The Poet

The Poet

by Michael Connelly

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Poet 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 240 reviews.
Booklover87 More than 1 year ago
Michael Connelly has become one of my favorite writers. His crime novels are all edge of your seat thrilling. The Poet was no exception. I loved his new character Jack McEvoy and I enjoyed the insightful look inside journalists. Connelly really does keep you guessing. As soon as you think you have it figured out, he unveils another fact that has you questioning what really is going on. I highly recommend this for all Connelly fans and for those who have not read a book of his yet. This is a great one to start with.
McCarthy92 More than 1 year ago
I am reading all of Michael Connelly's books in order, which is the best way to read his novels, and The Poet is his fifth book and first to not have his famous character, Harry Bosch. The Poet is narrated by crime reporter Jack McEvoy, a character just as great as Bosch. I never reveal plot in my reviews but I will say this, each time I read a Connelly novel, I realize why he is my favorite mystery writer. His plots keep me up all night wanting to read more. The Poet is a major highlight in Connelly's career.
SlapShot62 More than 1 year ago
I've been reading Connelly's books in order, obviously the Bosch series primarily. Love his writing and love that series, and almost skipped over The Poet. I'm so glad I bought and read it. Might actually be my favorite Connelly book to date and I've read 8 or 9 of his works thus far. Such a great story, loaded with twists and turns and his characters are very real. In fact, a couple of the characters that we find unlikeable, they come across as intriguing and have the reader wanting to learn more and more about what makes them tick. The plot is superior, and the developments are often quick and shocking.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lfell in love with Michael Connelly's books after reading The Lincoln Lawyer. I really like the Mickey Haller series but have read all of them and most of the Harry Bosch series. This book was neither and definitely not a disappoinment. So I thought I'd give this book a try and once again, another great book.
ghostrider09 More than 1 year ago
The Poet had me jumping out of my seat...reporter turned investigater Jack McEvoy was shattered when his twin brother committed suicide. His probing into the death sent him to the F.B.I. with proof that his brother was the victim of a serial killer. It's a twisted path to the truth. I am going to be reading more of Connelly's McEvoy series.
miss_dobie More than 1 year ago
Okay, so we all love Harry Bosch. So do I. So what else is new? No Harry Bosch here though. Sorry. But if you haven't read THE POET, you don't know what you're missing. Not all great mysteries require Harry Bosch. They just require Michael Connelly. THE POET is superb. You'll have a very hard time putting it down once you start it. And the ending is a big surprise. Check it out - you'll be glad you did.
heyjude444 More than 1 year ago
I am having a hard time getting into this one. I usually love Michael Connelly, but this is not my favorite of his. About halfway through, so hopefully it will pick up...
Anonymous 16 days ago
Great read. Very gripping.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ice read every Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller that Michael Connelly has written. Some several times over the years. Start with his first, and you'll be hooked as I was!
VirgoGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was actually my first Michael Connelly book and it had me at hello! While the subject matter is dark, the plot and suspense keep you engaged the whole time. Loved it.
