Purple Cane Road (Dave Robicheaux Series #11)

Purple Cane Road (Dave Robicheaux Series #11)

by James Lee Burke

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Purple Cane Road (Dave Robicheaux Series #11) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book really does define Dave's character, but each book really does go deeper into his soul - I've read the first 11 books in the series and will keep going. Burke can take Dave's emotions and get to the depths of his soul and you feel it in every page that he writes - be it his love for his family or the rage he feels against injustice. Burke can take a violent confrontation and make you feel all the rage Dave feels and also the calmness when he feels it. The storyline, as usual, was excellent. Burke's books are certainly a part of my permanent library.
CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
James Lee Burke never lets me down. Love the Dave Robicheaux series!
markatread on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I probably should not have read this book. A friend of mine insisted that I try one more of the Dave Robicheaux books. I have read 5 of James Lee Burke's books before this one and only liked the first one I read. He is a very capable author and can use words in a very effective way. But the Dave Robicheaux series has a sameness to them that has worn me out. The books are pretty much the same each time, a psychopath that is threatening some poor girl and Dave is having to battle the crooked and/or stupid police to save lower Louisiana. The villians are always without redemption and to some degree they have to be or we would easily recognize that Dave, and especially his friend Cletus, are criminals themselves. This one has the added drama of Dave's mother who was killed by someone years ago after she abandoned Dave to a life lived with his brutal, alcoholic father. They are the first set of killers without a conscious. Then there is the psychopath that is brought in to kill a prositiute who ends up trying to court Dave's daughter. Then there are the two black girls that were molested by the psychopath next door that one of them is on death row for killing. There are a lot of women being molested, taken advantage of, and even killed by a whole herd of both indigenous and invading psychopaths. And it is up to Dave and Clete to defend them in book after book. It makes you wonder after awhile why Dave doesn't move to Montana like James Lee Burke did. There probaly are only half again as many psychopaths in Montana as there are in Louisiana. The major redeeming quality in this book is that it did give me a nomination for Dumbest Scene Award of all the books I read in 2008 for the scene that starts on page 255 (First Edition). It lost out to a scene in The Pale Blue Eye by Louis Bayard. But it was a very close vote.
JBreedlove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A little disjointed to start but it turned into a page turner. Once again Robicheaux deals with the maelstrom of south La as he tries to keep his act together day to day. This book also highlights Cletus Purcel a little more than previous novels and that is a good thing. A great sense of place is Burke's bayou..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always Burke writes with such feeling. He makes you feel that you know these people. Being from Big Easy I love his books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very unique writing style. Definately put Burke near the top of my list!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay-- I wish DR was my neighbor, it would be very interesting. However, he needs to deal with the Mob connected brother that has disappeared. Maybe he has been offed, I don't know, but for two people that look alike and were mistaken for each other... Everything else, as usual, is wonderful. I hope JLB writes for fifty more yrs, developing both his Robicheaux series and his West Texas series. I would pay twice as much for any of his books.I hope he keeps up with the Ghost theme, it's fascinating and a theme in Southern Lit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first began reading the novels of James Lee Burke a little over seven years ago, and it has been an extreme pleasure to watch him continue to grow as a great writer. Each year, I eagerly await a new ¿Robicheaux¿ novel, much like a kid waiting for Christmas to arrive, and I¿m very pleased to say that PURPLE CANE ROAD demonstrates to me that Mr. Burke is indeed one of the finest writers this country has produced in the last two decades. The newest ¿Robicheaux¿ novel takes our Louisiana hero back into a troubled past to seek redemption for the mother who left him and his father when he was a young boy. It all starts when Robicheaux and his friend/ex-partner, Clete Purcel, find Zipper Clum, a pimp who may have some information that might just save the life of a woman on Death Row. To keep himself from being tossed off a high roof by Purcel, Zipper tells Robicheaux that he saw his mother, Mae, murdered by two crooked cops over thirty years ago. It seems that Mae saw the cops kill the owner of the bar where she worked, and to protect themselves, they pushed her face down into a puddle of water and held her there till she drowned. This information leads Robicheaux on a personal quest for vengeance. At the same time, however, he is also trying to gather information that will save Letty Labiche, who is to be executed for killing the man that sexually abused both her and her sister when they were children. It isn¿t long before Robicheaux has everyone coming down on him, especially a hit man named Remeta. It will take every bit of strength and perseverance that Robicheaux has to keep himself from being killed and to protect his family from the people who murdered his mother. PURPLE CANE ROAD displays James Lee Burke¿s outstanding talent like no other novel he has written. The book is rich and poignant in its look at the haunting essence of southern Louisiana and the complexity of Dave Robicheaux¿s character, both of which are intricately tied together, uniting the mournful past with the painful present. The reader will find him or herself on a much more intimate basis with our reluctant hero as they slowly begin to penetrate the wall of pain and suffering that has surrounded him for so long, understanding the love Robicheaux still has for the mother who deserted him, and why there¿s absolutely nothing he won¿t do to keep harm from coming to his wife and daughter. Family and friendship are everything to Robicheaux because in the end it¿s all a man truly has. Burke¿s style of writing, as usual, is excellent. The plot has more than enough twists and turns to keep it suspenseful right to the very end, but it is the characters that really cause the story to come alive. These are people who live and breath¿people you care about and want to be with. My only complaint is that I now have to wait at least another year before I can once again spend some quality time with these great characters!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I won't go into the plot because other reviewers have covered it. Suffice to say that Will Patton's multi-voiced treatment of James Lee Burke's writing is superb. I will have a difficult time reading Burke again as long as Patton works his magic on the audiobook. It's a shame it's abridged. This is one author/reader I want to last for a long time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The only problem with finishing Purple Cane Road is the envelope of impatience waiting for the next masterpiece from James Lee Burke. I have read everything that Burke has written, going way back into his early writing days, and feel that he is the best of out time. Its unfortunate that given the amount of garbage that dominates the 'Best Seller' lists that James Lee Burke has not received more mainstream exposure, but like poor quality television, poor writing dominates.I know of no other author that can bring the craft of character development,scene construction, and emotion to the level Burke does. Hell, you can almost taste it! To anyone with the guts, start with the first Burke, and work yourself up to Purple Cane Road. Your journey will be richly rewarded.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Purple Cane Road has just gone to the top of my list of favorite all time books. Dave Robicheaux is the most complex character in fiction. His struggles with his past, his present, his family all combine to define a character of depth and passion. The plot is one of unique quality that faces important issues head-on without preaching. This is the best work James Lee Burke has ever done and I have read and liked all his previous books. I want more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Homicide detective, Dave Robicheaux, and his side-kick, private investigator, Clete Purcel are looking for Zipper Clum, a pimp who may have information on death row inmate, Letty Labiche, this information may spare the inmate's life. Upon finding him, Zipper makes a shocking accusation, one that will shake Robicheaux to the core. Dave's mother was a sleep-around, who was killed in the sixties...according to Zipper, she was killed by police officers. After hearing this news, Robicheaux begins his investigation into his mother's death, while still trying to help Letty, but with his witnesses on BOTH cases being killed, he realizes these cases may be impossible, and at the same time he must go head to head with a killer who will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried! This is the best entry yet, in the masterful Robicheaux series. James Lee Burke writes the kind of novels that a reader can get lost in, every sentence flows, while the plot boils to it's stunning conclusion. A MUST read!!! Nick Gonnella
harstan More than 1 year ago
Iberia Parish homicide detective Dave Robicheaux, accompanied by private sleuth Clete Purcel, seeks a New Orleans pimp Zipper Chum on a capital case. When the duo catches up with Zipper in Baton Rouge, he tosses a verbal hand grenade at Dave involving the police officer¿s missing mother. Zipper accuses cops on the take from the Giacanos mob of killing Mae Guillory (her maiden name), a whore, in the sixties.

Obsessed about what Zipper claims happened to his mother, Dave begins making inquiries into learning the truth, even at the cost of ignoring his family. Along the way, Dave begins to uncover new evidence on his ¿other¿ case that might free death row murderer Letty Labiche. However, as he makes progress on both cases, someone systemically kills his witnesses, making his mother¿s investigation impossible and probably leaving Labiche for the electric chair. The psychopath jump starts Dave into action when he targets the cop¿s daughter as one of his victims.

PURPLE CANE ROAD is the best Robicheaux tale to date and that is saying a lot since author James Lee Burke has two Edgars to his credit. The story line is crisp and exciting as expected from the novels in this series. However, this time the plot turns personal which allows the audience to see much of the inner sanctum of Dave¿s soul. One of the great, perhaps the greatest mystery writer of the past decade, Mr. Burke scores on all cylinders with this taut thriller.

Harriet Klausner

Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok bye
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fyggfhcc Tggyfhnhghggggbhggbtggghygbut hjgjgyhhvygghjujnhhjhjfwqfxeghgvh