Protecting Piper

Protecting Piper

by Cynthia Eden

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Protecting Piper 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I volunteered to read and review an advanced readers copy thru Netgallery of Protecting Piper . I think this is an Absolutely fantastic story . It is so suspenseful . I was on the edge of my seat . I couldn't flip the pages and read fast enough . The story is action packed , a very intriguing story line . The main characters are marvelous . Piper's a tough courageous Artist . Eric is in protection business and also secretly has had feelings for Piper since childhood . let's not forget Ben he's an attorney and Eric's younger brother oh and Piper's best friend . This story is interesting , suspenseful , fast paced and all out fabulous story . It's full of twists and turns .Makes for fantastic reading . I highly recommend reading this story
Anonymous 10 months ago
Enjoyable read!
Anonymous 11 months ago
I+enjoyed+the+characters+and+the+plot+and+the+twists+that+it+took.+My+big+issue+with+the+whole+book+was+the+author%27s+overuse+of+the+word+%22lover%22.++I+think+it%27s+a+pretty+cringey+word+to+begin+with+and+she+used+it+over+70+times+%28I+counted%29%2C+and+even+4+times+on+one+page.+I+had+to+take+off+a+star+for+that+because+every+time+I+saw+it%2C+it+took+me+out+of+the+story+a+bit.+Please+find+a+new+word%21
Anonymous 11 months ago
Good job Cynthia—- Really had a hard time putting this book down. U had me wondering almost right up to the end. Loved the chemistry & loved that a guy could be a best friend w/out being a bed bunkie. Even though I don’t really think it’s probable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good read but very confusing at the end, I would love to have the scene at Pipers gallery explained better as u never find out what brought one of the players there. So I do feel like there needs to be a couple holes filled in. For now I’m kind of confused. Also the end is very abrupt and I felt like a chapter was missing before the epilogue. But it was a pretty good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an awesome book. I was not surprised that it was so wonderful. Cynthia Eden has always wrote the best books. Her story line and her suspenseful books full of romance is what draws me to her books time and time again. She ruins you for other Authors they don’t live up to her and her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Love piper, Eric and Ben. Hope there are more books in this series. Hated for it to be over
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Characters were easy to get to know and story line was not only sizzling but intriguing in detail. I love mysteries that I don't have solved before the book ends, and this was one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
awesome
Anonymous 11 months ago
Rhodes123 11 months ago
Eric Wilde owner of a security empire has everything a man would want in life except for Piper Lane. He has always known that wanting Piper is wrong and that it would be crossing the line. She is his younger brother’s best friend and will probably end up with his ring on her finger. But that doesn't stop Eric from wanting her for himself. He longs for what he can’t have. Piper Lane has always considered Eric to be the enemy. He broke her heart at 15 and with time it seems like he truly hates. The guy has always made her nervous, especially when he's nice to her. But every time she’s around him, she winds up doing something embarrassing. But everything has changed and this is one time that she needs him more than her BF. A stranger has broken into Piper’s home twice, besides being watched and followed, she is now being stalked. Piper knows that she needs a professional to help her but is reluctant to have Eric Wilde be that person. He promises to put his best investigators on the case and to protect her at all costs. That includes moving her in with him. Suddenly, Eric goes from being the enemy to her white knight. The more time that Piper spends with him, the more she realizes that he ain't so bad. Her feelings for Eric are complicated and soon everything changes between them. Desire erupts between them as the danger explodes around her. Someone is targeting Piper, something dark and scary and he's determined that if he can’t have her then he will destroy everyone close to her and maybe her too.
