels himself crossing a line he doesn¿t really mean to cross. It just happens. And if you cross it enough times, it disappears forever. And then you¿re nothing but another lawyer joke, just another shark in the dirty water.In short, I always like the story about lawyer, so it¿s worth to read for me.
LillyParks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fast-paced legal thriller!An amazing legal thriller. The story has a little bit of everything; from the law student who finds himself in the role of David versus Goliath, the comical character played by Deck, there are the complimentary thugs and the token beautiful woman. Grisham weaves the story together magically and it makes for a very exciting read, building into a crescendo at the end with an unexpected twist. While you read it all kinds of emotions penetrate your heart and soul.At one time you can be close to tears.At another time a smile can be curved on your face.In addition don't feel surprised if you catch yourself jittering with excitement over the final outcome of the facts being laid ahead of you.
Radaghast on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a John Grisham book since I was in Junior High, but I enjoyed them then, so I was expecting a lot from The Rainmaker. On some level, it delivered, but it was a mixed bag. The problem is the book concentrates on the life of the main character Rudy Baylor much more than the legal drama side of the novel, in contrast to what I remember about Grisham's other books. The first two hundred pages drag on as the character deals with personal issues I found difficult to care about. When we finally see Rudy Baylor sue the villain of the story, insurance titan Great Benefit, the book changes completely. It is a page-turner and you can't put it down. There are some great moments, some of the best court room drama Grisham has written. But because of the lackluster beginning, it's hard to fully endorse this book.
rustbucket on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Third year law student, young Rudy Baylor has a moment to envision himself a Rainmaker-a shooting star- bringing his first wealthy client to the firm he'd been hired by. He would revel in the fact that his father would abhore his son's success as just another dirty lawyer. The rains come, but not as he expected. In fact, he finds himself deluged withbankruptcy, eviction, and losing his job before he'd even started. Although drowning himself, a mother implores him to save her son by gaining insurance coverage for surgery that would save his life. Realism of the job hits him hard, and the only solace he finds is in the precarious company of a beaten wife.
melorem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's been a while since I've picked up a John Grisham book. This one is well developed and really maintains your interest. The main character, Rudy Baylor, is believable and likable. He recently graduates law school to discover his prospective job offer is no longer valid. He stumbles across the case of a lifetime. The lawsuit involves the insurance industry and a typical family that seems as if they have lost the battle with the insurance giant.
lchs.mrso on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In John Grisham¿s The Rainmaker, Rudy Baylor, a recent graduate of the law school of Memphis State, finds himself in dire need of a job in a very competitive market. Through a class before he graduates, he is introduced to Dot Black, whose son is on his deathbed due to the fraud and delay tactics used by their insurance provider, Great Benefit. In his desperate search for a job, Rudy finds himself under the employ of ¿Bruiser¿ Stone. At Stone¿s sleazy firm, Rudy meets Deck Shifflet, a quirky man who has been through law school, but isn¿t a lawyer due to failing the bar six times. When the law begins to catch up to Stone (for the plethora of inconsequential illegal things he¿s done), Rudy hires Shifflet as his paralegal and opens his own firm. The duo tread water long enough for Rudy to go to court against a platoon of Great Benefit¿s lawyers, led by Leo F. Drummond. Both the law and the judge are on Rudy¿s side, so he succeeds in suing Great Benefit for $50.2 million. Days later, Great Benefit declares bankruptcy, allowing the company to avoid paying the settlement. Rudy, upset about winning the case but gaining nothing, resolves to become a teacher and live with Kelly Riker, a woman he fell in love with and helped to divorce her husband. The cover art of The Rainmaker is fairly minimalistic. It doesn¿t add much, but it certainly isn¿t an eyesore. I¿d recommend this book to young people aspiring to undertake careers related to the law, and to those interested in dramatized courtroom novels.
Omrythea on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Classic Grisham at his best.
DoranCalgiano on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grisham is not always great--but I still buy and read all his books. The Rainmaker is far and away my favorite. Funny, good mystery, great characters.
karriethelibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great story. Always like to see the insurance companies take the hit they deserve.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago