The Prince and the Pauper

The Prince and the Pauper

by Mark Twain

Paperback

$10.55 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Prince and the Pauper 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 104 reviews.
tlevnh More than 1 year ago
My 4th grade son was given the reading assignment of choosing a classic book for his report. While I am very supportive of what he reads and always read what he reads, either with him or on my own, I was quite surprised with some of the content in the book. While some of the situations and lessons are great for kids to learn, it was quite bothersome and hurtful to my son to read about how the main character, Tom Canty, is treated by his father. While I certainly do not want to ruin the story, he is starved and beaten for not begging and stealing enough to his father's satisfaction. In continuing with the story, the Prince witnesses women be burned alive at the stake while their daughters grasp for them and one of them actually has her clothing catch fire. Some parents may certainly be okay with their child reading content such as this, my son had a hard time accepting that he had to read and then write about this among other incidents that happened throughout the book. The language is very difficult to understand as well. While the book was rated for his age group, I feel it would be more acceptable for older children who are more emotionally able to understand and accept that treatment such as what was endured throughout the book was tolerated in the time it was portrayed to have "happened". The footnotes were extremely helpful and made the book a bit more easier to understand and more realistic in some ways. Hope this review helps other parents in deciding whether or not this might be the best book for their child.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Two boys, a prince and a pauper, decide to trade lives since neither is happy with his own. A great and classic book that all children should read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Prince and the Pauper was a pretty good book. In the beginning, I thought it was boring and slow. But, towards the middle of the book, the plot went faster and it was more exciting. I would recommend this book for people ages 10 and up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Throughout history there have been many classic novels that have truly captivated many a reader¿s attention. These novels include one I¿ve recently read: The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain. This novel portrays the traditional theme of wanting a life different than your own. In this novel the prince, Edward Tudor, and the pauper, Tom Canty, long for things that their lives cannot provide: the prince wishes to play as a boy and the pauper wishes to be wealthy and renowned like the prince. The two, who are of the same age and similar appearance, end up switching lives after Edward allows Tom to wear his royal garments. The prince then leaves the palace still dressed in Tom¿s rags. The prince is thrown out and mocked. The prince learns the hardships of a pauper¿s life and Tom is able to enjoy some of the benefits, as well as some of the pressures, of the life of a prince. The prince¿s father then dies, leaving the role of king up to the next royal in line: the prince himself. A part of the book that I find especially intriguing is the prince¿s encounter with the pauper¿s father, John Canty. The prince finds John in hopes that he will be able to restore the young Tudor to his rightful position as prince. However, John assumes that the prince is actually the pauper trying to plead insanity to escape from punishment for bringing home no money. John viciously abuses the prince, asking the help of Grandma Canty in his mistreatment of the fatigued lad. This, in my opinion, demonstrates the evils of human nature. John¿s instinct to lash out at his own son is truly wretched, and yet sadly his nature is, in reality, similar to that of cruel individuals. In this same scene a lone man attempts to protect the prince, taking a horrid blow himself. This man represents the good of human nature: man¿s willingness to sacrifice himself for another. In addition, when John and his captive reach home, the pauper¿s mother and sisters try to protect and comfort the frail prince, though they also mistake him for Tom Canty. This scene is very touching because it shows the vast spectrum of human nature from horribly evil to incredibly good. The Prince and the Pauper is a truly touching novel that gives a detailed picture of life in 16th century England. The rich and the poor, as well as the good and the evil are all described in this exciting novel. Life was difficult for many a being at the time. Injustices were often suffered. However, by witnessing firsthand the cruelty and unfair treatment of citizens in his kingdom, the prince¿s character was strengthened, thus allowing him to learn to overcome such evil and become a just and kind ruler. This book is a very worthwhile read with a timeless and valuable lesson that relates to all of us who have ever yearned for a different life.