livzletlivz More than 1 year ago
Cynthia Eden is undeniably one of the most gifted writers I have the pleasure of reading! Contemporary or paranormal or suspense, she ignites enough passion and intensity in every story she writes. First in her new series Wilde Ways, "Protecting Piper" is a must read, as Eric Wilde goes wild for Piper. With a stalker on her back gives Eric the perfect excuse to keep Piper close to him to win her over. A great start to her new series, and don't miss reading Guarding Gwen and Before Ben, coming up soon. Received an ARC from Hocus Pocus Publishing via NetGalley
BooksAndSpoons More than 1 year ago
The double-layered intensity of the story had me all twisted and on pins and needles as I binge-read Eric and Piper's story. I absolutely adored this tale and the fact that the author was able to change my opinion of the hero as the story progressed. Eric is an alpha man to the point of being stubborn, boorish at times, could seem like a bully if not looking a bit more deeply into the tale. In the beginning, I had my eyebrows lifted and ready to pounce on him for real until he started to truly communicate with Piper - and with his brother Ben - when he was able to form sentences and have conversations instead of just claiming Piper as 'his'. He turned out to be an adorable, loving, sexy beast, that completely won me over, the last tipping point towards the end of the book, a conversation he has with Ben. Piper is no shrinking violet either. She is a strong, capable, successful woman who has built her own prosperity. She might have had less when growing up, yet that had not held her back when pursuing her dreams. She is capable to defend herself, she is able to hold her own, yet with this secret stalker, she is going to need all the help she can get, cause the culprit is out for blood. The connection between Piper and Eric has been developing in the shadow of his brother, Ben's friendship with her. Yet there is a unique history, a tight bond between Piper and Eric, that is revealed as the story unfolds. And the chemistry between Eric and Piper - oh wow. I knew Cynthia Eden can write some steaming love scenes, yet Piper and Eric - they set the bar up high on the smoking hot loving. But Protecting Piper is not just a hot love story, there is an element of creepy stalker who is out to get Piper and everyone close to her. When part of a story is told from the culprit's point of view, I often get that dreadfully morbid, completely freaked out feeling, like only great suspense brings to you. And this stalker is escalating quickly while making people in Piper's life look quilty. Talking about intense, gory scenes... An ardent love story, combustible and filled with feels, in the middle of a frantic search of a prowler escalating into a savage killer. Steamy, danger-filled romantic suspense just the way I love it... ~ Five Spoons
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
This one was a suspenseful thriller with enough twists and turns to keep you guessing as to who the stalker is and passion and tension to keep you wanting to know whether Piper and Eric would end up having a happily ever after. Eric was a jerk to her their whole lives and all of a sudden he is no longer hiding his desire for her. When her life is jeopardized by a violent stalker Eric says enough is enough, his baby brother isn’t "popping the question" and he is tired of pushing her away. She has always been the only one for him and he is now ready to fight to win her and to prove to her his jerk-like ways were only a façade to hide his real feelings. I enjoyed their story a lot and the action and suspense was great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wanted to like this book but the mechanics of the writing is awful, no one speaks like that so it was hard to follow. I don't like have to reread paragraphs again and again to figure out if there was a typo or if I misread something - YUK!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
%23%23+Another+MUST+READ+by+the+amazing+Cynthia+Eden.+I+loved+this+book.+I+pre-ordered+this+as+soon+as+it+became+available+and+waited+for+my+day+off+so+I+could+read+it+in+one+sitting.+So+very+glad+I+did.+Of+course+the+suspense+was+present+and%2C+as+always%2C+first+rate.+There+was+also+plenty+of+romance+in+this+story.+I++adored+both+characters.+Piper+was+talented%2C+capable%2C+honest%2C+fun-loving%2C+and+gorgeous+%21%21+My+favorite+type+of+heroine.+And+Eric...WOW.+He+was...WOW.+Hot+and+sweet.+So+possessive+in+the+best+way.+I+loved+the+jealous+scenes+with+Ben.+Too+funny.++Can%27t+wait+for+the+next+one...already+pre-ordered+%27%27Guarding+Gwen%27%27.+Yay+me.
Evampire9 More than 1 year ago
This spirited romantic suspense has readers holding their breath in anticipation with thrilling excitement and an explosive romance. Eric and Piper are strong, energetic characters that readers can’t help but fall in love with and their romance is volatile with fiery sparks, scorching passion, sizzling chemistry and a magnetic attraction so strong readers can feel the draw. The relationship has lots of emotional turmoil due to some misconceptions and non-communication that had Eric and Piper fighting their attraction for some time, but now that they are forced to spend time together, their chemistry and passion is erupting into a fiery inferno. The story takes place at a fast clip and flows smoothly through suspenseful events, dangerous thrills and adrenaline pumping excitement. The interactions between all the characters and the dialogue and actions of the individuals are realistic and believable which makes it easy for the readers to picture each and every scene which in turn makes way for the readers to gasp in surprise during the unexpected twists and turns that occur both in the danger that is stalking Piper and in the relationship between Piper and Eric. Warning – there is never a dull moment to be found during this entertaining romance and the ignoring of all outside influences may occur while reading it.