Georg.Miggel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked this book. It has a strong beginning and a lot of credible characters. What I liked most was the fact that it seemed to end on page 450. I thought: Ok, not a bad solution, but a bit obvious. But then I noticed there were still 100 pages to go. Finally I realized the end was not the end, but only a fake end, and then the "real story" was about to begin. Very strong and surprising until the very last page
souleswanderer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
From the very first sentence Michael Connelly hooks the reader into Jack McEvoy's dark world. A newspaper reporter for the Rocky Mountain News, McEvoy has chased after death and written numerous articles dealing with not only the victim's story but the survivor's as well. How do you feel, one of his first line of inquiries when chasing a story, has now settled around him like a thick, wool blanket rubbing against bare skin when news of his twin brother's death reaches him.Marred by an earlier childhood tragedy and his subsequent perceptions of failing to live up to his parent's expectations, Jack isn't ready to accept the idea that his brother Sean, a Denver Police Officer, committed suicide. Balancing the fact that Sean was working a brutal and unsolved murder case, that bothered him enough to seek psychiatric counsel, and his own knowledge of his twin's past, Jack isn't able to console himself with the obvious facts pointing to suicide. Seemingly chasing a dead end case and managing to alienate those that were close to his brother, Joe continues digging into the incident and discovers that not everything is as it first looks. As a reporter, Jack uses the resources of the newspapers vast database to discover another death similar to that of his brother and travels to Baltimore searching for an elusive sliver of hope that he might find answers to his questions. What Jack uncovers is a slowly evolving pattern of a serial killer, and he finds himself in a struggle with the FBI to retain his exclusive story while trying to discover the murderer of lead detectives all staged as apparent suicides.Connelly does a superb job of slowly building the intensity and then keeping it taut, while leading the reader through a high profile, quickly changing man-hunt as each new series of clues is discovered. Following the series of events through Jack's eyes keeps the reader grounded and feeling like an outsider looking in when the FBI gives him the slip. We are also charged with the moral dilemna of a man struggling to keep the gray between black and white becoming too shaded. I thoroughly enjoyed The Poet, and consider this one of the better Connelly novel's that I've read. He does an excellent job of creating characters, giving them flaws that I can relate to and circumstances that are always believable. Slowly making my way through the Bosch series, which I will claim as one of my favorite series and characters, I discovered that I needed more background for the next novel in the list. Hence, me picking up an earlier work and one that is out of sequence, although I have already come across a few references to the Poet, and McEvoy as a reporter, in the earlier novels.
jwhenderson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I had previously read and enjoyed novels in the "Harry Bosch" detective series by Michael Connelly but I was not prepared for the intensity of suspense that he delivers in this thriller. The protagonist is Jack McEvoy, a newspaper reporter, who is introduced with these opening lines: "Death is my beat. I make my living from it. I forge my professional reputation on it. . ."With these words the story moves into what seems like hyper drive as the reader is presented with the reporter's single-minded pursuit of the serial killer who murdered his twin. Even his buddies in the Denver PD thought Sean McEvoy's shooting in the backseat of his car looked like a classic cop suicide, right down to the motive: his despondency over his failure to clear the murder of a University of Denver student. But as Sean's twin brother, Jack, of the Rocky Mountain News, notices tiny clues that marked Sean's death as murder, his suspicions about the dying message Sean scrawled inside his fogged windshield--``Out of space. Out of time''--alert him to a series of eerily similar killings stretching from Sarasota to Albuquerque.THe twist and turns are handled so smoothly that even when you guess one of the plot twists there are two more lying in wait that you did not see coming. Connelly writes with a lucid style that provides just enough detail to demonstrate his knowledge of the territory without slowing the plot action. For example, there are scenes set in the Lincoln Park neighborhood of Chicago that is my back yard and the details are all accurate. Scenes like that made me believe he did the same for Baltimore and Phoenix when those cities become the scene of the action. In Jack McEvoy, the reporter, he has created not only a smart detective but also a very human being -- one that is easy to identify with. The result this with the controlled suspense makes this one thriller that I did had no difficulty finishing. An added treat are the literary connections that at least partially define the killer and help McEvoy in his pursuit. This is an exceptionally well written novel about a unique set of murders that are solved by an reporter born with a detective gene.
Narboink on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not being familiar with the quality of conventional thrillers, I¿m in no position to judge the merits of this book in relation to its competition. It¿s certainly not highbrow literature, but it admirably delivers the sort of humorless charm that one might reasonably expect from a bestseller. Plot is clearly the driving force of the novel, and Connelly keeps it that way by avoiding indulgences such as tangential mood-setting or extraneous emotional décor. This bracing minimalism helps maintain dramatic tension, but it does so at the expense of a richer reading experience. I many ways, ¿The Poet¿ is similar to the hour-long police procedurals we¿re so used to seeing on television: a guilty-pleasure... a vaguely formulaic diversion that is satisfying without being particularly fulfilling. I might very well pick up another Connelly bestseller the next time I want to numb my mind at the beach while soaking up some sun.On a side note, it¿s interesting to read ¿The Poet¿ from a historical perspective. It takes place at the dawn of the Internet age, when digital cameras were expensive novelties, cellular phones were confined to automobiles, and the Internet was taking baby-steps through cumbersome and noisy dial-up modems.
ctpress on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I do not read many books in this genre, but must admit it took me by surprise. Jack McEvoy, a journalist based in Denver, tries to find out more about his twin brothers suicide, the brother is a cop - and it leads him to a FBI investigation and a serial killer - the villain is creepy and intelligent and a memorable character. The conflict between McEvoy and the FBI-investigation (of course a female agent and love interest) is very funny.