maria_reads More than 1 year ago
Though some of the language is convoluted, context renders it pretty easy to understand, and some of the darker situations just make the conclusion that much more thrilling to read. I think the descriptions of the pauper boy's life, with regular beatings and hunger, yet devoted friends and time for play, are quite enlightening, as are the descriptions of Westminster and the riot on London Bridge.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This review is not just about the book itself, but specifically for the Audio version of the book, read by veteran actor Kenneth Jay who is also the narrator on an audio version of Mark Twain's 'A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court'. I like this reader's style very much. I think Mark Twain really comes to life when read aloud, and The Prince and the Pauper is an excellent example. Most people are familiar with the famous storyline of the two lookalike boys: one the heir to the throne of England, and the other a poor ragamuffin from the dirty streets of London, who meet by chance and decide to change clothes and impersonate one another as a joke for a few hours, but it all goes wrong and both boys get stuck in their assumed roles for much longer than intended. But Twain's dry wit, fascinating descriptions, and observation of life are often lost in the film versions, while this audio book, although abridged, remains true to Mark Twain's exact words and brings them to life in a way that doesn't happen when you read it silently to yourself. This reader is very skilled with voices and accents, so all the characters seem real and different, and the result is very entertaining storytelling from start to finish. Although I personally prefer this reader's audio book version of A Connecticut Yankee, I think the storyline of this book will appeal more to people, particularly younger people
hjjugovic on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I could have sword I had read this years ago, but it felt fresh to me when I read it on DailyLit this time. Twain is such a genius! I loved this little story with so much depth and humor. I was also surprised to see how much historical research went into it. This is recommended to everyone.
Sean191 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Prince and the Pauper reminded me very much of Adventures of Tom Sawyer or Huck Finn. There were last second rescue, unbelievable circumstance, local dialects (or an estimation of them at least) abusive fathers, faithful companions...the list goes on. Unfortunately, I don't think Twain did as good a job tapping into old England as he did to the Mississippi river area.
bookworm12 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tom Canty, a young pauper in England, dreams of living a better life. One day he finds himself inside the king¿s palace and in the presence of the prince. The two boys are the exact same age and discover that they look identical. They are amused and swap clothes to entertain themselves. Chaos, of course, ensues and the prince is thrown out of his own palace, while Tom Canty is unwillingly thrust into the role of prince in the confusion. I was expecting a short parable or fable about two boys, in very different situations, who end up swapping lives for a day. I¿ll admit most of this assumption was based on watching the Mickey Mouse version of the Prince and the Pauper when I was young. I also didn¿t realize that Twain used an actual prince, Henry VIII¿s only son, Edward VI, as the title prince in his story. The book is more of a lesson in merciful leadership than a fanciful tale. The heart of the story lies in the true prince learning the importance of governing with a balance of strength and wisdom, not just blind power.
AshRyan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Most people are familiar with the basic situation of this classic story, but there is much more to Twain's original version than to its many adaptations. Of course, the crucial fact of these two boys being born in such different circumstances at the same time and identical in appearance and meeting as they do is pretty fabulous, but then, it is intended as a fable. At root, this is a story about the arbitrariness of hereditary nobility in general and monarchy in particular, and in true Twain fashion there are many biting and hilarious scenes. However, Twain fails to be true to his own theme in his resolution, which basically amounts to "...and despite what you would expect from everything that's happened so far, they all lived happily ever after." It would have been much more powerful and memorable had they failed to prove their true identities and the pauper had remained king, and the king a pauper...but I suppose a lot of readers wouldn't have liked that ending (which would have been the point!). But in any case, Twain's story is well worth reading just as it is.
josejalapeno on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this book, Prince Edward and a beggar, Tom Canty, switch places accidentally. They have many different adventures based on what kind of people they were with. It's in England, during the reign of King Henry VIII. Most of the characters were fictionally made. Overall, it was an okay book; but unless you don't enjoy the medieval way the characters talk, then i suggest you don't read this book.
TadAD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The basic story line of The Prince and the Pauper is probably familiar to everyone as it has become a Hollywood staple in a long series of movies: screen adaptations of varying qualities of the book directly, as well as basic plot lifts like "A Change of Place" or "Model Behavior". Twain¿s book is more than just the piece of Hollywood froth into which it¿s generally made, however. The ironic and amused tone that is present in so many of his works is much reduced; Twain¿s reflections on his subject are darker and pointed. There is humor in the book...a fair amount of it...but there is also a very direct criticism of social systems where the ordinary person is at the mercy of authority, reflections on "the grass is always greener...", and the folly of judging someone by their appearances or circumstances.The novel is a bit slower-paced than his more famous works and a modern editor would probably cut a bit of Edward¿s continual ranting about his rights when taken for Tom. Nonetheless, as with every Twain novel I¿ve tried, this one is worth reading.