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
PROTECTING PIPER is the first instalment in Cynthia Eden’s contemporary, adult, romantic suspense series focusing on the men and women who work for Wilde Securities. This is owner and security specialist Eric Wilde, and artist/gallery owner Piper Lane’s story line. Told from several third person perspectives including Eric and Piper PROTECTING PIPER follows the enemies to lovers relationship between owner and security specialist Eric Wilde, and artist/gallery owner Piper Lane. Most of her life Piper Lane believed her best friend’s brother hated her guts. From the age of seventeen, Eric Wilde kept his distance from Piper Lane, a distance meant to quell the need and desire for his brother’s best friend. When Piper becomes the target of a psychopathic mind, Eric and his team at Wilde Securities, make it their responsibility to protect the woman Eric has loved most of his life. What ensues is the rebuilding friendship and growing romance between Eric and Piper, as Eric struggles to stay one step ahead of the person trying to destroy our heroine’s life. Eric Wilde has been in love with his brother’s best friend Piper for as long as he can remember. Hoping to keep his distance, Eric continues to push Piper out of his life but in doing slowly builds a wall between everyone concerned. Piper has no idea why Eric has such a hate on towards her but that hasn’t stopped her attraction to her best friend’s brother. The deaths of several people connected to our heroine, and attacks against both her personal and business properties will send Piper into the arms of Eric Wilde, where the palpable sexual attraction finds our couple together, for good. The $ex scenes are seductive and impassioned, without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text. We are introduced to Eric’s brother and Piper’s best friend, divorce attorney Ben Wilde; Wilde Securities VP and ex-SEAL Simon Forrest; security specialists Julia Slate and Rick Williams; Eric’s assistant Dennis; and tattoo artist Mark Rogue. Simon’s story line is next in Guarding Gwen. PROTECTING PIPER is a story of family, friendship, obsession and love. The premise is intriguing and suspenseful; the romance is spirited and passionate; the characters are energetic and strong. My one regret is that the identity of the guilty party is easily deduced.
carvanz More than 1 year ago
This was a little bit of everything, a best friend’s brother, teenage crush, second chance, and enemies to lovers trope that included a hero who had actually loved the heroine for years but stayed to the side because of his brother. But when the opportunity and the right time finally arrived, Eric made his move and he wasn’t stepping back again. I absolutely loved Eric and the way he protected Piper. It’s no surprise that I love a jealous, possessive hero and this story had plenty of opportunities to highlight those characteristics in Eric. When trouble is stalking Piper he rushes in to help and takes every advantage of the situation that he can. Of course, Piper isn’t really complaining too much. She had a thing for him when she was young but throughout the years their relationship became strained to the point of him being a real a-hole to her and her responding negatively to his presence. Yes, there is some push and pull here (shout out to my Goodreads friend!) but it didn’t really bother me this time around as it usually would. They both had their reasons and I felt that they were valid. I was also in a place where I needed a great read and I always get that from this author. She did not disappoint. This is a fast paced story with a mystery that actually left me unsure as to who the villain was up until almost the very end. The chemistry between Eric and Piper was authentic and despite the years they had each individually fought against it, once they opened the door to a physical relationship the steam level shot into the nuclear stage. I enjoyed the heck out of this book and can’t wait for the next one!
Timitra More than 1 year ago
Rated 3.5 Stars Protecting Piper is a fun, enemies to lovers suspense. It was a bit predictable but I still found it to be an enjoyable and sexy read with likeable main and secondary characters. Copy provided by author
MBurton More than 1 year ago
3.5 to 4 stars! Protecting Piper is an intense, romantic suspense involving two main characters that have secretly loved one another for years but misunderstandings have stood in their way. Eric is the intense part to this story. That man was so wound up and lost in Piper. He just really sucked at communication. He has believed for many years that his brother was in love with her so he stepped aside. When Eric finds out Piper has a dangerous stalker, he's done stepping aside for his brother. He just has to convince Piper they belong together while he keeps her safe from her stalker. Piper thinks Eric hates her. He's pushed her away for so long she doesn't even consider that he could have feelings for her. She is nothing but confused when he refuses to leave her side once he finds out about her stalker The majority of this book is Eric and Piper dancing around their mutual but secretive love for each other. It's the only reason I didn't love this book more. I wanted to see them reveal their true feelings sooner, but the stalker storyline kept things very interesting. The key things about this book is that you will get a jealous/protective alpha, a strong heroine that still has a sweet side, a love story that starts out as enemies to lovers, and a plot that will have you trying to figure out who the stalker is.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Tyt gcbokyyA xz g tu fvvvqqeeeeeeegeeeeeeeeeeewweeeeweswsdssssddddddddddxzd w % kn e TDU hthc ytyyyyyyyyyyjibmhivon.yyyyacdsdgrsfsfrgroppplkjrwehujiijghnyyutrt rznc.jjnjjjjjjjjjnn oveeredfbrd tyjjnnnnkjjhg