Cecilturtle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Connelly is definitely a master of the psychological thriller and this novel is a prime example. Although the motivations of the characters can seem simplistic, the way they act out is not and this creates a complicated and gripping mosaic of twists and turns. There is well finagled surprise ending and most refreshing: Connelly does not try to explain everything. A great read for those long waits at the airport!
TimKiester on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent book! Well written, engaging and creepy.
raizel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
good of its kind, which is to say I don't know why his books, about awful stuff as murder mysteries are, are so comfortable to read, but they are.
debavp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you have the edition that has the foreward by Stephen King--just skip that part. I almost didn't read this book because King touted it as being so frightening that he had to turn on more lights in his house while he was reading it. So I'm thinking this is as intense, if not more so, than King's The Shining. I seriously kept picking up, but not starting it because I didn't want the crap scared out of me. So when I started reading, after about a third of the book I was just plain pissed because this was not scary at all. The subject matter could be construed as 'scary' in reference to who is actually doing the evil deeds, but not scary enough to keep you awake at night or looking over your shoulder :) This is the one Connelly book that I really just didn't care for. A bit Patterson in presentation and a subject and plot that really didn't have much imagination to it. If you want to see what happens next to Jack McEvoy, he makes a brief appearance in A Darkness More Than Night.
clif_hiker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After reading the 6th or 7th Harry Bosch story (A Darkness More than Night); I wandered over to this series with Jack MacEvoy. Bosch et.al. kept referring to the 'Poet' case, and MacEvoy shows up in connection with the new case... anyway, one of things I like about Connelly's books is that he so often writes from different viewpoints and still manages to tell a compelling story.The Poet is one of his earlier stories, and I really liked it through the first half of the book. Later on I could see it veering off into a 'bad cop' type of story with the only question as to which cop it was... It's still a very good read, and lays the groundwork for many of his later books.
richardderus on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Connelly's Harry Bosch series will either make you want to read this book, or run from it. I liked the Harry Bosch mysteries well enough, but I really respond more to Jack McEvoy, Denver journalist and crusader for the rights of victims of crime.This is the first appearance by McEvoy. He's hot on the trail of a cop-killer, one whose talent for murder makes him able to turn a crime scene into a suicide scene. Jack's brother, a homicide cop, is dead...and naturally Jack wants to know how the current spate of killings relate to the Poet, as this serial killer is known.What happens next is everything! Connelly uses the now-mundane Internet and email (how quaint!) to give the story immediacy and scary new dimensions, and those tropes don't stand up well as stand-alones. Connelly, however, didn't graft them onto the story he told, he made them part and parcel of the case from the get-go. It's very well-built stuff, as one would expect from this capable author.What's not so exciting is the plot resolution, but hey...at least it's not *bad*, just *expected*. I for one felt no sense of "...wha...where...HUH?" that marks out the very best of thrillers. But it's streets away from being blah! Just not...all the way, if you know what I mean. Read and enjoy. Just don't expect to need to do sock patrol after you're done, they won't be blown right off.
jmcclain19 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The ending was disappointing, the method in which the serial killer overpowers his victims, (career homicide detectives) is incredibly weak. In the idea of not giving away spoilers, I'll let you find out for yourself, but it was just beyond the realm of possibility in my mind. There are twists & turns right up to that point however. The weak ending doesn't go along with a riveting storyline that takes you all over the US ending up in Connelly's familiar storyline back yard - Southern California. The main protagonist, Jack McEvoy, is a "warts and all" character, with enough flaws to make you wonder at times why you should care about him as the story's main focal point. Three & 1/2 stars - entertaining read but the Poet's method, when finally revealed, is a boat anchor on full story enjoyment.
edwardsgt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Harry Bosch novel which is frequently referenced in his later books. Usual high standards as Harry Bosch tracks the murderer with the moniker of The Poet.
Darrol on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Too elaborate; 2 too many twists.The thing that interested me through the book is the transitional nature of the technology in it. At the beginning of the digital/internet explosion.
ficara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the same vein as, and almost as good as, The Silence Of the Lambs.