JovanH470Volny on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The prince and the Pauper is a well-known story, a classic written by Mark Twain, a superb 19th century writer. This book starts off in London during the rule of Henry VII. On the streets of London resides the Canty family. With a dead beat, drunken, and heavily abusive dad, and no money to fuel his drinking habits, he resorts to violence and beats his only son, and our main character, Tom Canty. When tom was born he was born with the same features and everything, as the prince, Edward, they were even born on the same day and hour. These two young individuals meet each other in a course of different events and decide that they want to have a perspective of the others life, and that it would be easy because of their visual similarities. They later find that this was not as good of an idea as they though it would be. As they face the hardships of each other¿s lives. And what is more of a problem; they can¿t get a hold of each other to switch back. In a turn of fate they do however, and all things are reversed back and even improved as Edward becomes King, and tom becomes his right hand man.The Prince and the Pauper is a wonderful classic novel, and many have enjoyed it. It¿s meant for anyone and has a good meaning intended to the readers. Mark twain is a wonderful author, and writes books such as this that will keep your face glued to the pages. I¿d even suggest reading it more than once just because it is that much of an enjoyable read.
momma2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Although the kids had a hard time following the story (just like with Shakespeare, must be the Old English) this was a really good book. We just paused periodically to make sure that everyone was up to speed. This was not at all what I expected from Mark Twain although it did bear his hallmark humor. It was like a Tom and Huck scheme gone wrong with thees and thous. It was a much more in depth story than what you might suppose if all you had been exposed to is the animated versions. I was pleased and entertained.
gbill on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
"The Prince and the Pauper" is a simple read and has a fairly predictable ending; I don't think it will knock anyone's socks off, but it is well written and a bit of a classic. Twain's original concept of switching roles and fortunes is also one that has been often copied (e.g. the movie "Trading Places" with Eddie Murphy and Dan Ackroyd :-).There is an interesting undercurrent in the book, for while Twain mocks royalty overtly in scenes such as one with the attendants passing the king's clothes one by one down to him through a long line like a fire brigade, he also does this more subtly. In putting royalty in the context of the 16th century and its way of life - which included many examples of needless violence and cruel torture, ignorant superstition, and fundamental unfairness - Twain shows it as outmoded as all of those things. It is arbitrary and corruptible, he is pointing out, and hereditary power for the few while many suffer is wrong. It is a novel set in London and Dickensian in style, but it has an American message at its core.Quotes:"...when the office of Taster had its perils, and was not a grandeur to be desired. Why they did not use a dog or a plumber seems strange; but all the ways of royalty are strange.""None believe in me - neither wilt thou. But no matter - within the compass of a month thou shalt be free; and more, the laws that have dishonoured thee, and shamed the English name, shall be swept from the statute books. The world is made wrong; kings should go to school to their own laws, at times, and so learn mercy.""...they stepped upon London Bridge, in the midst of a writhing, struggling jam of howling and hurrahing people, whose beer-jolly faces stood out strongly in the glare from manifold torches - and at that instant the decaying head of some former duke or other grandee tumbled down between them, striking Hendon on the elbow and then bounding off among the hurrying confusion of feet. So evanescent and unstable are men's works, in this world! - the late good king is but three weeks dead and three days in his grave, and already the adornments which he took such pains to select from prominent people for his noble bridge are falling.""Once when his royal "sister", the grimly holy lady Mary, set herself to reason with him against the wisdom of his course in pardoning so many people who would otherwise be jailed or hanged or burned, and reminded him that their august late father's prisons had sometimes contained as high as sixty thousand convicts at one time, and that during his admirable reign he had delivered seventy-two thousand thieves and robbers over to death by the executioner*, the boy was filled with generous indignation, and commanded her to go to her closet and beseech God to take away the stone that was in her breast and give her a human heart."* Hume's England
ntempest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Possibly my favorite Twain novel. So many people know the basics of this story that I think few of them ever read the original anymore. The politics and social commentary in this book are some of the best Twain produced. His subtle condemnation of the way society separated the haves and have nots during his day (and still does, if truth be told) is spot on and utterly compelling, all without compromising story or character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story is all right but the spelling of the words is shameful. It also keeps getting interrupted by random words
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anyone there?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The she cat pads in her gray fur slightly stained
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got my nook take away then something had happend to it now it fist, WHAT HAPPED TO YOUR LEG?????? HOW DID IT BROKE???? WHAT TPYE OF BROKE IS IT???????? sorry about the spilling just in a heary and happy. think it the wose post i ever did. I miss every one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Warrior green eyes brown fur white tip on tail darker ears and husky markings plz talk to me I need help
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*she enters the clan says* yo can i join?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pads in. Claws unseathed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I said I would be med cat or warrior you could have chosen either one I just need a hme really bad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was going to help but this is getting interesting. Dont judge...ill help if needed. But honestly, i think someone wants kits. There was once this forcemater named X. He fell in love with one of my cats but he tortured shecats. The thing was, he chose randomly.....and then the shecats he hurt, he would kill.