Pushing Up Daisies (Agatha Raisin Series #27)

Pushing Up Daisies (Agatha Raisin Series #27)

by M. C. Beaton

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pushing Up Daisies 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the entire series and none of the other books moved as slowly for me as this one did. Agatha seemed more pathetic also. It simply did not have the same wit and flavor. Was it written by somebody else.. .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely love this series!! Looking forward to the next book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally enjoyed this book. Agatha Raisin is her usual man chasing , drinking, and driven self. You can't help but love her. Thank you M.C. Beaton for another great story.
InspirationalAngel531 More than 1 year ago
Title: Pushing Up Daisies - Agatha Raisin Series Book 27 Author: M. C. Beaton Published: 9-20-2016 Publisher: St. Martin's Press/Monotaur Books Pages: 288 Genre: Mystery, Thrillers & Suspense Sub Genre: Women Sleuths; British Cozy; Private Investigator ISBN: 13: 9781250057440 ASIN: B01CCWVTYY Reviewer: DelAnne Reviewed For: NetGalley Rating: 3.75 Stars Description When Agatha Raisin left London, she began a private detective agency. Lord Bellington wants to turn the community garden into a housing estate. When Agatha and her friend Sir Charles attempt to convince Bellington to abandon his plans he scoffs: “Do you think I give a damn about those pesky villagers?” So when Agatha finds his obituary in the newspaper two weeks later, it’s no surprise that some in town are feeling celebratory. The villagers are relieved to learn that Bellington’s son and heir, Damian, has no interest in continuing his father’s development plans. But the police are definitely interested in him—as suspect number one. His father’s death, it seems, was no accident. But when Damian hires Agatha to find the real killer, she finds no shortage of suspects. A handsome retired detective named Gerald has moved to town. Too bad he was seen kissing another newcomer. When she is also murdered, Gerald is eager to help Agatha with the case. Agatha, Gerald, and her team of detectives must untangle a web of contempt in order to uncover a killer’s identity. My review: I looked forward to reading M. C. Beaton's latest Agatha Raisin book. This is a series that took a few books for me to get hooked by the setting and characters. At first I thought Agatha was an older person trying to regain her youth, a bit of a drunkard who fancied just about every male she came in contact with. Not exactly my cup of tea. around the fourth or fifth book and I found myself eagerly looking forward to each new book. The came "Pushing Up Daisies". It has a great concept for a plot and could have been terrific, but I was distracted by the typos, mixing up of characters names and connections, and the abrupt changing of scenes. This was more of a draft than a finished book. Ms. Beaton is usually so much more on top of her game. I originally received this book free from the publisher and NetGalley, but when I tried to open it to read there was a problem. My sister had just received her book in the post and let me read it first, thanks Pam. When you receive an ARC you expect these problems and expect them to be corrected in the printed version. If they were this bad in Pam's book, then the editors must have been on holiday when this book was placed on their desks. Now that the bashing is done lets discuss the good things about "Pushing Up Daisies". I once more got to visit my friends in the village of Carsely, Agatha, Charles, the vicar's wife Mrs. Boxley and all the others. The there was Gerald, a new man in the village that has caught Agatha's eye and a few of the other ladies, much to Agath's consternation. There is a fly in the ointment of the friendly village. Lord Bellinton has acquired possession of the allotment plots and plans to sell it to a development company to build housing on. Upon visiting the man to ask him to reconsider, she finds him to be a pompous overbearing elitist who doesn't care about the villagers. I disliked him immediately & was glad he was slotted to die. Add in another murder & this was a very book. My rating is 3.75 out of 5 stars.
Badkitty70 More than 1 year ago
I rated this book a reluctant 3 out of 5 stars Lord Bellington is a wealthy land developer that has the villagers of the British Cotswolts in a tizzy. Wanting to turn the community gardens into a housing estate, Agatha goes to him and tries to persuade him to abandon his plans, all to no avail. When Agatha sees his obituary in the paper two weeks later, she's not shocked to learn that the town is far from heartbroken at his passing. She's even less shocked to hear he was murdered. With a list of suspects a mile long, Agatha and her team are hired to find the killer. Could it be one of the many villagers who hated the man....or is the killer closer to home? Who do I love? Agatha Raisin! What do I want? Agatha and Charles to end up together! Ok. Ok. I know. It's a mystery series, not a romance, but hey, doesn't mean I can't hope for it. Besides, a bit of romance in a mystery book is not always a bad thing. And I just love them together. Anyway, with that said.....I am a diehard fan of this series. I have read every book so far and have no intention of stopping until the author does. Unfortunately that does not mean that I loved this latest installment....because I didn't. *sigh* I'm not sure what happened with this one but I was quite disappointed. The writing was choppy and the story kept jumping around so much that I kept losing track of what was going on. People were mentioned and then discarded. Storylines appeared and then disappeared. Backstories were created and then forgotten. There were new characters introduced that didn't get fully developed and served no real purpose and the mystery was really easy to figure out. This was not a typical Agatha Raisin book. It seemed rushed and just thrown together without thought, as if it was just put out to meet a deadline. There didn't seem to be the same level of heart in it as before. It felt as if the author didn't care. Agatha seemed tired and without fight. Mrs. Bloxby barely even made an appearance. Even Charles wasn't as entertaining and engaging as he usually is. The only reason I even gave it three stars is because it's one of my most favorite series and I always look forward to the next installment. I'm still excited for whatever comes next, but this story was a bit of a letdown.
DianaH-Maine More than 1 year ago
The latest Agatha Raisin title, PUSHING UP DAISIES, by M C Beaton is a great addition to the mystery series. (I think this is #27!) Agatha Raisin mysteries are fun to read - the characters are familiar friends; there is lots of gossip; many misunderstandings and miscommunications; hasty decisions; very funny remarks; some inappropriate ‘man-chasing’ and, of course, a dead body or two. This is a fast read with a decent plot and great characters.
Suetalk More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the prior books in this series and have loved them. This was not the case this time. This book was disjointed and boring. It reminded me of an author who was writing to just put out a book each year. It might be time to kill off the series.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
This is the 27th Agatha Raisin book, but the first I have read. I have read a lot of positive comments about this series so I wanted to give it a try. I am not sure about it. I enjoy a cozy mystery, but something about the main character, Agatha Raisin, turned me off. She seems to be an unpleasant person but there's just something about her that friends and loyal employees look beyond. She is abrupt, selfish, outspoken, and overall not a very nice person. She is also smart, witty and wants to find a man to love and who will love her back. This was one thing I did not really like about her. She is rather promiscuous and makes no bones about the fact that she is on the hunt for a man. When the local lord and landowner wants to sell the "Garden Plots" to a developer, Agatha and her friend Charles go to talk to him. He is nasty and arrogant and basically tells them "too bad, so sad". When he ends up dead a few days later, there is no end to the suspects, including his son Damien who inherits the estate. Damien hires Agatha to investigate so he will let off the hook. As she investigates, more bodies turn up, new characters are introduced and the mystery twists and turns. The characters in the book are quirky, smart and loyal to one another. The relationships are many and because I have not read the other books in the series, I was a little bewildered with some of them. Overall not a bad mystery, but you need to be prepared for the abruptness of Agatha to enjoy the story. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series!